We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice HIE- But Remember You Are In The Interior Of Alaska” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Merhar Ave, New Property, Fairbanks, AK 99701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Fairbanks
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice HIE- But Remember You Are In The Interior Of Alaska”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the HIE in Fairbanks. I try to stay in HIE hotels most of the time for my travels. I am originally from Alaska, so I am used to the logistics it takes to visit in the winter time, but the folks I was traveling with were not!

Sometimes parking in the winter can be a challenge due to snow berms...sometimes fresh fruit is hard to come by...and sometimes Milk is not put out for breakfast because it is too dang expensive for a "free" breakfast.

The hotel is nice and clean. My room was nice, and the heater worked well. The staff were very nice and our housekeeper was friendly too. I have no complaints at all, and am looking forward to staying when I visit Fairbanks again next month.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Brando09,

Thank you for your nice review and I am glad you were, but what brought you to Fairbanks in February? Thanks again for the review and I hope your second stay was as good as your first and that if your travels ever bring you up this way again, you will again choose the Holiday Inn Express, Fairbanks. We appreciate you and your business. Thank you again!

Warm Regards,

Lloyd Huskey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    54
    19
    10
    7
See reviews for
42
42
17
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eagle River, Alaska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice, neat, clean, okay location. King suite was very nice and roomy. The location is in a shopping mall plaza, facing a Sports Authority. So no location ambiance. Small exercise room. Nice pool. Good fresh breakfast. Located in convenient shopping area. No "Alaska views", so get out and have some fun. Recommend Chena Lake Recreation area for a good swim on a hot day or a bike ride around the lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear DoreenOP

Thank you for your kind and honest review of our hotel. There are a lot of properties to choose from when you come to Fairbanks in the summer and I am glad you chose the Holiday Inn Express, Fairbanks. We appreciate your business and hope that if your travels bring you up north again you will again stay with us.

Thanks Again,

Warm Regards,

Lloyd Huskey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is quite nice. It appears to be very new. Everything was good. The only drawback was the hotel does not have a lounge and there isn't a lounge that is real close (the closest one I found was Boston's - separate review). Yes, it is expensive as is most everything in Fairbanks, but still, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Head2Hawaii,

Thank you for your kind review. Things are expensive up here during the summer. I know you had a lot of choices of where to stay while you were in Fairbanks and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express.

Lloyd, Huskey, General Manager

PS We are hoping for a wing place to open up where Chilis used to be nearby. I hope that if your travels bring you back to Fairbanks, you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for 4 days before my Cruise Tour with Princess started. Our room overlooked a Vet clinic and highway. It was daylight all the time but the curtains did a good job blocking the daylight out. Breakfast was great, they did have a few days without cinnamon buns and I would have liked to have had cheese eggs more often than only once during my stay. The room was very clean and comfortable. I had a rental car and this hotel was in an ideal location for my group of 3 and nearby stores.

The only complaint that I had was that I had 3 nights with another night using my points. I was told at the desk that was no problem and was to combine all 4 nights, so I didn’t have to move rooms. At the beginning of Day 4, I received a bill for check out for 3 days. I went to the desk and asked about my free night, I was told they would take care of it. Day 5 and I received another bill for a full 4 days and no points awarded for day 4. I had a time at the desk as I had to search for email to confirm that I had 1 night with points. This took a while to get fixed and the clerk did her best but needed more of a professional attitude. There seemed to be a communication issue among staff. Overall the issue was fixed but it shouldn’t have gone to that point.

Again, I love staying at Holiday Inn and plan to return to this hotel when I’m in Fairbanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear TravelingMedTech,

Thank you for your kind review. Also thank you for your comments regarding the billing and front desk. I am glad that we got this resolved for you but do sincerely apologize that it should have been taken care of the first time around.

I am glad to hear that if you are in the area that you will stay with us again. If you are back in the area and choose to stay with us, Please let me know and I would love to have a cup of coffee with you.

Thank you again for your review and for choosing the Holiday Inn Express, Fairbanks

Lloyd Huskey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Good: The front desk was very accommodating and the breakfast saved us about $30/day in eating out. The prices for restaurant meals in Fairbanks are outrageous and the quality wasn't all that good. Salads, vegetables, and fresh fruits are generally missing from the menu, just burgers, fries, & fried fish.

