We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gari Melchers Home and Studio at Belmont

Gari Melchers Home and Studio at Belmont
224 Washington St, Falmouth, Fredericksburg, VA 22405
+1 540-654-1015
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gari Melchers was an American artist who lived and painted at Belmont from 1916 until his death in 1932. Born in Detroit in 1860, Gari Melchers was a world famous portraitist and impressionist painter. He was headquartered in Paris, Holland, and Germany until World War I when he opened his studio in New York City and established his country home in Falmouth.In 1955, his widow, Corinne Melchers, donated the 27-acre Belmont property to the Commonwealth of Virginia to preserve and operate as an art museum and historic site. Her generous gift included the 1790s house, the artist's studio and contents, their personal furnishings, and more than 500 of Gari Melchers' paintings, the largest collection anywhere. Designated a Virginia and National Historic Landmark in 1966, Gari Melchers Home and Studio is administered by the University of Mary Washington. The buildings, gardens, and woodland trails are open to the public year round.Gari Melchers Home and Studio is one of just 30 of America's most significant artists' spaces included in the National Trust for Historic Preservation's Historic Artists' Homes and Studios consortium.Gari Melchers Home and Studio is home to the official Stafford County Visitor Center.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reston
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Artistic Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had not known about this artist before but now we appreciate his place in art history. The home, gardens, studio, and galleries are attractive by themselves. Now add some turn-of-the-last century art on top of that and you have a great afternoon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GariandCorinne, Public Relations Manager at Gari Melchers Home and Studio at Belmont, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. Please visit GMHS again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was a highlight of our trip to Fredericksburg. Our guide was passionate about the house and the people. We were not rushed and also spent time outside. Very nicely done.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The guides were so nice. We loved our tour. We loved the old furniture in the house. We recommend it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

What a beautiful treat this place was, as a resident f Fredericksburg I cannot believe I have never visited before today.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like art? Don't miss Belmont.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Gari Melcher was an artist active about 1880 to 1930. He was never a starving artist; rather he enjoyed success early, and became wealthy. Regretfully, he is largely forgotten, but in the early 20th century, he was a close rival of John Singer Sergeant. About 1915, after leaving Europe due to the Great War, he bought Belmont, an 18th Century estate in Falmouth, Virginia, just across the Rappahannock from Fredericksburg. Gari and his wife, Corinne, divided their time between New York and Belmont. Gari died in 1932, and when Corinne died in 1955 she left the house to the state of Virginia, and today it is kept as it was in 1955. The estate includes his studio, now a gallery of his work.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gari Melchers Home and Studio at Belmont also viewed

 

Been to Gari Melchers Home and Studio at Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gari Melchers Home and Studio at Belmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.