We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairbanks Princess Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge to your Saves list
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4477 Pikes Landing Road, Fairbanks, AK 99709   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Ripon, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fairbanks Princess Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, nice public areas. Would stay there again. Like the free shuttle to the airport. Recommend try to stay when the cruise ship crowd is not there. The lobby was one of the nicest of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    111
    84
    39
    8
See reviews for
65
136
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Fairbanks Princess was 2nd hotel on my train trip. My stay here was to take the Arctic Circle Air adventure trip.

This hotel is very clean, rooms nice, but limited in dining options during mid September. Staff is the nicest and so very helpful. The outdoor terrace is closed for the season. Edgewater and Trackers Restaurant had the same menus as the Denali Princess restaurants.

The hotel has nice walking trails and other restaurants along the river for dining. Fred Meyer grocery store is a long distance walking, but worth it if you need supplies or alcohol. The hotel has a airline check in next to the tour desk and you can check your luggage & obtain boarding passes in the evening before or in the morning depending on the time of your departure on most carriers. Complimentary transfers to and from the train and airport.

If you are arriving on the train or motorcoach from another Princess Lodge, your luggage is transferred from your previous hotel and is conveniently placed in your room at the Fairbanks lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived at Fairbanks airport in good time but had to wait for transport with people dragging the chain on collecting baggage and moving to the bus to the Lodge. The bus finally deposited us at the Lodge but we were too late to be served with a meal and there is no room service. Despite almost begging the staff for a meal we were referred to the diners in town. Not very helpful when you are a tourist and don't know your way around and the Lodge is a fair way out of town. This experience soured the remainder of our time at the Lodge. Word of advice, make sure you arrive before they close the kitchen and remind the bus driver from the airport that we need a meal. After a 30 hour flight I think the Lodge could have done better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Why is that when negative reviews are submitted about this hotel and its restaurants, that they are never published?
We were there in July this year and found this hotel lacking of the tradition of a regular Princess Hotel and its restaurants.
Two submissions have been made since then, and they have never appeared in the review section.
It leads to wonder whether these reviews are selectivlely chosen prior to publication.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the lodge, to begin our Alaska Cruisetour. The lodge (really just a hotel) was very quiet, clean and comfortable. Just what we expected and wanted. We did not experience any of the problems reported on here in the past. The restaurant and lounge was typical of a hotel and was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

After staying at the other two Princess cabin hotels on the land tour part of our cruise, we found this a let down. Just a plain hotel, ordinary, glad it was the last day of the cruise and not the first. Not impressed with the food, seemed short of staff maybe the time of the year. But it was ok for the last day of our holiday, before we flew to Seattle. We had time to put winter clothes way in one suitcase, as we were going on to California. Transfer to the airport was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was the start of our CruiseTour with Princess. Since we did not have a car, it was convenient.
For the most part, the staff was pleasant and helpful.
This hotel needs lots of repairs, some small but annoying. Even though it was September, the hotel should keep up with routine maintenance. For $199 per night, I expect better.
Does not include breakfast which is limited to a choice of 2 buffets; continental or hot items. Overpriced for the selection and atmosphere. Restaurant, more like a bar, has a very limited menu, is expensive and the food is average.
Without a car, we were somewhat captive. One day we paid $5 each to take the shuttle so we could eat at a restaurant in town. Another evening we walked to a nearby restaurant. And one day we took the shuttle to the airport and ate there.
The tour desk left a lot to be desired. One of our excursions was cancelled. They left us all sitting in the lobby. We found out a half-hour later because one of us waited at the tour desk to find out what happened. Since it was the middle of the day, that day was pretty much shot.
The setting on the river is beautiful. The park area is also nice. We didn't get to spend much time out there because there was some drizzle and rain during our stay; it didn't dry out enough to enjoy going further into the wooded areas around the lodge.
The rooms were small so people hung out in the lobby. The lobby was also where people gathered to leave for tours. It was almost impossible to find a seat.
The day we left was terrible. Our luggage had been picked up and we all needed to check out but had to wait 2 hours for our transportation. That should have been better coordinated. People were everywhere waiting.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge

Address: 4477 Pikes Landing Road, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairbanks Princess Riverside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.