We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish We had More Time In This Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie Station Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sophie Station Suites to your Saves list
Sophie Station Suites
1717 University Avenue South, Fairbanks, AK 99709   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Bellmore, Long Island
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wish We had More Time In This Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed in this hotel as part of a Holland America Cruise/Tour package.

Since Holland America took care of all the registration, payment and baggage, I can't comment on that. However, this was the best hotel we stayed at while in Alaska. The room was a suite with a full kitchen, living room, balcony and separate bedroom. Everything was spotless. The bathroom was spacious, with a dressing area separate from the shower and toiket. Lots of counter space. The room was so large it was hard to check that we took all our belongings.

The front desk staff was very helpful. We requested that they wake us up if the Northern Lights were visible. They put our name on a list and assured us they would.

We did not eat at the hotel, but did look at the menu. Prices were reasonable for Alaska where food is very costly.

We got into Fairbanks at 5pm and had an excursion that night, so unfortunately we couldn't spend more time in this wonderful place.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    71
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
35
74
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed here at the end of our land/cruise tour.

The gardens around the hotel are amazing. If you don't know it, the flowers in Alaska are breathtakingly beautiful and their gardens are fantastic....get your camera.

Rooms are clean, large and have a seperate kitchen and living area. This was nice as we could walk to Fred Meyers or Grocery store and pick up a roasted chicken, salad and a bottle of wine and just sit back and relax. They have a couple of washers and dryers on site. $2 a wash and $2 a dry, you need to get the coins from front desk.

One of our group forgot their camera charger at another hotel and asked the front desk for their box of forgotten chargers.....and luckily they had one there that worked for her. That is a great tip by the way, every hotel now has a large box of chargers for phones, ipods, shavers, computers, cameras etc. that have been left behind. Most hotels save for 3 months and if not claimed then they go in a big box - yours to choose from if yours is forgotten or lost. I know over the years I have contributed to that collection somewhere in the world so it works when you can find a charger for someone else or yourself. It's like lost socks....but better!

I would not hesitate to stay at this Inn again. They also have a great little fact book free in every room with anecdoes and facts and lies about life in Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmer, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My family and I live in the Mat Su Valley (Alaska), and my husband was called here for business for six nights, so my two teenage sons and I decided to tag along and visit Fairbanks.
The hotel is on a quiet end of Fairbanks near both the University and the Airport. It sits back from the road and is surrounded by beautiful flowers all around the building-huge, as it typical up here in the interior. The parking lot has more plug ins (for engines in winter) than parking spaces, a plus for up here in below zero weather.
The suites are very large, have a full size fridge, oven, and stove, as well as double sink. No dishwasher, but dish soap and towel/cloth was provided. Lots of cabinets, as well as dishes, a few pots, silverware, and a can opener. There's a breakfast bar with stools. The living room has a couch and chair, as well as a new flatscreen tv (large). If you want a sleeper sofa you have to ask. We didn't and had to use a roll away bed. It was no problem, though, because they gave it to us cheerfully and promptly. No charge.
The bedroom also was large, and had an older but decent tv. There's a large closet that leads into a bathroom. The toilet and shower are separate and pretty small, but the vanity area is huge.
There is a wall unit air conditioner in the bedroom only. A stand up fan is available in the main room. There's a balcony off the main room. The temperature was fine.
It was very quiet throughout our stay. No noisy neighbors...and I am extremely fussy about this.
The maid service was excellent and prompt. The room was always clean, plenty of towels. We had occasion to call the front desk three times for stuff we needed, and it was delivered promptly each time, and very courteously.
Overall, we were very satisfied. We travel a lot, both nationally and internationally, and this hotel makes the grade.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the back on the second floor have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We arrived for our pre-cruise vacation a couple of days early to get some extra excursions in and spend some additional time in Alaska. We were greeted at the airport by a very friendly shuttle van driver and then again at the hotel we were very impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The rooms are nothing to write home about but they are clean and comfortable and they include a kitchen (a HUGE plus when you didn't budget for $15 lunches and $20-$25 dinners every night). The complimentary shuttle was an unexpected plus. It takes you all over Fairbanks and has some really fun stops. I will say the extra 2 nights at the hotel cost us too much. We were extremely disappointed when our bill arrived. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone staying on an night-by-night basis but as part of our pre-cruise vacation, it was a wonderful starting point.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Our group stayed here as part of a land-cruise tour. They have clean, suite style rooms (with kitchen), but one of the stars about this site was the friendly, helpful, and courteous staff. We would stay there again if we were ever in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Rooms are large and spacious with good-sized living room and bedroom and well equipped kitchen. Sofa bed in living room was quite comfortable. Kitchen had microwave, stove, oven, toaster, coffee maker, and enough utensils and dishes for four. Location was great, only two blocks from a Safeway and Fred Meyers. Rooms could use a little refurbishing but all in all, a very comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, ak
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Very clean - good amenities...you feel welcomed here!! Wonderful staff... very pleasant and friendly...always willing to help ... whether at 2:00 am or 7 am!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sophie Station Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophie Station Suites

Address: 1717 University Avenue South, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
#3 Business Hotel in Fairbanks
#4 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#5 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophie Station Suites will impress you with its spacious suites and exceptionally clean accommodations. Wonderful dining options offered for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. Zach's Restaurant offers signature entrees and fresh crisp salads. The Express Room Lounge is a great place to watch sports on the 80" HDTV. Complimentary airport & rail station shuttle service provided. Minutes from the University district. Great value for a large suite with separate bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sophie Station Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophie Station Fairbanks
Hotel Sophie Station
Sophie Station Suites Fairbanks, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophie Station Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.