We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun Tavern

The Rising Sun Tavern
1304 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
540 371 1494
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Landmarks
Attraction details
nyc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

not a restaurant or bar but a tour of what it was like back in the day and a fun tour at that with a lot of interesting and fun facts.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    20
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not handicapped accessible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Pleasant staff, some historical artifacts. Not accessible to anyone in a wheelchair. Lots of stairs.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very personable tour- we took it over spring break and the tour group was quite small. Able to ask any questions we had. You are able to tour upstairs at your own pace and come back down to rejoin your tour group.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this stop. The gentleman who did the majority of our tour was very funny and knowledgable. We loved how everyone stayed in character the entire time. We saw quite a bit of the tavern and learned a lot about times gone by. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Feel Like A Colonial Traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

As you step into The Rising Sun Tavern, you'llalso step back in time to Colonial America and learn the hardship and discomfort that a weary traveler had to endure back then. Traveling during Colonial times was an aspect of Colonial History that I didn't really know anything about so I really enjoyed this tour. I thought the tour was equally entertaining and informative. Recommended.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Rising Sun Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.