We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Bethem

Bistro Bethem
309 William St, Fredericksburg, VA 22401-5831
+1 540-371-9999
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 357 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I'm not sure why this place has so many great reviews. I met a friend there for lunch today. I chose the chicken parm for $11.00. Since the only thing it comes with is chips (which to me just does not go with italian food) I paid the extra dollar for a side salad. The small sandwich arrived and the coating on the chicken was a very dark brown, just short of black. I thought it was overdone and was told it was not. I must admit they were correct and it was not overdone and it was tasty. It was not, however worth $11.00. The piece of chicken was very small and was barely covered with cheese. My friend got the Rueben and also found it quite lacking in the amount of meat. The serving of chips she received was also quite sparce.
I see no reason to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    53
    16
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the 5-minute jaunt off the Interstate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My companion and I decided to get on the road from D.C. and find a place for brunch en route South; this was a serendipitous and wonderful find! We had a custom rendition of eggs benedict with salmon (instead of canadian bacon) accompanied by a dill crema and pea shoots - divine! I am still having visions of the beautiful waffles arriving at surrounding tables and will return to try when I'm next in the area. There's also an impressive lunch menu available, along with a thoughtful and diverse wine list. The surrounding is eclectic and pleasant, with soft colors and art on the walls. The value for the dollar is quite favorable and the service was friendly, welcoming and attentive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NEVER have let me down!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We just don't go out to eat that much. So when we do, I truly hate to be disappointed. Learned the hard way. Whenever we are celebrating something special and going out, this is the place. Great food, excellent service, daily fresh changes and surprises to the menu. Also walk across the street to their other place, have not actually tried the food but so love the roof top bar!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Must go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hands down, one of the best restaurants in the area! For families or a couple. Food is fresh, local and prepared exquisitely. The atmosphere is second to none. Affordable prices with prompt, attentive service. Do yourself a favor and dine here. You will not be disappointed!.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Listen To Me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

If you are driving down 95 through Virginia and you need lunch, do not go fast food. Go to Downtown Fredericksburg and stop there. We happened on this restaurant and are not normally adventurous, but were so happy we did. Lunch menu is small but everything sounded delicious. I will admit, my husband and I only shared two things as we had a later party and didn't want to fill up. The chicken black eyed pea soup and Cali BLT were excellent. We talked about that sandwich all day long! Place is cute and has an artists work hanging that was fun to look at.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bethem also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, VA
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Been to Bistro Bethem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Bethem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.