We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Utilitarian Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Fairbanks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Fairbanks to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   575 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
SF
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Clean Utilitarian Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is a very clean, functioning, fairly well-kept hotel. We were here for aurora viewing in April, and so it was pretty much just a place to nap in the late morning after a night out of chasing auroras. The suite we had was long and narrow, with two full beds at one end, and a sitting area with a big couch and a desk and kitchenette at the other.

The hotel is downtown, and so you can walk to some of the better-known restaurants in Fairbanks, including one right in the hotel, Lavelles, which was excellent. Lavelles however has very limited hours, and was only open at dinner time when we were there, and there was not any other place to eat at the hotel.

The hotel provides continental breakfast of the type that most chains do, which was included in our rate, but since we were aurora watching, we were never up before 930 am when the service stopped. The breakfast included hot items such as a waffle machine waffles and oatmeal and yogurt, fruit, etc. I think that to the extent that this hotel caters to aurora watchers in the winter, who return around 3-4 in the morning, it ought to adjust its breakfast schedule to end a little later, especially since there is no coffee house or cafe at the hotel. (There were coffee pots and coffee in the kitchenette, however)

The hotel is downtown, not really close to residential areas, so there are some things that aren't so convenient, such as a grocery store (the nearest is a Safeway, which is about a 15 minute walk). Also, there's no chain fast food to speak of close by for a fast bite so off hours meals are an issue, though there are some very nice eating establishments within walking distance (Lunch, Diner, (yes, these are really their names!) Fudge Pot, Bobby's were ones we went to) that serve during normal business hours. Diner was a couple blocks away across the river and was well, basically, a standard roadside diner. Lunch is also a couple blocks away and had great vegetarian, organic and gluten free items, including great baked goods! The kind of place you'd expect to find in California, but not in Alaska!

I noted when our tours went to other hotels for pickups that some of them were much better situated to strip malls, retail stores, grocery and fast food, so if that is a concern and you won't have a car, and don't want to walk too far to get food, you may want to consider that factor in your choice of hotels, and check out google maps to see what things are in the area of the hotels you are considering. Having no car, we would have liked to have stocked our kitchenette after a trip to Safeway or gotten a quick late breakfast at a fast food chain after having missed breakfast.

It seemed like there were a lot of stores/restaurants not open during the winter in downtown that may open when the high tourist season hits, so the restaurant situation may be totally different in summer. One store that was open and in which we enjoyed shopping at was Big Rays, which has tons of outdoor clothing and equipment and is right across the street from the hotel.

As for the amenities, the gym has a free weight rack and two treadmills and two ellipticals.
There is an indoor hot tub and also a pool that is more for dipping and not big enough for lap swimming.

The service people were all pretty much robotic and rarely very effervescent or friendly. They were all pretty perfunctory and didn't really seem to go want to out of their way to be helpful, like I've experienced at higher end hotels. It wasn't uncourteous but it was such that you hated asking for anything for fear of having them sigh or look at you askance. Hard to pinpoint generally what the feeling was, but its clear that the management has not drilled these folks on the basics of a welcoming warm smile and greeting, like they do at other hotels.

One significant annoyance related to the shuttle. Though we were informed that the free shuttle would provide transport to and from the airport, when we tried to arrange the shuttle the day before our departure for our flight back to Seattle at 7 am the next morning, we were told we either had to leave at 600 am (too late) or 505 am (too early) because it was for a Horizon flight that left before ours. Since Fairbanks is a small airport we wanted to get there at 6 am. We ended up getting a taxi, which cost a little over $20. Given that the morning Alaska flight out to Seattle is probably a major flight out for hotel guests, I am not sure how that airport pickup schedule was set, and whether it was because others had booked the shuttle for the Horizon flight before we did and they got priority or if this was a set schedule. But in any event, this is not like most hotels where airport pick up is on demand or available every 15 minutes or so, so be aware of that. On the upside, the hotel did provide free transport to certain attractions and we took advantage of that to go to and from to the ice championships, which was about three or four miles away.

