We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Attraction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverboat Discovery Tours

Riverboat Discovery Tours
1975 Discovery Dr., Fairbanks, AK 99709
+1 866-479-6673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 49 Activities in Fairbanks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: More than just a boat ride. Board the Sternwheeler Riverboat Discovery for one of the most unique Alaskan experiences available! This three-hour cruise will take you into the heart of Alaska and introduce you to a family who has made the rivers of Alaska a way of life for five generations. You will see a bush floatplane takeoff alongside the boat, visit the home and kennels of the late four-time Iditarod winner Susan Butcher and see her champion sled dogs in action. Be immersed into the ancient Athabascan Indian culture when our Alaskan Native Guides take you on a personalized tour of the Chena Indian Village.
Beautiful Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was a wonderful excursion on the Chena & Tanana Rivers. The narrator was great telling facts and history along the way, with multiple, varied demonstrations along the river, i.e., sled dog, native salmon catching and smoking. One stop at the native American interpretive village, where we could view caribou, clothing, garden techniques, etc.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    148
    31
    13
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washougal, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Quite the educational tour! Our tour started with lunch at the dock. Next we boarded the boat and headed down river. A float plane demonstration ensued (When boarding I would advise sitting on the LEFT side (Port) of the boat), then a sled dog demonstration, and lastly a Native American village from the 1800's where one can get off the boat and explore. Here one can see Reindeer and visit a period fish-processing station. Quite innovative as one can listen to the discourse between the cruise host and the people on the shore doing the demonstrations. Free all-you-can-eat blueberry doughnuts were provided as were samples of smoked salmon. Crew is quite friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful and educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Riverboat Discovery tour is a must-do if you are in Fairbanks. I can honestly say it was one of the top travel experiences of my life. Other reviewers have described what it includes so I won't cover that again. Just do it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best all around tourist attraction in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were blessed with a clear, sunny day. After cruising away from the dock we saw a float plane demo land and take off. It's awesome the way these planes lightly skim the water. The narration was very interesting and the scenery lovely. We saw sled dogs, a native American village example and lots of beautiful properties. The homemade blueberry doughnuts were yummy.
don't miss this great excursion!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely Afternoon on the River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It was an unpleasant wet day but all seemed brighter s we boarded the riverboat, after looking around the huge gift shop. Missed out 40 below. The riverboat is like a floating seat area of a theatre - as we moved along the river, we had a short demo of a Float Plane take off and landing, further down river (we could hear) the dogs were going mad, on the grass strip beside the river we were given a great talk about the husky's, while the dogs were going mad. Then we had a full scale demo of how those dogs can run. They love it! Further down and a turn around was the Athabascan Village where we were encouraged to leave the boat and have a walk. Here we were given several good talks about Athabascan Life, Animals and how the skins are treated & used, then we met the dogs, absolutely lovely afternoon out despite the weather. We did notice when it rained in Alaska it only ever seemed to be fine rain so we didn't ever get soaking wet. We were lucky enough to get photos with Lance Mackey, famous dog musher and one of his many dogs. Treasured moment for us.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverboat Discovery Tours also viewed

 

Been to Riverboat Discovery Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverboat Discovery Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.