We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Incredibly accommodating, thoughtful and comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alaska Heritage House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alaska Heritage House to your Saves list
Alaska Heritage House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   410 Cowles Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Multi - Day Discount
Ranked #3 of 44 Fairbanks B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow! Incredibly accommodating, thoughtful and comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I can say without a doubt that this B&B was the most comfortable and pleasant stay I've ever experienced. Van and Bill were available, yet not unduly fussy. The breakfasts were unique and really tasty. In fact, one morning we enjoyed some of the "catch" of other guests. Our last day, Van made some Spain-inspired hot chocolate that almost made me cancel my flight so I could stay and have more. And, the room was wonderful; true to the period of the home, yet with all the amenities you would expect from a top-notch B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
25
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed two nights in Billie's guest house.
For more than ten years, I stayed a number of guest houses all over the world,
and I would say, this is one of the best.

I love Billie's welcoming and coffee,
and its surroundings are beautiful,
and I could make it to see the northern lights!!!

Thanks Billie for all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I has a wonderful stay at the Alaska Heritage House B&B, and very much enjoyed the super friendly host, yummy breakfasts, and the charm of this warm, delightful house (filled with antiques). Everything was very clean, comfortable, and cozy. The house is very quiet at night, and offers a lot of privacy for the guests as well. I especially enjoyed learning about the home's (and all of the owners') fascinating history (it's on the National Register). Excellent location next to the downtown area too. Lots of nice, detailed touches are provided -- and I appreciated the ability to use the kitchen as well. Thank you for offering such a great lodging place in Fairbanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Alaska Heritage House for an extended visit while visiting my son during the second half of 2012. The antique bed, wing chairs, and other furniture pieces in the room created a comfortable and functional place for me to use. My hosts did their utmost to help me plan any outings I was interested in from local cultural events to wild berry picking. They were also thoughtful about catering to the specific dietary needs of guests and served many of my favorite breakfasts, upon request, including their famous sourdough pancakes and reindeer sausage, salmon cakes, and cinnamon-raisin french toast. There was also always a freshly baked cake and fresh fruit in the dining room for guest snacking. My room was meticulously cleaned, and there was always an ample stack of fresh towels for the week. It is also a place that draws nice people to it. I met a number of interesting people -- some of whom have become personal friends. There is a lovely wicker-filled porch at the front of the house, and a small stone patio with table and chairs in the back. If you are visiting in the summer, you might enjoy using the bicycles. The bus stop across the street takes you just about anywhere you want to go to shop or to the University, and there are a number of very good downtown restaurants, coffee shops, art galleries, and theatre within walking distance. A very pleasant place, and consistently excellent over the months I stayed here. I loved their adorable dog Mabel who greeted everyone each morning!

Room Tip: I loved the Blanche Cascaden room, but all of the rooms have their own unique style and are named af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed here on an extended-stay basis for several months, as I was getting settled in the area earlier this past summer. From the beginning, the owners (Van and Bill) made me feel welcome and were willing to accommodate my any need (including arranging activities for me to meet others in the area). The rooms and property are immaculate, the breakfast is delicious and diverse (Van incorporates various ethnic cuisine to spice up the routine pancakes and bacon breakfast), and the historical preservation of the inn is top-notch. If you are coming to Fairbanks and want a unique experience that you will always remember, you won't go wrong by staying here. Van and Bill truly take pride in operating this B+B and it reflects that in every way. Now that I live in Fairbanks and will have numerous visitors from the lower 48, I can assure you I will be sending them to the Alaska Heritage House!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

A step back into history! Well redone regurgitation of a home from Fairbanks's history past that has been brought back to it's splendor of 1916. Built by one of Fairbanks's historical restaurant owners for his wife and himself. He came to Fairbanks in it's early days getting in one the gold rush miner's looking for a meal.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I meant to write this back in September after we returned from our Alaska trip. Better late than never. This is really a fine place to stay. My husband and I stayed with my brother and his wife in a garden level 2-room + small kitchen suite. Not too much natural light, but it was a delightful place nonetheless and ideal for the four of us. The house itself is lovely and open; the hosts lent us their bicycles to tour the town and gave us plenty of information to make our short visit as full as possible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alaska Heritage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska Heritage House

Address: 410 Cowles Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alaska Heritage House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alaska Heritage House Bed & Breakfast (listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the Mary Lee Davis House) was the most elegant home in early Fairbanks. Eight antique filled rooms are equipped with claw-foot tubs, historic photographs and books, and such modern amenities as Wi-Fi, Cable TV, mini refrigerators, and gourmet breakfasts year around inspired by the owners extensive international travels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Alaska Heritage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Heritage House Fairbanks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaska Heritage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.