We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1255 TVSA Way, Fairbanks, AK 99706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
GreenLeadersBronze level
Beaver Creek
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is my "go to" hotel anytime I'm in Fairbanks for shopping. It's conveniently located close to Fred Meyers, good restaurants and my hair salon. Service is always friendly and efficient. The rooms are large and have all the comforts of home, and are always spotless and clean. The wifi worked well, and I could pop a bag of popcorn to eat while watching my movie for the night. The free breakfast downstairs always has lots to choose from and is also kept super clean. I usually stay here about 8 times a year (a 5-hour drive from my home), and I'm always happy to arrive :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    151
    42
    13
    8
See reviews for
102
162
46
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beulah, North Dakota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here twice during our recent trip to Alaska, once when arriving and again on our last day. Overall, very pleased! The staff was great, the rooms where clean and spacious, and they paid for our early morning taxi ride to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

this hotel was pretty awesome! it's really close (about a 5 minute drive) to the airport and they have shuttle service provided in the form of paying for your taxi. the room was very spacious and the bed was super comfy. the only downside was that the walls seemed a bit thin and we were right by the elevator so noise level seemed higher than i'm used to. the bathroom was separated as the toilet/shower with door and the sink/vanity on the other side. the vanity was well lit but the shower area seemed dim. i liked that the windows could be opened for fresh air. the tv had the slowest changing channels ever? almost seemed unreal. lol. the breakfast was fresh every morning and seemed to vary somewhat (bacon and eggs one day, biscuits and gravy the next, etc.) the best part was the belgian waffle maker, of course. There is a fred meyers across the street which has really good produce/deli section if you prefer more variety (i wanted something other than apples and oranges), we did end up renting a car and parking is free and plentiful. all in all, i'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I wish I could just pack this friendly little property up and have it available for all my future travels. Check-in was a breeze and I had the key in my hand within five minutes of walking in the door. The room was spacious, spotless clean, and extremely comfortable (wonderful after a long day of flying). It also felt really nice to get out of bed and hop into the warm shower every morning. It was very convenient to have the kitchenette available (mircrowave and small fridge). I was able to walk right across the street to the supermarket and stock up on groceries whenever I needed. The staff were another wonderful asset to the place. They were all friendly, professional, and happy to provide local tips about the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in August 2012. It was about a mile outside of the airport, so very convenient. The hotel itself is relatively new, built I believe two years ago. The rooms are standard rooms, with a coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator. They serve a hot breakfast every morning. Some of the items served were eggs, breakfast meat, toast, bagels, cereal and fruits. It's not a continental breakfast but can be a nice hearty breakfast. The hotel staff is very friendly, accommodating and provided a wealth of information to us regarding Fairbanks, especially about the Northern Lights (which we didn't see). Parking is free and there is adequate parking available. My only recommendation would be to request a low floor, especially if you are a smoker. There is a designated smoking area outside on the side of the hotel. I recommend this because the elevators are really slow. The hotel itself is only three floors, but it takes forever to go from the first floor to the third. I was able to walk up the stairs to the third floor and beat my family who caught the elevator.

This hotel was conveniently located near the attractions that we wanted to go to. Most of the attractions were about a 10 minute drive away. There is a Fred Meyers across the street from the hotel, easily walkable. Probably a 5-10 minute walk. We usually went to the deli and bought dinner from there since the hotel itself does not have a restaurant on the property.

If you do decide to stay at this hotel, it would be a good idea to have a car, since besides Fred Meyers, there really isn't much around the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We arrived about 1:30AM. Called hotel and acomplimentary cab was waiting for us in a few minutes. We checked in a nice room very comfortable. Great breakfast it included sausage links, scrambled eggs, waffles and much more.Good price also for Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Good rooms, new furnishings and comfortable beds. Across the street from Fred Meyer and about 10 minute walk from a nice restaurant called Sophie's, but not walking distance to much else of interest (at least in winter). Always nice to have breakfast included in a room price, and the buffet is pretty good: DIY waffles, and eggs, sausage, cereal, danishes, etc., but not much of the healthy variety. I've gone back more than once, for what that's worth.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge

Address: 1255 TVSA Way, Fairbanks, AK 99706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Business Hotel in Fairbanks
#2 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
#3 Romantic Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Alaska hotel offers friendly service and modern accommodations all within minutes of the airport and bustling downtown Fairbanks. Feel right at home at this recently opened Fairbanks, Alaska hotel with modern furnishings and generous amenities. The sizeable, tidy and smoke-free rooms at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge offer high-speed Internet access, a refrigerator, a desk, cable satellite television and a coffeemaker. Each morning, hotel guests can get a start to their day with a complimentary full continental breakfast.This Fairbanks hotel's business center allows business travelers to stay productive. This Alaska lodge also offers meeting spaces accommodating up to 15 people. Unwind after a long day of sightseeing or out-of-town work in the fitness center at this Fairbanks hotel.Vacationers can enjoy convenient freeway access, allowing for quick and easy visits to nearby local attractions - such as the Museum of the North, Alaska at 40 below, the El Dorado Gold Mine and the Ice Museum - most of which are only five minutes away. Families vacationing at this Fairbanks, AK hotel will be delighted to spend the day taking a cruise on the Riverboat Discovery or playing at Pioneer Park, Alaska's largest amusement park. This Fairbanks, AK hotel is the closest hotel to the University of Alaska, Fairbanks, making this the perfect location for visiting parents, students and staff to stay. Guests can rest assured, as a hospital is only five minutes away. The Fairbanks International Airport is also only a couple miles away from this Alaska hotel.For an affordable stay at an exceptional hotel in Fairbanks, Alaska, reserve a stay online at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chena River Hotel Fairbanks
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.