We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet place, helpful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska

Save Saved
You added Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska
304 Badger Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quiet place, helpful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Downtown Log Cabin isn't really downtown, but rather in a quiet residential neighborhood near downtown; and isn't really a log cabin, except for Al and Verna's house. Our room was the "studio apartment" next door in a 2-story building with the bathroom downstairs, bedroom/ kitchenette upstairs. If you can't climb stairs it won't work for you (and Al made sure we knew this when we booked). It was excellent for us: quiet, clean, spacious, with simple and tasteful decor; and instead of making breakfast, they stock your kitchen with breakfast foods and have the coffee pot all ready to switch on. Fridge, stove, microwave, electric tea kettle, adjacent laundry facilities (although the washer kept automatically starting a new cycle and we had to stand by and shut it off) ... and window shades to shut out the 24-hour midsummer sunshine at night. The shower had generous water pressure, lots of hot water, shampoo and conditioner. Al was super-helpful: he picked us up from the train and drove us to the car rental, the reverse at trip's end, and gave us a Fairbanks map with directions for everywhere we wanted to go. He is a little forgetful by his own admission, so do confirm plans before arriving!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
11
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you like a B&B where you make small talk with strangers at morning breakfast, and love the lacy floral decor prevalent in many B&Bs, this is not for you. If, like us, you prefer to take care of your own breakfast and have a nice straightforward room, check this place out.

We stayed in the studio apartment, which was clean, comfortable and well-stocked with breakfast and snack supplies. The best part was the service. Al & Verna took care of everything we needed, including picking us up and dropping us off at train depot and auto rental. They also gave us recommendations on where to stock up for a camping trip, and what to do in the area. Super helpful. I would have given it 5 stars except it isn't quite a 5-star establishment. But I would have given it 4 1/2 if that was possible, and it's such a good value that the little bit of non-elegance is totally worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Grove, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Here's a great deal for your money! The facilities and simple and modest but very compfortable. You will love the hosts! Al and Verna are warm, hospitable, and informative. I highly recommend the B&B!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast Megalopolis
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The owners of the Downtown Log Cabin are what make this such a pleasant experience. Al goes out of his way to get guests back and forth to the airport, and both of them are friendly, accommodating hosts. We liked the convenience of walking from the B&B to downtown and information that Al provides about Fairbanks. The units do not have A/C installed. In a city only a hundred miles south of the Arctic Circle, most people probably don't have A/C, but sometimes during the middle of summer it can get to 90+ degrees F. When it does, Al and Verna will position several fans in the room to keep the air moving. Also, in the summer you should bring plenty of bug repellent because the mosquitoes are unbelievable.

Room Tip: Email your plans and any last minute travel changes to Al.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I booked the two bedroom house on bookings.com. After I reserved the room the owner emailed me asking me to cancel that reservation and book it with him directly. I did what he asked and he confirmed our reservation a few weeks prior to our arrival, When we arrived he informed me the room was not available because my reservation showed up as cancelled. He forgot he asked me to cancel on bookings.com and book with him, He stated the room was no longer available but we could stay in his house the first night and he would find us a somewhere to stay the rest of the nights. As we discussed our options in the car we decided not to stay there because of the "creepy" feeling he gave me and the fact that the "logcabin hideaway" was not so hidden away and the neighborhood was not the greatest. Luckily, we found a much better place to stay. Would recommend being very careful when booking!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I extended our princess Alaskan vacation by one night and decided to spend it elsewhere, besides the princess lodge and I'm glad we chose the Downtown Log Cabin! We found the cabin with little difficulty, though we did have a rental car and gps. It is a little bit of a walk to downtown but it is in a quiet neighborhood. We were greeted warmly by Verna and Allen and showed to our newly renovated private room next to their main home. The private entrance was on the main level with a bathroom on that floor and then a staircase leading to the studio apartment. The king sized bed was a site to behold after spending the last 3 nights sharing a double bed! the kitchenette was uptodate and the mini fridge was full of items that we could use to make breakfast in the morning, including bagels, eggs, mill and juice. The room was a perfect size for the 2 of us and even had a futon so it could sleep 3. After showing us around Allen gladly sat down and gave us a map of the area, highlighting some of his favorite restaurants and sightseeing spots! We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed more! Thank you for such a wonderful way to end our vacation!
Rachel and Dustin Clark

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Al and Verna were great hosts! First, we arrived after 11pm and Al picked us up at the airport. Since our stay was short, he gave us a quick tour and some local history. Second, they made a lovely breakfast early the next morning and then Al drove us to the railroad station. Such a great service and made the start of our trip smooth and easy!
The B&B itself is simple and comfortable. We felt like we were staying with family. We were in one of the rooms in the main house. There is a shared bathroom with one other room; however, we had the place to ourselves for the one night. Would return in a heartbeat for an extended stay if we get back to Fairbanks!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska

Address: 304 Badger Street, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Specialty lodging in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 10 minute riverwalk from the center of old Fairbanks. We are a bed and breakfast offering two rooms in our main house, one apartment in a nearby building and the entire furnished two bedroom house across the street. We provide a full breakfast to the rooms in our house, continental breakfast in the apartment and stand alone house. We offer free shuttle service to and from the airport or train station. We encourage use of our washer/dryer, internet and cable TV. The owners are retired Alaskan teachers who have lived here since 1975. One worked on the Alaskan Pipeline in the 1970's and has stories to tell. We also offer much information about what to see and do while in Fairbanks or northern Alaska. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway b&b - Fairbanks, Alaska
Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed And Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Log Cabin Hideaway Bed and Breakfast - Fairbanks, Alaska, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.