We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good explanation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Dredge No. 8

Gold Dredge No. 8
1803 Old Steese Hwy N, Fairbanks, AK 99712
+1 907-457-6058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 49 Activities in Fairbanks
Type: Educational Sites, Historic Sites, Mines, Sightseeing Tours
Activities: Dig (archeology), Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join the Binkley family for a trip through Alaska's gold mining history at Gold Dredge 8. Enjoy a close up view of the Trans Alaska Pipeline and a presentation about it's construction and operation. Then take a seat aboard a replica of the narrow-gauge Tanana Valley Railroad and hear the conductor tell tales of prospectors who arrived by the thousands during the gold rush. The train ride takes you to Gold Dredge 8 where you will see first-hand how the dredge worked the gold fields, then receive a brief but informative course on gold panning. Once the train arrives at the camp, you will try panning for yourself! You will find gold- we guarantee it! Finally, explore the dredge camp and enjoy complimentary coffee and freshly baked cookies in the gift shop as your gold is weighed, then hop aboard the train and return to the station.
Fort Benning, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good explanation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

They explain the how gold panning has evolved thru the years while they take you around on a train. Then they drop you off at a little gold panning station to shift thru your rock bag. Everyone will find a flake or two of gold after working on their stash for about 20 minutes. Then you are allowed to wander thru the gift shops before your train is ready to move on. The cruise ships bring their passengers by the bus load.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    185
    37
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Loved it, got some gold.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Well we stopped in on advice from a local, I must admit I had a great time, but anything gold interests me.

The panning was fun my wife and I got about $40 in gold, not bad! I had a gret look through the dredge, amazing.

The fresh cookies were awsome. The train ride is great and the entertainment top notch.

A tip, your poke finished scrape the gravel from the bottom of the trough it has all the gold novices have washed out of their pans, make sure you get down to the bottom.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You get to go on a steam train which takes your slowly round the mining area, with plenty of guys out showing you how it used to work. You can pan for gold and actually keep it. Best of all for my hubby he got to spend some time exploring the Dredge itself, which was pretty awesome. This is an exceptional tour

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Entertaining tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Don't think I would go back but I enjoyed our time there. The drive from Fairbanks was scenic, we saw the oil pipeline and we found a few dollars worth of gold in our pans. Mining played a huge part in the settlement of this area, so the dredge is a worthwhile stop.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fun excursion!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

To be truthful, i didn't think it was going to be very good, possibly just very cheesy, but i was pleasantly surprised by the information and it was quite fun. only downside was it seemed a bit expensive.. but a lot of things seemed that way in fairbanks. anyway, the tour starts with bit of information on the trans-alaskan pipeline, then you board a "train" to the dredge. along the way you hear some more history on the dredge and alaskan gold mining, you also get some musical entertainment too! then you get a bag of pay dirt and pan for gold. we both got about 9 dollars each worth of gold, but a few ppl did get some nuggets. they weigh your gold for you and you can put it in a locket if you want (extra cost)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Dredge No. 8 also viewed

 

Been to Gold Dredge No. 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Dredge No. 8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.