We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for a couple of days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River's Edge Resort

Save Saved
You added River's Edge Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River's Edge Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4200 Boat Street, Fairbanks, AK 99709   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good enough for a couple of days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Loved the hanging baskets and the staff! The staff was really nice and the food was very good at the Chena Alaskan Grille. They even do carry out. One night, I brought my food back to the room. As for the room, don't expect much because every hotel in Fairbanks is really expensive in Fairbanks compared to the lower 48. The TV in my room mostly didn't get any of cable channels, but who wants to watch TV while in AK? The bed was pretty hard and isn't one of the fancy kind that they have in many chain hotels these days. Also because of the humidity and age, the rooms have a musty smell that probably can't be avoided in the little huts. They did provide shampoo, etc... useful for those who fly in. It is really close to the airport, so they can arrange pick up and drop off. The Internet was spotty in my room, but worked fine in the main part of the hotel. Overall it was okay for a couple of nights.

This place would be great for young couples or families with kids. I liked it there. Don't expect it to be like a Hilton or Marriott. It would be okay for vacationers, I think. Not so good for folks who have to be at meetings or doing work.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    65
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
76
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

What is not to like. The hotel staff was great in everything they did from the service of the rooms to the service of the food/breakfast/lunch. For our retreat, we had breakfast with the full menu and coffee always available at anytime. The rooms were nice and cozy. Great for a traveling couple or a small family.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

They said they had high speed internet, but that was broken for the first 4 days, and after that it was so slow I could not download my email. They said they would provide shuttle service to and from the conference (university) but balked on that (we ended up renting a car). The room service was very inconsistent (some days no clean towels). One of the women at the front desk was rude and unfriendly. Would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

I loved these little cotteges. They were cute and comfortable, overlooking the quiet river. I ate at the restaurant on site, and it was good. The breakfast is not included, and it's not spectacular...though it does foot the bill. Overall, I was pleased with the stay, and I would return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peschiera Borromeo, Italy
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The hotel is ok, remember to choose the cottages with number inferior to 160 because they are not facing the highway. The real problem is Fairbanks: there is very little to do. We took a flight to the arctic circle and it was great, if you are going to Fort Yukon bring some food or buy it with the airline (do not believe to the front desk of the hotel who tells you that there are two restaurants there!). In Fairbanks don't spend more than two hours. Internet connection is very very weak, but they have a business center with a good internet connection and a printer.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

We stayed here through a Princess Cruise tour. The cottages were very comfortable, clean and quiet. Our cottage was near the highway, and we never heard a thing. The only complaint I would have is there is only one restaurant available for lunch and dinner, and the prices are kind of high, eventhough the food is great. The breakfast buffet offered by the resort was plentiful and delicious, good price. The staff was very helpful with arranging transportation to area locations.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We really enjoyed our night at the Rivers Edge Resort! The cabins were surprisingly modern and comfortable. We had a riverside one, very peaceful and private. The dinner at the Chena restaurant was delicious, expensive (everything in Ak seems to be). The breakfast buffet was excellent, but there are no other options if you're not hungry.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River's Edge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's Edge Resort

Address: 4200 Boat Street, Fairbanks, AK 99709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River's Edge Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An afternoon on a sunny riverbank exemplifies the best of Interior Alaska; this place is built around that knowledge. Trim little cottages stand in a grassy compound along the gentle Chena River. Inside, each light, airy cottage is an excellent standard hotel room, with high ceilings and two queen beds. Outside, they're like a little village, where guests can sit on the patio, watch the river go by, soak up the midnight sun and socialize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your River's Edge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River`s Edge Hotel Fairbanks
Rivers Edge Fairbanks
River's Edge Resort Fairbanks, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River's Edge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.