We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, spacious, reasonably priced and great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Fairbanks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Fairbanks to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   575 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable, spacious, reasonably priced and great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We spent two nights in Fairbanks at this hotel and our stay was first rate. The living area of the suite gave lots of room to relax. The bathroom was large and conveniently laid out. We didn't use the fridge or microwave but it was clean and the food preparation area had plenty of room. The restaurant attached to the hotel was the best restaurant we visited during our sixteen days in Alaska. It was pricy but the food and service were worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    167
    56
    19
    10
See reviews for
72
114
36
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enid, Oklahoma
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed 2 nights. The rating would have been higher if the breakfast was better. The first morning the eggs and sausage were barely lukewarm, the second morning was better. Also we had three people in each room and only the king bed with pullout sofas were available. The regular beds were nice but the pullouts were not great. Also the bedding for the pullouts was kind of old and grungy. The staff was nice and they have an expensive restaurant on site which was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel is conveniently located in the center of Fairbanks with the visitor center (which has a nice little museum) and a number of restaurants within walking distance. The room was very large, with a microwave, large mini-refrigerator, sink, and pull-out sofa in addition to the queen size bed. I believe some other reviewers said they had difficulty sleeping during the summer when the sky did not get dark, but in my room, at least, there were heavy curtains that kept the room dark enough to sleep when I went to bed. A business center included a computer terminal for those of us who don't travel with a laptop. The buffet breakfast had a variety of hot and cold choices, the I think the eggs came from a mix, and the sweet rolls were the small, pre-packaged type. The best hot entree was the waffles, which you can make to order on their waffle maker.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this suite-like hotel. The breakfast was great and it is in the heart of Fairbanks. One really needs to rent a car when you are in town to venture out and see this beautiful wilderness. I enjoyed the size of the room and the cleanliness. I might have arranged the room differently if it were my own. My one complaint was that the curtains did not fully keep the sun out. I will admit that I am a very fussy sleeper and require my room to be pretty dark. However, in the land where the sun hardly sets in the summer time, I think it might be smart to invest in some more light-blocking curtains. The restaurant attached to the hotel was good but kind of expensive and did not offer an airline employee discount which is highly unheard of.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

This hotel was clean, beds comfortable, and was very secure. Nice breakfast included, better than most. Easy access to the visitor center and downtown shops. Also a nice park across the street along the river. I would stay here again. The restaurant in the hotel was very upscale and a little pricey but quite good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.V.N.Y.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

After booking and paying in advance we arrived late do to and were told that one of the two rooms had been resold so all seven of us checked into one room to find out that it had not been cleaned. The next morning I met with the manager only to be told that if I wanted the second room that I had booked and paid for I would have to pay for it again. You tell me would you recommend this place? Oh and if you are staying here Pack a Black Light we still feel dirty and we traveled back to NY..

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed at this location on a recent trip to Fairbanks and wondered about the room key requirement to ride elevators and take stairs to rooms. When we got settled and decided to take a walk along the riverfront, we discovered that we did not feel safe and comfortable outside. We cut our walk short. The next morning. we witnessed a transient accosting a fellow guest in the parking lot as the guest was getting into his car. Security was called and a fracas followed, but the transient was not giving up easily and was very aggressive. We were glad we were leaving!
Bottom line - nice hotel and secure but be watchful if you go outside!

Room Tip: Great room - not safe outdoors in immediate area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Fairbanks

Address: 575 1st Ave, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
#6 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Fairbanks 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay in downtown Fairbanks next to the Chena River. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast buffet and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Fairbanks Hotel Fairbanks
Fairbanks Springhill Suites
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Fairbanks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.