We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly cozy and inviting experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1303 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
1 review
“A truly cozy and inviting experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a cozy get away for valentines weekend where we could enjoy good food and company. We got just what we were looking for at the schooler house. Andi and Paul welcomed us and carried our bags, gave us a tour and showed us to our immaculately kept room. The fireplace was a huge bonus. We toured Fredericksburg and ate out that night based on Andi and Pauls great recommendations.The following morning we were served an amazing breakfast in the dining room in front of the fireplace with another lovely couple we met. We will definitely be staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hi Jackie,
Thank you for the lovely review! Paul and I enjoyed having you and Tyler here with us. Paul and I hope you'll come see us again when you're here for your internship!
Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
166
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This quaint bed & breakfast is truly a treasure. The house itself is adorable and the amenities exceed anything we could have asked for....what a treat to be welcomed by the owners who are two of the warmest people you will ever meet. We stayed in Willie's room (as there are only two rooms in this special B&B), where we were surrounded by antiques and true Fredericksburg flare. The breakfast was amazing- two days and two different meals...homemade meals...what more could you ask for (delicious, too)?! Not being from the area, the owners were very helpful in pointing out different attractions and areas that shouldn't be missed. This B&B is one for the books and I truly look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you Marisa and Jeremy! Paul and I loved hosting you both and am so glad you enjoyed your visit. Would love to have you back again - soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent stay when my wife and I, along with our friends, stayed at the Schooler House on New Years Eve. The house is lovely and the hosts, Andi and Paul are great and lay out a wonderful breakfast! You are located a few short step from the quaint shopping and restaurant era of old town Fredericksburg. We will stay there again

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
We're so happy that you enjoyed New Year's Eve in Fredericksburg. It's such fun having 2 couples stay here; feels very family! Thanks for your review and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I had court in King George County and decided to stay in Fredricksburg. I wanted to stay in town, within walking distance of many of the resturants and historical sites. I searched Trip Advisor and found the Schooler House. Just a an easy walk from the downtown area, the Schooler House was exactly what I was looking for. I arrived around five in the afternoon and checked in. Andi was very knowledgeable about the restaurants which would be open New Year's day and I chose a little Italian place 4 blocks away. The food, wine and conversation were wonderful. The next morning I had 4 strips of bacon ,3 eggs, french toast and cooked apples for breakfast. Everything was perfectly prepared and ready in plenty of time for me to get to court. A great experience!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in Annie's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hi Chris. It was a pleasure having you at the B&B. So glad it all worked out for you and your day in court was started with a hearty breakfast! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Schooler House in early October whilst on a two week holiday in Virginia. Sadly, our itinerary only allowed us to stay one night, but we would have been more than happy to stay longer. Like us, Andi is a closet Victorian and her house is full of her fascinating collection of treasures. Guests will receive a very warm welcome from Andi and Paul, and can look forward to a delicious home-cooked breakfast which we still maintain was the best we had in the States! Very many thanks from two very satisfied guests!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Oh my, how did I miss responding to your lovely review? Thank you for taking the time to post; we really appreciate your feedback. It was lovely having you here, if only for the night. I hope you're all well; hearing there is terrible weather right now. Stay well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I would like to thank Paul for an amazing experience. We stop in Frederickburg to break up a long trip from Hilton Head and we were certainly glad we did. The B&B is wonderful with great antiques. The only regret is we did not have more time to stay. The breakfast was delicious, possibly the best scones I have ever had. I would highly recommend the Schooler House to anyone traveling in the area. If we are ever in the area again, we would stay without a second thought! Thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi Corey,

Thank you so much for posting feedback! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that Paul took such good care of you. I hope you'll come back again; I'd love to meet you both.

Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I had another wonderful stay at the Schooler House - one night was not enough! We arrived late for a wedding in the evening and Andi helped us out the door with directions to the event. Breakfast in the morning was amazing as usual, and Andi and Paul aways make us feel so welcome. We can't wait for our next visit and look forward to being able to relax and enjoy the beautiful property more next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi Ian,

Thank you so much for talking the time to post a review! Paul and I really love having you and Karen here at the B&B. So glad you enjoy yourselves and look forward to you returning again.

Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1303 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1891 for Mary Schooler, The Schooler House provides guests with an opportunity to live like a Victorian. The home is a true B&B, with 2 rooms, each containing a queen-sized bed, twin sofa bed, bath en suite, gas fireplace, tv, spa robes, and period antiques. The Parlor is a wonderful spot to enjoy the Victorian furniture and pieces, including young ladies autograph books, written in a style and manner from the past.A full breakfast is prepared and served around a Sheridan 3 piece dining room table. The dishes and silver are all over 100 years old, as are many of the serving pieces. In the Winter, the fireplace keeps our guests cozy.The front porch is a great place to watch the town go by. The Trolley and Carriage Tours stop in front of The Schooler House while showing The Rising Sun Tavern, directly across the street. The gardens are full of perennials, carefully selected for their Victorian feel and look. The 1900 corregated metal garage is converted into a lovely garden room for afternoon naps, reading, wine sipping, and just listening to the waterfall in the adjacent pond.For a true Victorian experience where service is our goal, The Schooler House, consistently rated 5 Stars, is the place for your Fredericksburg experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Schooler House Hotel Fredericksburg
The Schooler House Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.