We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wedgewood Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wedgewood Resort to your Saves list
Wedgewood Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   212 Wedgewood Drive, Fairbanks, AK 99701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
STAY LONGER SAVE MORE
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Roslyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“its ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

hotel was once a collection of apartments that have been converted to "suites." They are more akin to efficiency apartments. There are no elevators so request the first floor if you cannot climb stairs. that being said they are kept clean

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodResort, Manager at Wedgewood Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Feedback is very important to us and I thank you for taking the time to write a review. Most of our guests are pleasantly surprised to discover that our suites are actually spacious, 750+ square-foot condominiums equipped with a full-size living room, kitchen, dining room, one or two bedrooms, bathroom, and balcony. Admittedly it’s a lot of space for a one-night stay, but perfect for guests visiting Fairbanks for several days or weeks. We are happy to accommodate requests for first-floor suites, and will also carry luggage to and from the other levels when requested. We take pride in the scrupulous work performed by our housekeeping staff, and I thank you for the compliment.

Sincerely,
Shane Arnold, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    54
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
36
51
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We chose this hotel from a list of available rooms listed at the visitors center. Price was right at $109. Clean, quiet room. Comfy beds and a really good fan to cancel any noises. We requested a wake up call for the Northern Lights, which came at 12:30 a.m. They allowed us to have a late check out time.

Room Tip: Good hotel for value traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodResort, Manager at Wedgewood Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with is and want to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you took advantage of our Northern Lights wake-up call service, and got to see the aurora. This is supposed to be an excellent fall and winter for northern lights, so I expect we will be making a lot of these calls to guests! We are pleased to do so, as seeing “the lights” is certainly a highlight of any trip to Fairbanks. Again, thank you for your kind words.

Sincerely,
Shane Arnold, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This Inn is used by Globus Tours for a few nights while in the Fairbanks, AK area. The rooms are all suite style with a large sitting room for relaxing after a busy day touring, fully wquipped kitchen which we did not use except for morning coffee, and a very comfortable bedroom with two queens perfect for two friends traveling together. Staff are all friendly and helpful. Shuttle to and from airport available when needed; as is transportation with the resort at any time. Full breakfast buffet (not included excet on tour) is great. If you should be visiting Fairbanks, this is the place to stay. Auto museum worth the $5.00 admission on premisis.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodResort, Manager at Wedgewood Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and recommendation! I am happy that your stay at Wedgewood Resort met your expectations, and that you were able to visit our auto and fashion museum. I also appreciate your comments about our breakfast buffet. It is our pleasure to offer a tantalizing variety of hot and cold buffet selections to our guests, as well as the options of ordering from our restaurant menu or cooking their own meals in our suites. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Shane Arnold, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLand, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay over additional days, remaining at the lodge, which once house pipeline personnel. Rooms were actually apartments, with living room, eating area, full kitchen, bath and bed room. We had two queen beds and our apt overlooked the wildlife area next to the property which made it quite nice. As it was in the 50 to 65 degree weather and sunny,we were able to keep the window in bed room and sliding glass door in living room open most of the time. Everything was clean, fully supplied. Housekeeping came in every day to clean and reset the rooms. Yes the furniture is modern old, and the rugs need to be replaced, which may help the stale (possibly old smoke) air about the place. But then again we were out most of the time and considering the time of year and the fact that big travel agencies use the property, we were quite pleased. We ate over in Bear Lodge the first morning, but were not impressed at all with the food, especially when considering the price. Make your own as we did, saves $$. Staff were also friendly and very helpful, especially the housekeeping staff which worked together cleaning. Bright energetic kids, polite as well. Walls are thin, but while we were there, our building was really quiet. oh and the laundry room had large machines, worked great, a dollar for washer or dryer. tokens and detergent get thru lobby desk. property is close to everything, including a good Italian Restaurant/pizza place. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodResort, Manager at Wedgewood Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our employees helpful—professional and courteous service is a priority for us! It’s actually a myth that our condominiums were built to house Alaska Pipeline personnel, as they didn’t open until the year the pipeline was finished. While the buildings are several decades old, we do update and maintain our furnishings, and rugs are replaced on a regular schedule. I would like to know the number of the suite you stayed in so I can address the odor you mentioned. It’s possible that a previous guest broke our No Smoking rule; if so, we will put the room through a deep cleaning. Please feel free to contact me directly. I would also love to know more about why our restaurant did not meet your expectations. We strive to offer a variety of high-quality choices on our menu, and I take complaints very seriously. I apologize that it did not meet your expectations.

