We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fuji Japanese Restaurant

Fuji Japanese Restaurant
3535 College Rd, Fairbanks, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 200 Restaurants in Fairbanks
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We live in Anchorage but make a special attempt to get to Fuji each time we visit Fairbanks. We eat sushi pretty frequently but the rolls here are different from what we normally see and absolutely delicious. We have loved every roll we have tried. The fire roll is especially good, takes a while to make but arrives flaming in foil and the flavors are amazing! The staff suggested the KL roll which has lemon and is fantastic. We also loved the Hot Mama and the Godzilla roll. You can't go wrong here, everything has been great and it is by far our favorite sushi spot. The service is friendly and although the food may take a little longer to prepare, you will get a work of art that is worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fuji is a great spot for lunch or dinner. Their menu is varied and the beer is good! The Yummy Yummy roll is very yummy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“healthy choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The atmosphere was great- the server was friendly and very chatty (he is a fellow Southeast Asian hence it explains his chattiness as my husband and him spoke using Cantonese)- the prices are affordable- and the food is very healthy with no excess oil that usually floats on top of ramen in some places I've been to in other states or countries. The soup in the ramen was surprisingly light on the palate but tasty, especially with the dose of sesame oil in it! The meat were cooked just right. The menu is decent- not spoilt for choices or deprived of choices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

An extensive menu and some really good eats. Whether it's just for sushi or something more substantial, this hidden wonder is worth the visit.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mims florida
Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
459 helpful votes 459 helpful votes
“Delicious and quick and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our first night in Fairbanks we headed for the number 1 restaurant Lemon Grass but they wisely shut on Sundays! We looked at a Vietnamese and Other Japanese place but saw a good number of customers at the Fuji so gave it a try. The server Lisa , Chinese!, was very quick and friendly. The Shrimp Tempura Dinner was delicious. The hot sake obviously made a good impression! We shall return during our stay this Fall.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuji Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fuji Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fuji Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.