We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and in very convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1255 TVSA Way, Fairbanks, AK 99706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Juneau, Alaska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Clean and in very convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

This hotel looks pretty new. The housekeeping did an excellent job - very clean rooms, and they didn't bug us when we slept in like some places do. The bed was extremely comfortable, among the best. The television allowed adjusting the picture aspect ratio so I wasn't trapped looking at a world of ridiculously fat faces - I wish upscale chains would offer that. The room had double-double pane windows (4 sheets of glass) which kept all the road and aircraft noise out. And they opened wide for fresh air.

The location was very handy: 5 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the university. A large Fred Meyers store was directly across the street for picking up snacks and such.

The room was of average size and had a refrigerator and coffee maker, but no microwave. We had a large stall shower but no tub. If you like bathtubs, you better ask about availability. The hot water was turned low and showers were tepid - my only real complaint. Towels were thick. There was excellent free wireless Internet that ran fast enough to run streaming movies - Hilton take note! The free breakfast included hot bacon, sausage, and scrambled eggs - definitely better than the usual creepy Danish and cold cereal.

It was a basic motel, but they did everything well. For the price we paid I was very satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    165
    44
    15
    8
See reviews for
116
171
50
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Best Western. This hotel is an asset to the chain. New and stylish, clean and comfortable. The beds were great, the breakfast was satisfying. The front desk and housekeeping staff were very friendly.

If you do laundry be prepared to pay $3 to use the machines and $2 for one load's worth of soap from the front desk. We used the workout room and found it adequate with towels and water provided. Coffee is always on down in the breakfast area. Rooms are large. The wifi worked great and there is a computer downstairs for guest use if you don't have a laptop, most of the time I found that this computer was in use.

Tip: My opinion is that the best part of the hotel to stay if you DON'T have kids with you is the center of the 2nd floor, there is a great little lounge area up there that overlooks the front door and is perfect for reading a book.

If we go back to Fairbanks we will look to stay at this hotel again. I recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

The staff here was very friendly and helpful, the television was large, and the location was very near to the airport. Great free wifi. The parking lot had places to plug in the cord extending from the nose of my rental car. I say "mostly clean" because there were some nasty stains on the shower curtain and the room had that, "well, I got rid of the top layer of dirt" look that my mother used in her own cleaning. The breakfast was pretty good for an American hotel: eggs and sausage, sweet rolls, various kinds of cereal. There is a large mall with a Fred Meyer's nearby. I'm a fan of Best Western and this was almost up to the best of the Best.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

I can't say enough good for this Best Western hotel. When I stay at chain hotels, I don't expect much. This experience proved the exception to the rule. This hotel is a little bit out of the way for those without a car -- though a colleague drove me to the university, downtown, and surrounding areas -- not a good location if you depend on walking. The HVAC control is perfect -- very important when the outside temp in March hoovers around zero, but the rooms were never stuffy, overheated or too cold. Staff was delightful, and they provide shuttle service to and from the airport

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calliesingh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Second time to Alaska, brand new hotel, big rooms comfortable beds. I will definitely stay here again. Customer Service was great. I am in the hospitatily business and was impressed with the quality of the rooms and the price point.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChenaRivergm, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at with us. It is always gratifying to know that our performance was effective and appreciated. I am grateful you took the time to let us know of your satisfaction. I have passed on your comments to the staff member. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Fairbanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

booked this hotel for the good price. found out this hotel was new, with large rooms, very good beds and a large bathroom with a shower, no bath, liked the shower.
the included breakfast is "continental". for us more than enough. there are not many tables to sit by, but so we did meet fellow travellers. When we asked for a good restaurant in the neighbourhood they offer us to bring us and pick us up again.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChenaRivergm, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2010
I want to thank you for using our facilities. We are delighted that you found your stay so pleasant.

I have passed on your comments, knowing that it will serve as an inspiration to our staff to continue their efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

way nice, new
flat screen, with hbo, very fast wireless, air conditioning
the beds are way comfy and soft
great shower
right across the street from freddies and safeway, taco bell too and quiznos

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChenaRivergm, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write such a complimentary review.

Thank you for your kind comments regardnig our staff and service to you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Address: 1255 TVSA Way, Fairbanks, AK 99706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Business Hotel in Fairbanks
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.