We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good - quiet location in Fairbanks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge to your Saves list
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
4477 Pikes Landing Road, Fairbanks, AK 99709   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and good - quiet location in Fairbanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed a few nights at this hotel and were very pleased. The room was large and had nice immenities. As we experienced with all Princess hotels in Alaska most of the staff were friendly and helpful.We began the land portion of a cruise tour here and came out a few days early to explore on our own. Fairbanks is an interesting - very walkable town. The hotel has a shuttle to town every half hour or so which is really helpful as taxis are not prevalent. The staff at the tour desk are very knowledgable and offer great advice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    109
    83
    39
    8
See reviews for
63
136
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was our first stop on the tour. Found it very clean and the staff were friendly. Stayed in July of this year. There was no air conditioning but we didn't need it. We ate at 2 different venues and had no problem with the food. We booked everything through Princess so had no problem with transportation or luggage. Entire trip was very well organized.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the river and at night we heard the motor boats going up and down the river. Did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Recently ate at restaurant. service was HORRENDOUS, Staff seemed disorganized and not exceptionally friendly!! The rooms nice but not worth the price!! Conference rooms status quo. Food very good but again overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Found the hotel staff friendly and helpful. We were on a Princess excursion so did not spend a lot of time at the hotel. Buses seemed fairly organized as many people were on a variety of excursion. One day it rained and they had everyone load on the buses under the covered portico rather than out in the regular bus zone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at the Riverside Lodge three nights in July. Nice place, clean lobby, clean room. The restaurant has riverside outside seating which was nice as the sun doesn't really set here in the summer however the mosquitos don't rest either! Bring bug spray:) We were on a land tour for two of these days with Princess. We had a gathering in the room above the lobby. Our steaks were RAW and no one seemed concerned to correct the issue:( Transportation was convenient if you booked through Princess. You could take a nice walk around the property on the path. If this is your first stop on the land tour, buy a jacket in the gift shop if they are cheap...worth it. They have these jackets at every lodge I believe however you will need it. It can be quite chilly one minute and warm the next. NO AC in this hotel but it wasn't needed. We kept the window open the whole time we were there and it was comfortable. My children said there was wifi however it was only really available in the lobby area. This was the least impressive of the Princess Lodges we stayed at on our 7 day land tour.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. It was neat watching the boats go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was our first stop (for 2 nights) on our 7 day Alaska land tour. This lodge is an acquisition and conversion of a competitive lodge. The exterior and the interior don't have a lot of "character", and are somewhat austere in appearance. It is located right on the banks of the Chena river, so the outside view is great. Staff was pleasant and polite (excepting in the Riverview Deck). Buffet breakfasts were very good. Our room was on the lower level, which was below ground level, but had windows at ground level overlooking the river. The room was a bit small (reminded us of a Super 8), and somewhat dark. Cleaniness of the bathroom was questionable, with body hair on the floor next to the tub, and poorly cleaned counter surfaces on the vanity. The side trips arranged out of this location were excellent; a river cruise down the Chena river, and gold panning at "Dredge 8". Both were were extremely well done, and lots of fun for everyone. We made the unfortunate mistake of dining one evening on the Riverview Deck. We had a disinterested male server (who never came back to check on the meal until we were finished and had pushed back our plates). The entree was the worst of our 7 day trip; unimaginative, poorly prepared, and nearly cold when we got it. The bottle of white wine that we ordered was nearly room temperature when delivered. It actually cooled down a bit when placed in the chiller on the table. Our waiter seemed more focused on what was going on with the bar personnel than he was with his customers. The bartender seemed to think that he was primarily there to clown around and amuse himself and the help. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "river side" offer a much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our first stop on the land portion of our Princess Land/Sea trip. The room was small, but clean with a comfortable bed. Staff members were polite and efficient. My only concern was the daylight that lit our room all night. Since many parts of Alaska experience 22 hours of sunlight during the summer months, I mistakenly expected room darkening window treatments that actually fit the window.

The lodge is five minutes from the airport and we arrived late at night so our dinning options were limited to pub food, which was expensive for what we received. We had an early start the next day so we grabbed a quick sandwich and coffee in the gift shop and we were whisked away to an enjoyable riverboat tour and then on to the second lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Road, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.