We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well laid out and informative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wedgewood Wildlife Sanctuary

Wedgewood Wildlife Sanctuary
212 Wedgewood Drive, Fairbanks, AK 99701
(907) 458-6113
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 34 attractions in Fairbanks
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
mims florida
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
173 attraction reviews
Reviews in 149 cities Reviews in 149 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
“well laid out and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Only 4 years old so the paths are very good and the information boards excellent. About 1 mile walk around Wander Lake with signs of beaver activity but no beavers, or much other wildlife to be fair. Pleasant walk though with good scenery and places to sit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pretty walk!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Nice trails around a small lake, lots of wildflowers and such. We were told active beavers were on the lake, we didn't see any. Still a nice walk!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Lovely walk with interesting signs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

What a lovely and serene walk. I didn't really see a lot of wildlife and I walked here about 10 times, but the scenery is nice and the signs are very interesting and informative.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hiking but bring bug spray”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

These easily-accessible trails are very pleasant. There's a large pond with an active beaver colony that is building a structure on the far side of the pond. But bring bug spray. The mosquitos are intense!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Many of my posts with acknowledge the kid-friendly factor - I would say NO for younger children.
This is a peaceful hike in the woods that leads to a nice water/pond area for bird viewing or to CRamers field.
The one caution is to wear mosquito repellant and long clothing, hats etc. some trail entrances are posted with warning while others are not!
I would say this is great 1hr activity. Great for pictures and serenity if you keep Mosquitos away

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wedgewood Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Wedgewood Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wedgewood Wildlife Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wedgewood Wildlife Sanctuary to your Saves list