We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very dog friendly place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg
2205 Plank Road, I-95 Exit 130 A, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-5226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“A very dog friendly place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We needed a place to stay with our dog on our way back from NY to NC as the traffic was horrible and the weather was bad. On a whim I called Best Western and a room was available and they accepted dogs, with just a $10 fee. What a Godsend! The hotel was clean and comfortable and inexpensive. The staff was pleasant and the front desk clerk indicated that there was a park for us to walk our dog in behind the hotel, which was really nice. The breakfast was great and we will definitely stay at a Best Western again, especially since they welcome dogs. Thank you! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are so glad you and your dog were able to find us!, but sorry about that horrible traffic on I-95!. Thank you for your review also , we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    110
    38
    8
    5
See reviews for
111
83
31
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My stay began with an interrogation by the manager. I had booked a room for two people, but he questioned why I would want two room keys. The older room was pretty clean except for a couple of foul smelling pillows. I booked this place for the breakfast and it was quite good--filling and tasty. The check-in area and breakfast bar had been remodeled, unlike the rest of the facility. Once I told people where I was staying, I found out that this motel did not have a good reputation among the locals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
I wonder if you have the correct hotel, as this is absolutely untrue. We are a family owned hotel and have so for over 30 years, and our reputation is very positive in our community. We don't question our quests in the number of room keys they request, we simply ask them how many they would like.
I hope that should you stay here, you will ask to see me so I may ensure your stay is a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

We needed a place to stay on our way home from Florida and found this gem on TripAdvisor. It's clean, comfortable and inexpensive. The breakfast is incredible, from Danish to eggs and bacon. The staff was pleasant and helpful despite our late night arrival. Although it's right off the highway we were not troubled by any noise.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Please stop in again! Thank you for taking the time to give a review, we are always trying to improve, so come again and see what's new!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was my first visit to this Best Western and I am pretty sure I will be back. Despite being an older style hotel (all rooms open to the outside), the building and grounds were well maintained and the front desk staff were friendly. They are pet friendly and had no issue finding a room for me and my black lab. There is a $10 pet fee in addition to the room cost, but I didn't find this to be unreasonable. There is also an open park type area at the rear of the property that is perfect for walking your pup. The continental breakfast was nice, and there are several other restaurants within a block or two.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Manager at BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
So glad you stayed with us, please come again, maybe on your next visit we can recommend some sites to see, or things to do in the area, or simply just come and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This Best Western located behind Shoney's (there is another Best Western on the same road in Fredericksburg) is really, really nice. Clean, updated, friendly, rocking chairs on the porch and you couldn't ask for a better breakfast bar. Bacon, eggs (scrambled & hard-boiled), sausage & biscuits, waffles, cereal, toast, bagels, yogart, fruit - I'm sure I am missing something! And the attendant is constantly out re-supplying with fresh and keeping everything spiffy. When everything is perfect, she walks around to make sure all the customers are happy. We keep going back to this Best Western every year when we are there for the holidays. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Manager at BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
thank you for posting your review , We would LOVE TO SEE YOU AGAIN!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night here and were very happy with the cleanliness and appointments in the room.
The motel does get a little murmuring traffic noise as it overlooks a major road, bit this was remedied by turning on the fan in the room. The motel is 10 mins drive from the Amtrak station and a plethora of restaurants are within easy walking distance.

Only disappointments were the breakfast, which contrary to what some people have said was more 'extended continental' than a full hot breakfast service (there was two hot options and a spread of cereal and baked items), and that the reception area wasn't staffed by dogs (though the human staff in attendance did an excellent job). We'd stay again if ever we returned to Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
thanks for giving us a try, I'm sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast offerings, and we'll keep working to improve on it!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg

Address: 2205 Plank Road, I-95 Exit 130 A, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-5226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fredericksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#13 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fredericksburg Hotel Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Fredericksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.