We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home - best place to stay in Fairbanks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska to your Saves list
Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska
304 Badger Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701   |  
Hotel amenities
Anchorage
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home - best place to stay in Fairbanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We (two adults and one child) stayed at Al & Verna’s Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway for two nights on July 2 & 3, 2009. We are so glad to have found this bed & breakfast. Their excellent hospitality and comfortable room made our big annual summer trip absolutely memorable. Al’s knowledgeable, down-to-earth suggestions about out plans in Fairbanks, Verna’s scrumptious breakfast, and of course, we enjoyed the delightful conversations with them on various topics. Also, the guest room, pleasantly decorated with an essence of an early Laura Ashley style, in a quiet, well-maintained residential location, which is about 10 min. to downtown, is a great value. If you stay there, be sure to take a few-minute walk to the 1st Ave along the Chena River. Beaver sightings are guaranteed. Don't forget to visit Alaska Pipelines and Chena Hot Springs.
Al & Verna, please give our best regards to your family, especially to your grandchildren: “BFF” & “Godzilla rocks!” The Lees in Anchorage

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    13
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

My husband and I arrived in Fairbanks on 6th June with all intention to stay at the Ah Marie Rose, who according to The Lonely Planet was a good place to stay. We had driven for hours on end from Denali Park and were exhausted. John at the Marie Rose had no space and phoned up his friend Al Flemming at the Log Cabin. Al and Verna was just down the road and also within walking distance to downton. They had space. We booked three days but stayed for 5.

We arrived and two elderly people came to greet us. There are several types of accomodation. We opted for the Log cabin which is a house on its own with two rooms.
We took the biggest room. The house itself was beautifuly maintained with a kitchen and lovely lounge with TV and everything you would expect in a house. The fridge was very well stocked with cereal, muffins, spreads etc.
The house had one bathroom with shower/ bath. The whole house was very spacious.
Outsided was a lovely deck to sit on.

We were charged $85 a night. As you can imagine we were over the moon with this price. We had the house to ourselves as no one had booked the other room. Al even said we could use the bicycles for free, which he kindly left in the garage for us. He was very knowlegeable about Fairbanks and he helped us alot. After weeks on the road we often payed $90+ for most accomodation and that would just be a room on it own. With not half the amenities we had at this house.

The downtown was walkable, close by was Big daddy's, a restaurant that at first glance would make you wonder, but step inside, the food is wonderfull, because if your tastebuds have atropied after too long in the interior then they wil spring to life here. No frills food but tasty burgers, ribs etc at a reasonable price. If you are not accustomed to mexican food or do not like seafood there are good alternatives here.

Al and Verna never came to our house. We spoke with them when we saw them, but they generaly kept to themselves. Al did give us some Salmon and Halibut to try which he caught himself. After a day out and about it was great to come back and cook and sit on the couch and relax. The daytime hours was endless and we did experience an earthquake during our stay, however most people seem to be used to this.
Chena hot springs is just outside Fairbanks on a lovely road. Well worth a visit.

I have read some of the other reviews and must feel that I have to set a few things straight.

Over the whole we found Alaska a friendly place, with most Alaskans proud to talk about themselves, their towns and their lives. I think most Alaskans love meeting people as it is a short season tourist wise and that they enjoy meeting people as you can imagine in such a remote region. Al and Verna were no different and Al was very enthusiastic about Fairbanks and talking about Fairbanks. This was our experience with many people we met. The people are open, friendly and sincere - a breath of fresh air. We have never met so many friendly people during our travels. I think people should not always be so defensive/ irritable and have a more open mind and attitude.

Hopefully we will be back to stay at this wonderful place!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, AK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

My father stayed at Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway for a visit with us, as we were renting next door. Amazing service, cute place, great location and friendly hospitality. We are hoping to put my father and Uncle up at the Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway again this year. The owners are kind, wonderful people with generous hearts. We would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

Although we were needing a real hotel, everything was booked solid in Fairbanks.

While calling hotels, the Downtown Log Cabin came up as an option. We did not know it was a B&B, but we got the last room Alan and Verna had in their main house.

When we arrived, we were surprised to find it was a private home (we've never stayed in a B&B before), we are private people, and weren't very comfortable sharing a bathroom with strangers, but it was our only option, so we stayed.

We told Alan and Verna the situation, and they were so gracious, they worked so hard to try and find somewhere else for us to stay. I've never met nicer people.

The bed was very comfortable, and we slept well. The next morning's breakfast was delicious, made even more enjoyable by our conversation with our hosts. They know so much about this area, and helped us decide what to do and see.

Although the situation wasn't exactly what we were looking for, it was absolutely worth it to meet these great people.

If you like B&B's, you can't go wrong here, it's a quality location, close to everything, and the hosts are the best!

  • Liked — The hosts!
  • Disliked — Shared bath
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

My husband and I can't say enough about the wonderful stay we had with Allen and Verna Felming at the Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast. We arrived on a motorcycle after calling the B&B from the Fairbanks Visitor's Center. The Visitor's Center was very complementary regarding this specific B&B and since we had no advanced reservations we were very lucky that they were able to accommodate us. We were given the loft for one night before moving into the main house for our stay of over five days. The loft was comfortable and more that met our needs.

