We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff, nice rooom, plug ins for your car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge to your Saves list
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4477 Pikes Landing Road, Fairbanks, AK 99709   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“friendly staff, nice rooom, plug ins for your car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2007

We attended the Master Gardener Conf at the hotel. Great rate of $ 69 (conf rate), internet rate is $ 89 on Princess site. The interior of the public areas was very nice, fire places burning, internet is free in lobby and public areas. Gym has much equipment and a steam room. Our room faced the Chena River, about 200 feet away, and nice view of the surrounding area. A nice reading chair, coffee maker, and comfortable bed were in our room. The restaurant was ok for breakfast ( oatmeal wasn't good ), but all dishes were reasonable for Fairbanks. The banquet our group had was very good and service attentive. The large ballroom was nice too. Outside were plug ins for your car, needed in the -25 at night temperatures. Staff were nice. Heating in our room was a bit hot, so they told us to open a window. That did it!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    111
    84
    39
    8
See reviews for
65
136
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carpinteria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

I really thought this was an excellent hotel. I really enjoyed my stay, especially compared to the Westmark (also in Fairbanks).

My River Lodge room was nicely decorated and the bathroom had beautiful tile.

The employees at the front desk were friendly and helpful. I stayed during the Fairbanks Ice Sculpture Contest and it was hard to get a taxi. The girl at the front desk spent several minutes contacting different companies to get me transportation.

There's a free convenient shuttle to and from the airport.

The river was iced over when I visited but you can walk outside and see it. It's a beautiful view. Seems like there is a walking path next to the river.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

I really didn't like this hotel. I stayed there while on tour with Princess Cruises. Maybe because we were a tour with a lot of people, they put us in a horrible, old, dark room. Quite unpleasant for my taste.

  • Stayed August 2002
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2005

We stayed here for the first 2 days/nights of a Princess land tour. The room was OK not extrordinary. WiFi was not available in the room, only in the lobby. The restaurants were mediocre and crowded. If I stayed again, I would use 2 for 1 coupons in the Alaska coupon book. Otherwise, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2005

My family of 5 stayed here for the last night of our Alaskan cruise vacation; my wife and I in one room and my three teens in another before flying home the next day. Date was Monday 6/20/05

Positives:
- Bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept on
- Carpet, linens, etc were all clean and new

Negatives:
- Air conditioning shut down early evening; fortunately it was not too hot but still unacceptable as we sweated through the night
- The food in the restaurant was overpriced and service (while they tried hard) was lacking. The quality was below average

Since we were taking a land package that accompanied our cruise we had no say on the hotel we stayed in. If the air conditioning had been working I would be able to recommend this hotel...

One note in closing, the Princess staff (outfitter desk, bus drivers, etc.) were all outstanding - friendly, courteous, caring, personable. They added to the overall experience

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2005

This Princess Lodge does a good job at the usual cruise line services, but in one instance at least one member of the staff far exceeded expectations. They have coaches ferrying Princess customers to the airport, but I needed to go at a different time to pick up a rental car. No problem: a nice fellow got a clean van and off we went. "The mountains are out!" he said (it was my first glimpse of Mt. McKinley, which I would not have noticed otherwise). I asked him for directions to another hotel, and he said, "I'll take you there to show you the way." He deserves a bonus and a raise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2004

I expected the quality of other Princess hotels, but this one lacks it. Cheap decoration, depressing hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Road, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.