We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine for a quick stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Central Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Central Plaza Hotel
3000 Plank Road, Fredericksburg, VA 22401 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine for a quick stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

We booked two rooms for a night on our way from Pittsburgh to OBX. The hotel seemed to be our best option -- right off 95 and cheap (total for two rooms was $120 including tax, etc.). When we pulled up, I was a bit concerned -- it's a motel set up that looked rather questionable in the dark. The entry and lobby area is small and not overly nice. Our room, however, was large and clearly recently renovated. I thought it was quite nice for the price. The room had a fridge, which we found convenient.

There's a recent review which says the continental breakfast requires work -- I couldn't disagree more. Considering the small set up space, I was really impressed with the offerings -- coffee, juice, milk, bagels, cereal, butter, cream cheese, toast, jelly, pastries, sausage muffins (being from a southern family but living in the north -- this was a fun surprise to me!), scrambled eggs, and some fruit. I'm not quite sure what else you could want from a place that's 60/room/night!

Overall, the place is exactly as advertised and a super deal. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    92
    36
    11
    10
See reviews for
79
83
33
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

The service was good, the room was clean and average. Good for a one night stay. If you plan on going somewhere else for breakfast this hotel is perfect. The continental breakfast here is lousy. Theres like 3 tables in their tiny lobby, all of them were taken and hardly any food left. If you want a nice continental included breakfast, pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

We stopped here for the second year in a row driving from Western New York to Florida. We have had no problems with this hotel. It's very convenient to the highway, clean and quiet. The front desk/office staff are polite and efficient. The breakfast isn't the greatest, but there are cereals, juice, coffee. The room was clean, the bathroom fine. For a one night stop, it was great for us. There are gas stations and stores right within a short distance and it's quick and easy to get right back on the highway.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

My husband and I travel fairly frequently, and this hotel is one of the best we've ever stayed in. The front desk person was friendly and professional. The room was not only clean, but spotless, and the beds were very comfortable, with a pillow top mattress as an added bonus. We didn't partake of the free continental breakfast, but the breakfast area was busy with others who did, and the fruit looked nice and fresh. We highly recommend this Best Western to any and all visiting the Fredericksburg area.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

I was booked in here for a job interview. The room was dingy, and clean-ish at best. They promised wireless internet, but my room didn't have any. Not a good choice - I'd never return.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Nice comfortable room at a great price. Our room was located away from the main street and was quiet. TV reception was poor.

  • Liked — Great value for the money
  • Disliked — Poor TV reception
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

I stayed at this hotel with my fiance for a week in June 2007. Although I had initially booked a room with two queen-sized beds (we like the extra space), we were given a room with one bed. The room was otherwise so small and cramped that we had no space to spread out our belongings. And even with the lights on and the curtains open, the room seemed very dark. Overall, it just felt very claustrophobic. The room was also very, very damp. Sure it's June in Virginia, but I would expect the hotel staff to keep the rooms dry. The sheets, my clothes, and all my papers felt damp and disgusting. On top of that, it was seriously buggy in the room. Flies and gnats EVERYWHERE! The location is less than desirable. Because it is directly across from Central Park, the traffic is awful. It was a major headache fighting traffic to get into Fredericksburg everyday. Sure there are 40+ restaurants right there, but I'd rather be closer to the non-chain restaurants in the heart of the city. The exterior of the hotel was also dingy. The lobby was nicely renovated, however, and the staff was friendly enough.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Location, Room Quality
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Hotel

Address: 3000 Plank Road, Fredericksburg, VA 22401 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fredericksburg
#8 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Central Plaza Hotel Fredericksburg
Best Western Hotel Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.