We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Adequate Budget Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Central Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Central Plaza to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Central Plaza
3000 Plank Road, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #18 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Walden, Tenn
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“An Adequate Budget Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel epitomizes mediocre....but that's what you're looking for in this price range, right? It's an older, outside corridor roadside motel that has received some TLC over the years and is generally in pretty good shape. The rooms are dated and a bit small by modern standards but exactly what you would have wanted in, say, 1985. My room was on the back of the property, away from the hectic traffic at Route 3 and I-95 and was perfectly quiet. The internet works fine, there is a flat screen TV with decent cable and a coffee maker in the room. Breakfast is not to die for and there is no restaurant within walking distance--or more accurately, SAFE walking distance as the hotel is located at the busiest intersection in the Fredericksburg area. The good news is that you are right across the street from the area's mega-mall, Central Park, with every chain restaurant known to man.

Bottom line: if you are looking for a cheap place to stay while traveling through Fredericksburg on I-95 you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Manager at BEST WESTERN Central Plaza, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
thank you for your review of our property, we do indeed put lot of care into our property regardless of our age, and true we are not an upscale hotel, we do try to make our guest feel like it is. We hope you will stay with us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    92
    35
    10
    10
See reviews for
79
81
31
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A very pleasant night spent here on the long drive from South Carolina to MA. From friendly, efficient check in to departure a positive experience. First time here but won't be the last. This will be my regular stop now on the northbound trip. Room was good size, spotlessly clean, pleasantly warm, plenty of towels, bed was really comfortable. Gas, food and stores closeby. Amenities all worked perfectly. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this for one night or more. I travel a lot by car and there are no negatives here.

Room Tip: I had a very good room on the first floor, back parking lot, and away from the stairs. Only tiny hit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47084, Manager at BEST WESTERN Central Plaza, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review!, and Thanks for staying with us, give us a call when you are on the way back, and we'll be sure to get you closer or further from the stairs!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed overnight in a Queen/no smoking room. The room was small ,but very clean and tastefully decorated. Seemed to have been recently updated. The shower was also modern-looking and clean. Internet was fast. We didn't use the TV or microwave. The AC/heat was good. The small fridge wasn't cold enough. The bed was very firm (too firm for me). There was a free continental breakfast, but we didn't eat it so can't comment on that. Overall, a great place to stay without breaking the bank. We have stayed here before and will definitely stay here again. It doesn't have the "look and feel" of the typically, run-down rooms you usually find for this price. And, it's much nicer than the other Best Western on Plank Rd. in my opinion.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back building, room 303 (ground floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Central Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Central Plaza

Address: 3000 Plank Road, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fredericksburg
#5 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN Central Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Central Plaza Hotel Fredericksburg
Best Western Hotel Fredericksburg
Best Western Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Central Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.