We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best auto museum ever !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum

Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum
212 Wedgewood Drive, Wedgewood Resort, Fairbanks, AK 99701
907-450-2100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 68 things to do in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This unexpected gem at Wedgewood Resort features a remarkable collection of antique cars and historic fashions, plus entertaining displays on Alaska motoring history. With over 100 vintage outfits exhibited alongside automotive works of art, visitors are treated to a visually stunning trip back to a time when cars and fashion dominated the luxury goods market. The museum's automobile collection features over 85 American-made vehicles, including beautifully restored horseless carriages, nickel touring cars, rakish speedster, elegant classics, and early racecars. From rare marquees like Compound and Argonne to well-known names like Packard and Stutz, visitors will be amazed at the beauty, innovation, and history of these rolling masterpieces. All but a few of the automobiles are driven each summer, making this a true "living museum."Home to more than 600 textiles from the 18th to the Mid-20th Century, the museum presents one of the largest historic fashion collections on permanent display in the Western United States. The exhibits include enchanting examples of men's and women's fashions, from silk bustle dresses and motoring dusters to shimmering flapper shifts and dapper tuxedos. Antique accessories including historic hats, shoes, jewelry, and more complete the scores of vintage elegance. Historic photos and videos located throughout the galleries vividly illustrate the extreme circumstances faced by Alaska's pioneering motorists. Although dreadful road conditions and severe climate were unkind to their vehicles, some of these early cars survived and several are exhibited in the Alaska Gallery. These include the Territory's very first automobile, built in 1905 by a man who had never seen a car before! At the Sourdough Roadhouse, children and adults can don period clothing and climb aboard a 1911 automobile for photographs along the Old Valdez Trail.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best auto museum ever !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This museum was high on my list. Entrance fee is cheap for the amount of magnificent cars you can see here. I was stunned by the pristine paintwork on the cars. I fell in love with many of them. The free audiotour is quite useful if you want to know more about the different exhibitions. Spend more time in here than i would like to have as my schedule was tight, but I enjoyed every minute in here. This is a museum for adults, there is not much for kids to do.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    23
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tchrs
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“For the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This great museum has something for everyone. From many ownderful old cars that ALL RUN to displays with period clothing and also a bit of history of Alaska the Fountainhead has something for everyone. A hidden and surprising treasure. A bit hard to find but well worth the trip and modest admisson fee. Call in the winter to make sure they are open 907 450 2100. In the summer the neat part is you can get away from the bus tours.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Don't Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I was expecting to be bored while my husband toured the museum, but I was as fascinated as he was! The cars represent 36 years of technological change prior to WWII. Hybrid, electrical, etc. - all designed almost 100 years ago! Each vehicle is truly beautiful and accompanied by a mannequin dressed in attire typical of the year it was built. The outfits are magnificent and as beautifully detailed as the cars.

We had allocated two hours, but that wasn't enough for us. Young children, however, probably wouldn't enjoy more than an hour here.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great if you like old cars.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

If you like old cars there is a pretty good display. The staff is very good, friendly and knowledgeable. Not a good idea to bring the little ones with you though. I thought it was pricey for the experience, but worth doing once.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodResort, Manager at Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Robert, thank you for your feedback. We agree that our establishment is “Great if you like old cars,” as that is what one typically finds in an automobile museum. But, our museum is also great if you like history (especially Alaska history), technology, design, fashion, and striking examples of human resourcefulness.

Most of our visitors are pleasantly surprised to discover that our 20,000-square-foot facility is home to much more than a collection of very rare cars. We have one of the largest historic fashion collections in the western United States, and presently more than 100 vintage outfits are on display alongside our 65+ automobiles. We also have an entertaining, large-format photography exhibit that illustrates the extreme challenges faced by Alaska automobilists in the early 20th Century.

The history of how Alaska adopted this new form of transportation and how automobiles played a role in opening the Last Frontier, is colorfully told through our exhibits, videos, and audio tour. While most other museums charge for audio tours, ours is free with admission, which we feel is quite reasonable considering how much time one can spend perusing the exhibits. The most common complaint we hear from visitors is that they did not have enough time to see everything. Others spend four or more hours in there, or take advantage of our free re-admission to return after dinner. There is small play area for children, and they are welcome to dress up in old-time clothes and get in the 1910 Everitt roadster for photographs. We also have scavenger hunt forms for children available at the front desk.

We frequently swap out cars and change other exhibits, so we believe it is worth visiting the museum more than once. This, and its reasonable price, is why our season pass option is so popular with the locals. An added bonus is that we fire up one of the old cars on many summer days, so you never know what you’ll see happening in the shop and parking lot! We hope you will consider a return visit when our new exhibit in the Alaska Gallery opens this coming May. If you do return, ask for me and I will personally show you what's new in the museum.

Again, thank you for your review.

Willy Vinton, Manager
Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World-class, fascinating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is a must-see in Fairbanks! The cars are amazing, the clothing is inspiring and beautiful, and Willy and his staff are delightful! You would not believe what this building holds inside without seeing it for yourself, plan on a few hours for thoroughly enjoying all of the sights (even if you are not a car buff there is plenty to keep your attention). There are movies playing real footage from bygone eras and many vintage photos to transport you to a simpler time. Don't miss the unique gifts in the little shop by the front desk!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.