We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B, walking distance of downtown, great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Richard Johnston Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richard Johnston Inn
Save Saved
You added Richard Johnston Inn to your Saves list
711 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save on 2 or more nights!
Ranked #3 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Nice B&B, walking distance of downtown, great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

1 minor issue, overall very nice, and we would return.

We booked the William Riley suite in the Caroline House for President's Day Weekend. The RJ House is more centrally located, but from what I saw, I like the decor in the Caroline House better. This is a bit more private, as we only saw the other guests 1 time. The only drawback to location could be the Fire Engine, which luckily we only heard during the daytime. The Caroline House is very near the train station, but at the far end of the main shopping area. It's too far to walk to the battlefields, but not the restaurants and antique shops.

The one issue, which resulted from not receiving a 2nd confirmation email from the B&B that gave instructions to tell them our arrival time. Not knowing this, we arrived at check-in time, but there was no answer. After a few minutes out in the cold, We called the main phone at the RJ house. The manager explained that she was working both houses, and would be there in 3 min. 20 min later she showed up (due to another phone call and 2 other couples arriving at RJ house). She was very apologetic, and obviously a bit stressed about running both houses on such a busy weekend. This could've been avoided if, like most other B&Bs, we got a call or another email asking to verify arrival time (Although with 3 couples arriving at the same time, I'm not sure our wait would've changed), or they had hired a weekend manager for the Caroline House until the primary manager returned in 3 mos. If staying at the Caroline House, verify that someone will be there when you arrive so you don't end up like us, standing out in the cold.

The Caroline House had lovely decorations on the front door, and the interior was nicely decorated. The Manager explained that, again because of the other manager's absence, we could have breakfast at the RJ house (8-9am) or get a voucher for a restaurant (11:30am). We choose the voucher. There were plenty of chocolates, cookies, tea and coffee in the kitchen. Our suite was on the 1st floor, on what appears to have been the original porch. There were 3-4 steps down into the sitting room, which had a work desk, reading chair & lamp, civil war chess set, large bookcase, and two armchairs with ottomans in front of the gas fireplace & TV (wall mounted). The manager also had a Valentine's Day treat for us, several chocolate covered fruits and a bottle of sparkling wine. There was also a door exiting to the street.

The bedroom was large w/king bed and another armchair. The ceiling lights were on dimmers, and the fireplace looks thru to the sitting room, with another wall mounted TV above. Controls for both TV and CD/DVD players are in the bedroom. They have DVDs you can uses, which we took advantage of. A small door leads out to the courtyard from the bedroom. There is a slight safari feel to the room with giraffe print accents/towels. There is a big corner jetted tub and 2 vanities. The shower room has a bidet and toilet. The closet has the hairdryer. The only improvement I would suggest is another set of towels for the tub, as towels are only next to the shower - a minor inconvenience if you forget beforehand.

If we go back to Fredericksburg, we would definitely stay again in the same room, and would call to let them know when we were arriving.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie D, General Manager at Richard Johnston Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am glad these guests enjoyed their visit and we would love to have them return. This was a very busy weekend and we had staffing issues with help, front desk personnel and with both houses filled.
It does state on your confirmation letter that as you are coming into town, to please call us and we will have someone waiting for you at the Caroline House.
Thank you for your review and on your return, we will have corrected check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    43
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
33
141
18
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The William Riley Suite at 528 Caroline Street is totally wheelchair accessible. The entrance is off the sidewalk on Wolfe Street (no steps or lips). All the doorways are 36" and there is a roll in shower. There only three rooms at this address and the execution is drop dead gorgeous. This must have been a $1 million museum quality restoration and was completed by a designer consultant. We only stayed a night, but it should have been a week. Fredericksburg is a lovely small town to explore. The receptionist, Laura, from 711 Caroline Street was most kind and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

lindsey, i think her name was? was aloof, and very unwelcoming, room waws dirty and breakfast was just average at best. liked old town fredericksburg, but will stay somewhere else next time. the place looks like it hasnt been updated in a long time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnie D, General Manager at Richard Johnston Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
As always, we are upset when a guest has not enjoyed their stay. However, I question this review because the Richard Johnston Inn has been freshly painted, the rooms have undergone redecorating and refurbishing with new beds etc. The room they stayed in was not mentioned.
Quality and service is and always has been our main concern.
If ProudVirginian would like to give us a call, we will gladly discuss their visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was my favorite on my March South as I prefer a larger Inn to a smaller B&B. The room was wonderful and bed very comfortable. The service was nice and helpful. Great location in middle of business district.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our first stay on a trip to visit family. We stayed in the Kitchen House. We had pre-arranged for a late arrival on our first night. We received excellent directions and had no problem finding the Inn. Our room was ready for our check-in with a nice welcome letter. The room was spotless and very pretty and the beds were extremely comfortable. We had to leave before breakfast the first morning and arrived back late in the evening to find fresh towels and refreshed amenities. Our second morning we had a delightful time at breakfast with our wonderful hostess, Laura and the other guests. The gourmet breakfast was tasty and well-prepared. This was a great experience and I see why the Inn has great reviews. We are looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laconia, nh
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our 2nd stay in 5 years was just as nice as the first, but I have to admit to being a bit disappointed by the quality of the breakfast. The coffee was OK, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal, but the main course was micro-waved belgian waffles. Although they had a wonderful fruit sauce on top, and nice whipped cream, they were clearly packaged, and an amazing-quality establishment like this should never do that. Besides the wonderful Christmas decorations, the Innkeeper, Bonnie, is always pleasant, hospitable, and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again despite the micro-waved breakfast, a truly quality find in historic Fredericksburg.

Room Tip: We like the Slave Kitchen, it is gorgeous, and off the main drag, behind the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Inn is beautifully decorated for holidays with a Christmas tree in each room. Bonnie is a wonderful hostess, and provides an amazing gourmet breakfast. Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed. Fredricksburg is great place to visit with its quaint little shops and wonderful history. I highly recommend staying in Fredericksburg and at the Richard Johnston Inn..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richard Johnston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard Johnston Inn

Address: 711 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Taylow, architect, and one of the original signers of The Declaration of Independence, constructed this unique, upscale 18th century Inn in 1770. In the 1800’s, it served as the home of the mayor of Fredericksburg, Richard Johnston. The award winning Inn offers seven beautifully appointed guest rooms, 2 suites and caters to small, intimate weddings and other special events in our courtyard or parlors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richard Johnston Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard Johnston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.