We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the price of admission” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aurora Ice Museum

The Aurora Ice Museum
Chena Hot Springs, Fairbanks, AK
907-451-8104
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 30 Attractions in Fairbanks
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Palmetto, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Well worth the price of admission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I had no idea what to expect, but the carvings are amazing. And drinking an appletini out of an ice glass is very fun (plus it was good!)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    79
    34
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is worth seeing (although a bit pricey). The sculptures are amazing and it is sort of neat to see what can be created from ice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, ca
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Overpriced tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went here at the same time Fairbanks was doing their annual Ice Festival. The Festival is the better deal. More sculptures for less cost, plus an ice slide park for the kiddies The guy who let us in to the museum didn't even know how much the spheres weighed, which I found odd considering they were all over the place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ice Sculptures, but not really a museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I think the title, "museum," is a bit of a misnomer, as was the "tour." Without a doubt, the sculptures are beautiful, and the work that went into the construction and creation is impressive. It is like a warehouse freezer with several incredible pieces of art made of ice, a bar that serves 1 drink (Appletinis) and several beds made of ice found in little ice-walled rooms. Was it worth the $15 per person (+$15 per drink that we didn't get)?...yeah, I guess. In the wintertime, the road to Chena Hot Springs is also covered in ice, so drive carefully for all 50 miles. It's one of the sites to see around Fairbanks, so if you're there for a few days, check it out.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive, but very pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The exhibit had a lot of very impressive ice carvings, but the price tag was pretty high for the small exhibit. It's understandable because it's a special attraction only available there, but I wish there was more to see.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aurora Ice Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Aurora Ice Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aurora Ice Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.