We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard Johnston Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richard Johnston Inn
Save Saved
You added Richard Johnston Inn to your Saves list
711 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was my favorite on my March South as I prefer a larger Inn to a smaller B&B. The room was wonderful and bed very comfortable. The service was nice and helpful. Great location in middle of business district.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    40
    11
    11
    4
See reviews for
29
125
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Our first stay on a trip to visit family. We stayed in the Kitchen House. We had pre-arranged for a late arrival on our first night. We received excellent directions and had no problem finding the Inn. Our room was ready for our check-in with a nice welcome letter. The room was spotless and very pretty and the beds were extremely comfortable. We had to leave before breakfast the first morning and arrived back late in the evening to find fresh towels and refreshed amenities. Our second morning we had a delightful time at breakfast with our wonderful hostess, Laura and the other guests. The gourmet breakfast was tasty and well-prepared. This was a great experience and I see why the Inn has great reviews. We are looking forward to another visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laconia, nh
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our 2nd stay in 5 years was just as nice as the first, but I have to admit to being a bit disappointed by the quality of the breakfast. The coffee was OK, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal, but the main course was micro-waved belgian waffles. Although they had a wonderful fruit sauce on top, and nice whipped cream, they were clearly packaged, and an amazing-quality establishment like this should never do that. Besides the wonderful Christmas decorations, the Innkeeper, Bonnie, is always pleasant, hospitable, and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again despite the micro-waved breakfast, a truly quality find in historic Fredericksburg.

Room Tip: We like the Slave Kitchen, it is gorgeous, and off the main drag, behind the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Inn is beautifully decorated for holidays with a Christmas tree in each room. Bonnie is a wonderful hostess, and provides an amazing gourmet breakfast. Our room was very clean with a comfortable bed. Fredricksburg is great place to visit with its quaint little shops and wonderful history. I highly recommend staying in Fredericksburg and at the Richard Johnston Inn..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our second visit to RJ Inn. The location is perfect for us. We love the small town, historic feel with a bit of shopping and restaurants. We don't need an night life, just a place to grab a few drinks, a meal and nice place to stay. That is exactly what we got. (During our first visit, the Inn was just and clean and beautiful, but the employees didn't engage in conversations. It was nice to have them this visit as that is what sets a B & B apart from a hotel.)

We arrived Friday night by a sweet woman, can't recall her name, but gave us pointers for dinner. The Inn was already decorated for the holidays and it was so sweet. Beautifully decorated trees throughout and one tree donned personal ornaments...making it a better place to stay.

The Loft is a two story room with a living room/tv/fridge downstairs and the bedroom upstairs. It was exactly what we needed. A quiet night in just enjoying the company of each other.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This Inn is beautiful! We stayed in "Olivia's room" which was charming and had a wonderful view of the town. If you are a light sleeper, you may prefer a different room because this one is by the stair case, which creeks as people walk by.

The breakfast was delicious! The inn has a Keurig coffee machine available at all hours so you can easily prepare yourself a delicious cup of coffee when you arrive. There were also fruits and cookies available all day. Yum!

The location is perfect. Across the street is the Visitor Center where you can purchase a pass for all of the wonderful attractions in the area. I really enjoyed the tours of the various sites!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the inn on our way to Hilton Head to get married. We arrived late at night, but we were left the keys and a welcoming note to our room. The room was clean and comfortable. It felt like home. We woke in the morning to the smell of an egg casserole and homeade apple cake. Bonnie greeted us with hot coffee and a smile. What a great way to kick off our wedding week!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richard Johnston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard Johnston Inn

Address: 711 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Taylow, architect, and one of the original signers of The Declaration of Independence, constructed this unique, upscale 18th century Inn in 1770. In the 1800’s, it served as the home of the mayor of Fredericksburg, Richard Johnston. The award winning Inn offers seven beautifully appointed guest rooms, 2 suites and caters to small, intimate weddings and other special events in our courtyard or parlors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richard Johnston Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard Johnston Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.