We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boring” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alaskaland - Pioneer Park

Alaskaland - Pioneer Park
Fairbanks, AK
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$99*
and up
Alaskan Heritage Tour in Fairbanks
Ranked #13 of 30 Attractions in Fairbanks
Type: Historic Walking Areas, Amusement/ Theme Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the purchase of Alaska from Russia, this theme part includes a mock gold-rush town with authentic pioneer log cabins, mining equipment, musems, a replicated Native American village and a huge, drydocked sternwheeler open for tours.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I don't really understand how this place is entertaining. It is a good place to walk the dog or bring your kids to play on the playground. Other than that, not much there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    130
    65
    20
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Cute and quaint. Has old homes and stores from all over Fairbanks that have been relocated. My children enjoyed it and they were learning about the history of Fairbanks in the process. There are two small playgrounds as well, which helps when you have small children. Please be aware that almost all the stores shut down after Labor Day, which is sad; they should leave it open at least until October.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I think it's a little different every year because some of the vendors change. It's always decorated nicely with flowers and it has a lot of Fairbanks history. It's a great place to take visiting company for free.

Visited August 2012

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We enjoyed our visit. We were early in the season. The first part of June. But most shops were open and prices were not too bad. We did not eat any food there. We did visit one of the ice cream shops. A little high priced for the size of the bowl of ice cream. Sorry don't remember the name of the place.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A different country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Experience "northern Alaskan" thinking and impressive real size condo's. Fun time for kids too at little play park. Nice old pics and actual garments as reminder of lifestyle forgotten. Impossible not to buy something to take home...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alaskaland - Pioneer Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alaskaland - Pioneer Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.