The Bad: Housekeeping staff was the worst. We came back to our room late one afternoon and found our door was left ajar & not even latched! The cleaning staff just walked off leaving all our valuables exposed for theft. In 8 days, our room was never completely clean; towels & TP often missing. Sheets not changed, rings around the bathtub. Counter tops not wiped down. Puzzling!

1. We arrived at 1:30AM on July 4th. It was not so good. We had purchased a room with 2 queen beds and instead received a room with a single king. I went down and explained the situation and the front desk was able to give us a two queen room due to a "no show". 2. Front Desk was did their best and was accommodating. 2. Breakfast was filling, but daily equipment failures made pancakes an "iffy" thing. We would have liked some fresh fruit other than over ripe bananas. 3. Housekeeping was very bad. The issues with housekeeping continued on daily basis. 4. Location of the hotel was very good, close to WALMART, gas stations, & MickeyDees. 5. We had daily issues with our room keycard, which would work in the morning but not in the evening. 6. Parking was adequate but generally the lot was full as was the hotel. The housekeeping staff was the worst and most inconsistent that I have ever encountered. Our complaints about the housekeeping staff were generally mirrored by most of the guests staying there at the time. I would stay at the hotel, again, BUT only if they would fire their entire housekeeping staff and replace them with folks with a strong work ethic. The housekeeping is why I gave it a poor rating.

Room Tip: If you can, choose a room facing the front of the hotel and not above the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Owassoram,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry the housekeeping efforts were not up to your expectations. While it was true we were experiencing staffing difficulties in housekeeping at that time, that is not an excuse for poor service. We have bolstered our housekeeping staff and I hope that if your travels ever bring you back to Fairbanks that your will give us another try so we can show you that your experience was an anomaly and not the norm. I hope that we can retain your business and I do truly thank you for your review and hope that you will give us another try and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express, Fairbanks.

Lloyd Huskey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lander, Wyoming, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A bit pricey typical of Alaska, but this hotel was great. Our two queen rood was $199 - but even the Super 8 would have been $174. I have to get used to these prices in AK in July - but even with that I liked this hotel. Very friendly and knowledgable staff. The guest laundry was very useful after three days of camping. The room was big enough to setup our tent to dry out!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear John W.

Thank you for taking the time to review an your kind words regarding our hotel. I am glad we were able to accommodate your needs and Glad you chose to stay with us. If your travels ever bring you back to Fairbanks, I hope that you will stay with us gain.

Warm regards,

Lloyd Huskey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel is very hard to find and breakfast was a joke. Didn't even have any milk and all the coffee pots were empty. I talked to manager and she just shook her head. The guy running the breakfast room was rude. Beautiful new hotel that is being run terribly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Retired Queen,
I do sincerely and humbly apologize for your breakfast experience. Our regular breakfast person was on vacation and the replacement just did not live up to your or our standards. I am sorry it affected your stay.
I hope that if your travels ever bring you back to Fairbanks, you give me a call directly and I will set you up in a room and show you that we do know how to properly operate a hotel.

Again, My apologizes.

Lloyd Huskey, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks

Address: 400 Merhar Ave, New Property, Fairbanks, AK 99701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fairbanks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the New Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks. The newest hotel addition to Fairbanks area. Ideally located the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Fairbanks is adjacent to dining shopping and entertainment.Guests of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks, will find this beautifully appointed, state of the art hotel to be well situated for visits to attractions such as Carlson Center, Historic Downtown Fairbanks, and the University of Alaska.Our business travelers will love our hotel s proximity to Boeing, and First National Bank of Alaska.We offer 114 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including suites equipped with deluxe new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and wired/wireless high-speed Internet access. This newly constructed hotel also features an indoor pool, whirlpool, exercise room, business center, and meeting room. Ask about our Free Airport Shuttle Service 24/7. The next time travel takes you to Fairbanks Alaska , Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fairbanks Alaska! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Fairbanks
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Fairbanks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.