A decent hotel - not one to complain and ask for money back, but not one I'd go out of my way to recommend due to a particular trait that makes it stand out. Purely average.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMS-Lodging, Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear DT94010,
Thank your for your feedback. I'm hope you were able to catch some auroras during your visit! I appreciate the comments on the breakfast hours for the aurora chasing customers. This is a great suggestion and I will work with the staff to ensure we have a continental breakfast available upon request when we know someone might miss breakfast. I deeply apologize for your experience with the staff and the shuttle. We have recently changed management and these issues are being addressed. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of the free shuttle to the area events!
We hope you will make it back to Alaska at some point, and we would enjoy the opportunity to better serve you next time.
Warmest Regards,
Jeannette Duenow
Vice President NMS Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    167
    56
    19
    10
See reviews for
72
114
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munford, Alabama
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed here for my visit to Fairbanks. Upon check in this hotel would not let the other two people traveling with me use my Marriott Rewards Number even though the reservation was under my name. This is the first time this has happened at any Marriott that I have been to. They did offer free breakfast in the morning but did not have hot coffee all day like other Marriott’s. There is a good restaurant downstairs but it is expensive. It is in a good location and they offer government discounts. I am still a little upset over not getting credit for the other nights so I'll probably check out another hotel when I return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMS-Lodging, Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Jody D,
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the confusion on your Marriott Rewards number upon your check in. If you will let me know how to contact you I will make sure you receive the credit for those nights. Lavelle's is a great restaurant and owned by a local Fairbanks couple. We are fortunate they are located in the SpringHill Suites hotel!

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest Regards,
Jeannette Duenow
Vice President/NMS Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed two nights. Central Fairbanks location with nice river view. All suites with rooms clean and very comfortable beds. Nice bathroom and good water pressure in shower. Plenty to eat with the included breakfast including yogurt waffles eggs cereal etc. Easy and very courteous shuttle service. Will Definitely come back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is right by the riverside walk so pleasant for an evening stroll and to get to the excellent visitors' centre. The room was fine - nothing to complain about - and breakfast quite ok too. We did our washing here and found the drier quite slow and it was the most expensive of all laundromats in our 7 week tour but I guess - this is Alaska. The shuttle service was excellent from the airport on arrival, to and from the Riverboat Discovery, and to the train station on our departure. The reception staff were very helpful but don't be fooled by the map they hand out - it is not to scale and you could end up walking for miles to somewhere which looks close! I would recommend this hotel which was reasonably priced

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Spent couple of nights in Fairbanks to see the Northern Lights. Nice hotel with spacious rooms that is located in downtown Fairbanks. Some restaurants and places nearby that you can walk to. The hotel shuttle service is important, particularly in winter. We used the shuttle a lot and they called us a taxi at their expense when the shuttle was tied up or too busy. Would stay here if I visit Fairbanks in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel room was clean but certainly you could tell it was built and fashioned in the 70's. We really liked the express breakfast that was included with the stay - they had a lot of options, my favourite was the homemade oatmeal they had because of the different toppings you could add to it. The price was really reasonable too but I'm not sure if we would stay their again because my husband didn't like being right downtown. Although, if you are one that likes the downtown feel I would certainly recommend this clean and reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NMS-Lodging, Manager at SpringHill Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Hello Riverdaleraven75,
Thank you for your review! Our hotel does sport the latest look of all Marriott SpringHill Suites. I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast - the oatmeal with all its selections is one of my favorites too. Our hotel is located downtown as you mentioned. Did you know we also have shuttle service to many other areas of town for your use during your stay? We do wish to see you back and hope our amenities and service will entice you to come stay with us again!
Warmest Regards,
Jeannette Duenow
Vice President/Lodging NMS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was our four some medical school reunion at Alaska. The rooms were truly spacious, clean with a large bathroom, a small kitchenette with a microwave and fridge, along with a sitting room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. There was a complimentary breakfast which had a good variety and very delicious. A small coffee shop and a small retail store in the lobby. Hotel centrally placed next to the Ice museum which is worth a visit.. There was free airport drop. This place is value for money

Room Tip: ALL THE ROOMS were equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairbanks

Address: 575 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairbanks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay in downtown Fairbanks next to the Chena River. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast buffet and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Fairbanks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.