We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Central Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Central Plaza Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Plank Road, Fredericksburg, VA 22401 (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I stopped for one night while traveling to Florida. Based upon all of the reviews we read I was not expecting much. We were very surprised however with our stay. We checked in late and the front desk person was helpful, quick and informed us of the morning breakfast available. Our room, while not new, was clean and neat. The flat screen TV had many channels, and the bed and pillows were just right. The big surprise was the breakfast. It is served in the small hotel lobby and seating is very limited. However, the food selection was terrific for a free hotel breakfast. There was a person there keeping everything fresh and full. The breakfast included eggs, bacon, sausage sliders, cereal, yogurt, donuts, breads, juice, fresh fruit, and more. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Owner at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for your business, we are very happy you had a great experience and a good breakfast while here. Please come by again , and if we can improve in any way, please let us know!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    92
    36
    11
    10
See reviews for
79
83
33
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Enroute from Florida to New York State this was a fine hotel for an overnight. This is an older hotel but has been updated and we found it comfortable. The "lobby" seemed to serve as the breakfast area with only a couple of small tables....definitely not sufficient for the number of rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Owner at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank You for your review, and for your business. We do have a very small lobby, but we do try to offer a larger variety of items that arent typically found at a continental breakfast. We also keep our prices at a point to offer the greatest value. We hope you will stop in again soon!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Agatha, Maine
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Driving from New Hampshire to South Florida this was my first overnight stop. Very quiet, restful hotel. I had no time to peruse the property as I arrived late and departed early.
The check in/check out front desk personnel were friendly and efficient, the room met my expectations and no problems were encountered.
I would stay at this Best Western again.

Room Tip: The back building is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is a hidden jewel!, the staff were the most friendly I have encountered in a long time. The hotel is great value, I didn't expect too much based on price, but I couldn't have been happier! . There is a beautiful mall and Townes center right behind the hotel but I didn't hear any noise . It's was so quiet. There is also a shopping Mecca across the street with what seems like 100 stores and restaurants. My room was spotless! I think I could still smell the bleach cleaner ( made me happy ) I saw the housekeeper using some kind of " black light thing" , when I asked what it was she said it was a sterilizing wand!! Wish I had for my home!!! . I will be back for sure if I'm ever in the area again. Keep up the good work.... You can tell everyone there really cares about their place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Owner at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for trusting us for your hotel needs, and for your review. We truly appreciate your bussiness!. We do infact use a bleach based cleaner and the sanitizing wands for such things as the telephone, remote, toilet handle, and most touched items. We hope you will return as you are very important to our family bussiness!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently attended the civil war commemoration of the Battle of Chancellorsville and stayed at this hotel for three nights in the beginning of May 2013. It is located off of I-95 but far enough back that the highway noise is not a bother. The motel consists of a separate lobby building and two buildings with rooms. It was clean, quiet, and reasonably priced. It had a small fridge and microwave in the room and was conveniently located across from Central Park where there is a variety of top name shopping and dining venues. The hotel desk was very friendly and helpful. The lobby breakfast included the usual cereal and donuts but also scrambled eggs, bacon, and pancakes. Because the lobby is small, they also provided trays so you could take your breakfast back to your room for convenience. I will be returning to the area for future battle commemorations and plan to stay here again. I highly recommend it to travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Owner at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us while you were visiting the many civil war sites, we hope you enjoyed the reenactment! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to your return!. Please let us know if we can improve in anyway on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed there on April 28, 2013 for the night. Honestly, at first sight, I was nervous. It looks a little seedy, but once we opened the door, I was EXTREMELY happy! Lots of space, flat screen tv, comfortable bed with lots of fluffy pillows and there was more than enough room to perfectly fit my daughter's pack and play. The hotel is Incredibly convenient to a plethora of shopping and places to eat, including a large grocery store! The fridge in the room is big and the room itself was very clean! There is also a coin operated washer and driver on the first floor. The breakfast in the morning was small, but delicious and hit the spot. We will definitely be back again in the future!!! Highly recommend staying here!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Manager at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are so pleased you found us!, we hope you will return, and get a chance to look around Fredericksburg and all of its history! Thank You for your review on TRIP ADVISOR, and for being our guest!.
Steve Treon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Room is small but clean and comfortable. Offers microwave, fridge and nice TV. Free Wi-Fi. Close to many restaurants and gas stations. Huge shopping center across the street and another behind you can walk to. Close to Interstate 95 but off the highway. Free breakfast includes hot selections but only a couple of tables. Very friendly staff and fast check in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Manager at Central Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank You for staying with us, we are very gratefull for your business, we hope you will get the chance to stay again, and if we can assist in anyway, please let us know. We also would like to thank You for your review here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Plaza Hotel

Address: 3000 Plank Road, Fredericksburg, VA 22401 (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fredericksburg
#10 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Central Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Central Plaza Hotel Fredericksburg
Best Western Hotel Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.