We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time or money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alaskan Hummer Tours

Alaskan Hummer Tours
1314 Helios Ave., Fairbanks, AK 99708
8883864648
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 49 Activities in Fairbanks
Type: Off road/All Terrain Vehicle Trails, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tour in Fairbanks, AK was awarded the 2009 Land Excursion of the Year award by Princess Cruise Lines and is a must-see adventure if vacationing in the Fairbanks, AK region. It is a 3hr tour that can seat 10 guests and journeys into unmaintained roads in upper Fairbanks and includes stops at the Alaskan Pipeline & Creamer's Migratory Bird Refuge with terrific views of Mt. McKinley. Seasonal stops may also include visiting a champion iditarod dog-sledding team kennel, an ice climbing tower, & a muskox large animal research station. We also provide FREE pickups to all hotels in Fairbanks. 3 Tours Daily.
Winston-Salem NC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very little to see on this 3 hour Hummer tour. Started off at University of Alaska Fairbanks for overview of city but it was overcast so really nothing to see. Then we stopped to see 4 reindeer in their cage lying down - should have gotten out and taken a shuttle back to the hotel at that point. We spent an hour on pitted back roads through a forest with no view and nothing significant to let us know we were in Alaska - it could have been any back roads, any where. The only thing worthwhile about the excursion was getting to see the Alaska Pipeline for 15 minutes at the end of trip. Also our guide was not very informative. The Hummer "holds" 10 guests and there were 8 on our trip. Ten would have been VERY crowded! Impossible to take pictures from the Hummer with the plastic windows down because the windows were so clouded so I guess it was a good thing that there was little to see to take pictures of. I would not recommend this trip at all and am sorry I wasted my time and money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The ad read well and I was really keen to do the tour. Brad is very friendly and informative. However, for the price it's not worth it. A Hummer is great but this one is far too rough and uncomfortable because we spent far too much of the time on roads and then racing back on the highway. Stopped to view bird sanctuary...more like a farmer's field,maybe there was a bird in the distance, stopped beside the road to just be able to see two deer at the Research Station. Stopped at the university to see the view....misty couldn't see any mountains. Went off road to see animals. I'm sure the noise of the hummer would scare anything away. The pipeline stop was very good and informative and learnt a lot about the gold mine but to stop across the road from it didn't give us the best view. Snacks? First of all if you have that young man who you were training with you anymore, tell him not to reach in to the container and take two packets of the only decent biscuits there before anyone else had a chance .....dreadful.
Sorry this is mainly negative but having travelled a lot, this wasn't good enough. You make your money in the summer...don't rip people off.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxton, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bakers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A lot of travel for seeing very few animals. The trip did take us into areas that we would not have seen otherwise. We had a good view of the pipeline which was our main objective of taking this tour. We have friends who met while working on the pipeline.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good car ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were picked up at our hotel for the h1 hummer ride. Our driver was very courteous and knew a lot about the area. We went by UAF to view some of the animals they keep on campus and what would have been a nice panoramic skyline view if it weren't for the over cast sky.
Then we went on a good, long car ride. It mostly reminded me of my Aunt's driveway in the UP of Michigan. Long, straight stretches of timber lined gravel road. I was a little disappointed because here we were in a H1 and we were driving long, straight, gradually inclining roads. The car is capable of SO much more. Even if you don't see animals (which we didn't), the drive could be much more adventurous with a car capable of climbing an 18 inch wall of rock. I wasn't expecting an ATV ride, but I've also ridden hummers in the Rocky Mountains and they make the ride a little more exciting by showcasing the capability of a H1 hummer. It was a fun evening, but for the money a little short on adventure.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“On the road with Alaskan Hummer Tours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

As advertised, picked up at our hotel in an orange H1, modified to include high position seating for the passengers (see photo). Quite a thrill for anyone who has never ridden in a Hummer...and we hadn't.

Driver/guide (Brad) was very friendly...immediately inquired about our specific interests...we told him large animals (bears, moose, and others) and he said he couldn't guarantee anything, but we would definitely look. Started out with a few stops that he had selected (were standard I presume) like the University overlook (couldn't see McKinley due to weather), and the Large Animal Research Station. Then we set out on a series of back roads, few paved, most not, but that's part of the romance of being in the H1! Stopped periodically looking in fire breaks and open fields for our animals of interest, but, alas, came up empty. Certainly not for lack of trying, but we were a little disappointed. We also stopped at relatively secluded spot to see the Trans-Alaska Pipeline, of which Brad was quite knowledgeable.

A little pricey for essentially a 4 hour car ride (with a few stops in between, e.g., at the Pipeline), but entertaining for a family.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alaskan Hummer Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaskan Hummer Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.