We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic way to get to Denali from Fairbanks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McKinley Explorer

McKinley Explorer
Fairbanks, AK
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Fairbanks
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic railroad spanning 356 miles, from Fairbanks to Anchorage.
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to get to Denali from Fairbanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We took the McKinley Explorer from Fairbanks to Denali. The fall colors were just coming on so the trip was absolutely beautiful and amazing. I'm a amateur photo nut so I loved the fact that the staff would keep us posted where we were and to be ready for great photo opportunities. If you want to catch some zzzzz's that's possible too because the seats are very comfortable. Don't pass this opportunity up if you get the chance to add it to a Holland America tour.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    23
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We took the train from Fairbanks to Denali. The train was comfortable and the staff very attentive. The scenery was beautiful and the staff gave us a commentary on where we were and the high points. We had breakfast on the train and if you wanted it you could have reindeer sausage with your meal. The service was excellent, but being fat the seat was a little tight in the dining car. Well worth the money and time. This was part of our package.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Railroad Alaska ! WOW !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We LOVED the train ride ! So comfortable and we felt like royalty ! A must do when you're traveling in Alaska !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, NC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Top Drawer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Again, I can't say enough about Holland America's organizational skills. This was our last leg of the cruise/land tour from Denali Nat'l. Park to Fairbanks and what an experience. Comfortable as my lazy-boy chair and the view was spectacular. Late afternoon sun shining on the changing leaves and sparkling on the rivers and lakes was awesome. Didn't eat a meal in the lower level dining room but our friends did. They said it was the best salmon they ever had. Did have a Bloody Mary made by Debbie at her bar in the front of our car and it was great; not too hot, just right. All in all a wonderful experience and I suggest a trip on a dome train if you've never tried it. This one is owned by HAL and part of our package deal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great train, delicious food, super staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The train is comfortable and well appointed. The dining is superb but I only gave 4 stars because it is difficult for a person using a cane to go down the narrow spiral staircase to reach the restrooms and dining. We were lucky enough to have a clear day and I was able to take gorgeous photos of Mt. McKinley as well as many other scenic views. The guides on each car are well versed in history and knowledgable about the area. They told us of things coming up that we might want to photo and let us know in advance when good vantage points were coming up. We rode the train from Seward to Anchorage where we stayed overnight, then to Denali Park. After our stay in Denali, we rode from Denali to Fairbanks on the train. It's a great way to see interior Alaska.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McKinley Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McKinley Explorer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.