We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1303 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Those who are fortunate enough to spend a night or more at The Schooler House will be very happy they did. We could not have enjoyed ourselves more. Andi is a marvelous cook and hostess, the ambience is perfectly historical, and the beds are just right. The location is great, too, right in the thick of some terrific restaurants and shopping. What could be better? Thanks again, Andi!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi Judy,
Thank you for the lovely review! It's my pleasure to take care of my guests, and I really enjoyed having you here. I hope the remainder of your visit and flight home went well! If you ever come back - come back!
Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
169
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great historic home in a fabulous location. We stayed in Willies room which had the most comfortable bed! Fantastic breakfasts, Andi went to so much trouble to make our stay the most memorable, it just felt so comfortable. She had so many recommendations we could have stayed much longer! Couldn't fault anything and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! It was a pleasure having you here and I'm glad you enjoyed yourself. Having wonderful guests make it such fun. Hope you'll come back again!
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Schooler House for one night on our way to Williamsburg at the start of our vacation and I am so glad we did. Andi is a wonderful host, nothing is too much trouble and she gave a great recommendation for food (Foode). The breakfast was excellent, the scones are so nice. We stayed in Annie's room which was lovely, very comfortable. It is a very special house which has been beautifully restored. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Hello Margaret,
Thank you for your lovely review! I'm so glad that you enjoyed yourself while here. It was wonderful having you and Andy spend the kick-off evening at The Schooler House. I hope the remainder of your visit to the States was wonderful! Please come see us again if you return.
Best regards,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed there for a night in August. The innkeeper, Andi, could not have been any more gracious. We have stayed there before, and yet we keep seeing and learning new things about the place. The room was very comfortable, and we marvel at the attention to detail.
Breakfast was delish! Andi went above board to provide us with a scrumptious meal. We felt like royalty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi Jane,
Thank you for your review! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and can't wait for you and Jan to return again. Bring the family; it was great having them here as well.
Be well!
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Like many Americans living in a major metropolitan city, my husband and I lead a hectic lifestyle with a stiffling schedule. Our 1 hour drive to The Schooler House in Fredericksburg, VA immediately puts that all to an end. The atmosphere is pure peace and tranquility. We sleep here as if we are in our very own bed! We adore Andi and Paul and appreciate the immaculate care poured into the house. Each visit is perfect (and this is our third)! We plan on quarterly visits because we realize Schooler House is our little piece of home away from home! Thanks Andi and Paul!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi Eric and Rhonda,
Loved having you here again! Paul and I hope to see you quarterly; will save your room for you! :-)
It was great having you both back again!
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The soul of this home is as wonderful as the innkeeper. The attention to detail is inspiring and I enjoyed hearing about the history of the home. The bedroom was designed beautifully and the bed was oh so comfortable! I am told Andi even irons the sheets! The bed was perfect.I was served the most divine breakfast, a wonderful cooked pear in a special light sweet sauce, french toast made with the most amazing bread,bacon ,coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice all served on the finest china,silver and crystal. When Andi lit the candles,I felt like a queen! This is all prepared for you by 830am. Amazing! I had the privilege of dining with the innkeeper and enjoyed a wonderful conversation. This is a must do on your bucket list!

Room Tip: Both rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hi Toni,
You are too fast for me!! Thank you for your lovely review! Having you here was a pleasure and great fun for me. The reason I love doing what I'm doing is people just like you. I hope you'll come back to visit, even if you Son chooses that Alabama school! :-)
Be well,
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My extended family and I just spent a night at the Schooler House. I wish we could have stayed longer. The house was beautiful and was very warm and inviting. It was the perfect blend of historic charm and modern conveniences. It was also beautifully maintained inside and out. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was fantastic. Thank you Andi for being such a great host. The boys are already asking when we can go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoolerhouse, Owner at The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Hi Hope,
Thank you for the review!! It was wonderful having you and your family here. Come back any time; Enzo loved playing with the boys. They are cute as can be. Be well.
Andi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1303 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1891 for Mary Schooler, The Schooler House provides guests with an opportunity to live like a Victorian. The home is a true B&B, with 2 rooms, each containing a queen-sized bed, twin sofa bed, bath en suite, gas fireplace, tv, spa robes, and period antiques. The Parlor is a wonderful spot to enjoy the Victorian furniture and pieces, including young ladies autograph books, written in a style and manner from the past.A full breakfast is prepared and served around a Sheridan 3 piece dining room table. The dishes and silver are all over 100 years old, as are many of the serving pieces. In the Winter, the fireplace keeps our guests cozy.The front porch is a great place to watch the town go by. The Trolley and Carriage Tours stop in front of The Schooler House while showing The Rising Sun Tavern, directly across the street. The gardens are full of perennials, carefully selected for their Victorian feel and look. The 1900 corregated metal garage is converted into a lovely garden room for afternoon naps, reading, wine sipping, and just listening to the waterfall in the adjacent pond.For a true Victorian experience where service is our goal, The Schooler House, consistently rated 5 Stars, is the place for your Fredericksburg experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Schooler House Bed And Breakfast
The Schooler House Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Schooler House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.