Allen is so knowledgeable about the surrounding areas that we just relied on his expertise to direct us to the best sights. He was helpful beyond our expectations.

Verna's breakfasts were varied and plentiful. Our room and the house as a whole was spotless.

We will definitely return to stay at the Downtown Log Cabin B&B the next time we are in Fairbanks, Alaska.

  • Liked — The entire experience was positive from start to finish- We loved the owners, the accommodations and the wonderful breakfast
  • Disliked — There were no negatives during our stay.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkel en Rodenrijs, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

we had a nice stay with Allen and Verna in Fairbanks. At our arrival, they both were at home and gave us a warm welcome. We were in one of the rooms in the main house, with a nice bed and enough space. The bathroom was nice and the price reasenable.
Allen is a man that likes to talk about Alaska and other topics. He can give a guest many good ideas. He brings it like you should visit something, rather than you could visit something. We chose our own way and had a great stay, visiting Cramer's Fiels and Chena Hot Springs (especially the road to the Springs, with many moose). The longer our stay became, the more the talks became serious about all kinds of subjects. At that moment, you start realising more and more that Allen is a nice man.
Verna is a nice woman that (logically) talks less than Allen. She cooks a great breakfast with fruit, pancakes, etc.

Both Allen and Verna tried their best (in their own way) to make us feel at home. We got a bottle of hot water to take along when we left (at other B&B's, we didn't even dare to ask) and could use the internet at any time.

  • Liked — The great breakfast
  • Disliked — In the beginning is Allen a bit too talkative.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

My husband and I just got back from Fairbanks Alaska. We stayed at a B&B, called "Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway". It was horrible,
1. They were suspose to pick us up at the airport, said to just call when we landed. We did, and they did not answer the phone, so we spent the night at the airport. Finally, at 5:30am someone showed up, and they wanted to charge for a full nights stay!!!!!!!!!!!
2. The owners tried to up the price of the room when we got there.
3. The owner, Allen Fleming, was cursing, yelling, degrading his guests the whole time we were there ( 9 nights), even taking the Lord's name in vein, many, many, many times.
4.Would not pick up trash or clean room
5. THE OWNER, ALAN FLEMING, CAME INTO OUR ROOM WITHOUT KNOCKING, OR CALLING OUT, I DID NOT HAVE ANY CLOTHES ON ONE DAY, HAD TO ASK, OR DEMAND HIM TO LEAVE.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apfvrf, owner at Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska, responded to this review, October 29, 2008
I feel that I must respond to this review.
This lady and her husband arrived in Fairbanks at 2:30 am. We had agreed that she would call me for a pick up when her plane arrived. I didn't want to wait for a late plane arrival at that time in the morning.
She arrived without my address or my correct phone number. She had no clue where my B and B was located.
After several hours, she found our number in an aiport brochure and called. I picked her up at 5:00 am and put her to bed. So...bad start. Incidently, no other B and B offers 2 am pickup. Just us.
She had agreed to stay in the loft of our garage for a reduced price. She understood that it was just that...a loft without a toilet. We had installed a porta potty. She had to use the house's bathroom. This was all agreed to far in advance. For this the price was greatly reduced.
Next...she insisted that she be allowed to use the main kitchen to cook. After taking over the kitchen for one evening, we asked her to
stop. The kitchen use wasn't part of the agreement. So feelings are hurt. We are off to a terrible start.
It was agreed that I could empty the porta potty daily. This was difficult because she was always there. The day in question...I felt that she was gone. I remember her husband leaving so I went up the stairs to empty the pot and she raised her head from the couch. All that was visible was her head but she began screeching.
The next day when she came to use the house toilet...she began screeching at me. I responded in kind and asked her to leave and gladly refunded her money for the remaining days. I don't know what she did for the remaining day but wherever she went, it likely was 4-5 times more than she was paying us.
I truely feel like we bent over backward for this lady and her response was so uncalled for. I feel that I was punished for trying to help this lady.
We had over 500 guests stay with us last summer and only one bad experience. Our prices are among the lowest in town and we even gave her a reduced price on top of that.
For this lady and for us...it wasn't fun at all.
I regret getting upset but her accusation of intuding on her privacy was so uncalled for.
Al and Verna....owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska

Address: 304 Badger Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 10 minute riverwalk from the center of old Fairbanks. We are a bed and breakfast offering two rooms in our main house, one apartment in a nearby building and the entire furnished two bedroom house across the street. We provide a full breakfast to the rooms in our house, continental breakfast in the apartment and stand alone house. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport or train station. We encourage use of our washer/dryer, internet and cable TV. The owners are retired Alaskan teachers who have lived here since 1975. One worked on the Alaskan Pipeline in the 1970's and has stories to tell. We also offer much information about what to see and do while in Fairbanks or northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed And Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska Hotel
Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway b&b - Fairbanks, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.