Sincerely,
Shane Arnold, General Manager
(907) 452-1442
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room #108 Bear Lodge in mid-August. Quite large, very clean. Yes the bathroom could use a makeover amd the beds were overly bouncy but a great stay at a great price for summer season ($109/night). The resort grounds are incredibly beautiful with all the flowers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodResort, Manager at Wedgewood Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and were here when the resort’s gardens were at their peak. The wildflowers in our nature preserve are also lovely in August, so I hope you were able to enjoy those too. I apologize that our beds were not comfortable for you. Some guests comment that they are too firm, while others feel they are too soft, so it is challenge for us to accommodate everyone’s preferences. Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Shane Arnold, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This property has an overwhelming feeling of being either a former senior center or on the way to becoming and assisted living facility. The key word being "facility". This is a dated "resort" with rooms that have a slight camphor and bowling shoe scent. We were fortunate enough to be in Fairbanks while the weather was phenomenal (sunny and warm), however, this meant most guests seemingly could not handle the heat wave (high of 80 f) and were running their air conditioners non stop. The air conditioners were very loud and only added to the already
unpleasent experience.
To make matters worse, a front desk staff person who I came to know as "upside down Fred*" because he wore his name tag upside down. He clearly did not want to be at his job, giving me very curt answers to what I felt were genuine inquiries. His impudence seemed not in keeping with what I thought would be a decent property. The only nice people we encountered were other guests or the grounds keepers.
The queen bed was arguably a full size mattress. The shower was mediocre with a notable decrease in pressure when the room next door was either flushing thier toilet or using their shower.
Nice things to say: grounds are beautiful and the "resort" is in a good location.
Will not be returning to this property when we come back (which will be soon).
*Fred's name has been changed to protect his identity.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodResort, Manager at Wedgewood Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments about our grounds and location. Our grounds crew works hard to maintain our beautiful flowerbeds, lawns, 1.5 miles of nature trails, and wildlife sanctuary. I was perplexed to read, however, that you equated our resort with a senior center. The vast majority of our guests give us positive comments about the spacious accommodations. Each of our 750+ square-foot condominiums are furnished with amenities such as large-screen televisions, full-size kitchens and living rooms, high-speed broadband Internet, Alaskan artwork, and second televisions in the bedrooms—at or below the same rate other properties charge for a small hotel room. In addition to a wildlife sanctuary, outdoor history displays, gardens, art exhibits, and free movies, our resort features the #1 rated attraction for Fairbanks—the Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum. Resort guests receive half-price admission to the museum, and can ride our free shuttle to other visitor attractions in Fairbanks. No, we are not a traditional resort with a swimming pool and golf course, but we believe our unique, 105-acre property offers much more for guests to enjoy than a standard hotel.

I do want to apologize for “Fred” and assure you that we have addressed this matter. While we can’t control Fairbanks’s record-setting heat this summer and the need for other guests to run air conditioners, I would like to follow up on your comment about an unpleasant odor in your suite. Occasionally a guest violates our No Smoking rule, but because our condos are spread out across the resort, our staff does not encounter smoke odors as easily as they would while working in traditional hotel hallways. If you would contact me and let me know what suite you stayed in, I will personally check it and evaluate if it requires a deep cleaning. We take seriously our standards for maintaining impeccably clean rooms, and if your suite has a stale odor we will clean the rug and draperies right away.

Sincerely,
Shane Arnold, General Manager
(907) 452-1442
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was the final stay on our Princess Land tour post Alaska cruise. We were impressed by the cleanliness and size of the room, although not fancy. We did not use any of the amenities except the restaurant and the food there was fine although not extraordinary. We enjoyed having two sinks. Overall it was very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WedgewoodResort, Manager at Wedgewood Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I hope you enjoyed your Alaska cruise and land tour! We are happy to partner with Princess and are glad we could provide you with comfortable accommodations at the end of your trip. We only regret that you didn’t get to visit our popular museum and wildlife sanctuary. If you ever return to Fairbanks, we hope that you will budget time for those. I highly recommend a visit between now and next spring, as this is supposed to be a spectacular year for seeing the northern lights above Fairbanks. Our International Ice Art Championship in March is amazing to see, too.

Sincerely,
Shane Arnold, General Manager
(907) 452-1442
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wedgewood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wedgewood Resort

Address: 212 Wedgewood Drive, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wedgewood Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and TravelClick so you can book your Wedgewood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wedgewood Resort Fairbanks, Alaska
Wedgewood Hotel Fairbanks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wedgewood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.