We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend Lavender Heights B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
“Highly recommend Lavender Heights B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I were celebrating our 15th Anniversary and truly enjoyed our stay with Jenny at Lavender Heights. The accommodations were wonderful and breakfast was delicious. The property is beautiful and so close to local restaurants, sights to see, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

For his birthday, I surprised my husband with a trip to Fredericksburg to explore Civil War history. We typically stay at B & Bs and this trip was no exception. I turned to Trip Advisor for recommendations and chose Lavender Heights. So glad I did. We stayed four nights over the Memorial Day weekend. It was terrific from the first day to the last. We have learned from B & B stays in other cities that the Innkeeper's personality can greatly affect your visit, no matter how nice the inn is. Innkeeper Jenny greeted us warmly as we pulled into the drive the first afternoon and we immediately felt at home. Her relaxed, easygoing style enabled us to become fast friends - two evenings after returning from dinner we all hung out in the kitchen chatting and laughing! The inn is beautifully decorated and very clean. Our room, Shannaberry, was attractive and comfortable with a nice size bath and double sinks. The grounds were very nice; we made it a point to come back to the inn in late afternoon to relax outdoors and enjoy the quiet surroundings before going out for dinner. Breakfasts were delicious and filling! Highly recommend and thank you, Jenny, for making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here the night before my wedding and had the most relaxing night. The home is located close to where I live so I knew that it was located there. The home is so beautiful inside and outside. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. I was surprised of how great the grounds looked wit the bad long winter we have had this year. The views from the grounds were gorgeous. The house sits on a high hill so you can see the city. Loved it. I also spend my wedding night there with my new husband. He loved it as well. We love older historic homes. Jenny was so great and sweet. She was very intuned to anything needed. She made the most delicious breakfast. Both days they were mouth watering breakfast. Would recommend this B & B to anyone for any occasion. We will be looking forward to our next stay. Thank you so much!!

Room Tip: all of her rooms are great but depends on how much room or size bed you need. all are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This place hits the mark on all counts. Jenny, the owner, is a wonderful, accommodating and informative hostess. The rooms were charming and spacious; our suite had a jetted tub in a large bathroom. The furnishings and appointments were of high quality and tasteful. Jenny serves a full breakfast on beautiful china with sterling flatware. The gardens on the 5 acre property were absolutely gorgeous. We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Ask for the Ellie Suite if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We celebrated our two year anniversary at Lavender Heights. Not only was the decor inside the house like something out of a magazine, but the food and service were remarkable as well. We were given royal treatment from the fabulous bottle of Moscato, to the well stocked mini fridge in our room and the helpful brochures about local attractions and restaurants. We highly recommend visiting this beautiful home and hope to return one day soon!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We chose Lavender Heights because of all the great reviews it had. We were not disappointed! We've stayed at a number of B&B's over the years, but we can truly say that we enjoyed our weekend stay at LH more than any other. It is is lovely inside and out. Our room (Molly's Retreat) was lovely. The bed was so comfortable! The sheets were the most luxurious we've ever slept in at a B&B. The breakfasts were so delicious and filling. Best of all was the warm welcome and gracious hospitality of Innkeeper Jenny. She is always available and more than willing to answers questions, give a recommendation, make a reservation, or have a chit chat. We are so happy we chose to stay at LH in the wonderful town of Fredericksburg for our 35th wedding anniversary. It was truly memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been said? Jenny is a fantastic hostess and her home is amazing. Lavender Heights is set atop one of the highest points in Fredericksburg and the views are spectacular especially at night when all is lit up. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and meticulously tended. There are several cozy sitting areas all around the property. Inside is a treasure trove of interesting antiques and mementos all lovingly preserved and displayed. Our room was beautiful with all top shelf amenities. Jenny has paid attention to every detail. In addition, she took pains to make sure that she prepared breakfast to our liking and it was absolutely scrumptious. We were sad to leave and hope to return to our new found friend before long. Best B & B we've ever stayed at!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious, elegant experience on the heights above the city of Fredericksburg in the quiet village of Falmouth. Beautifully appointed rooms with comfortable beds and fluffy towels, soft bathrobes, artisan soaps, TV and Wi-fi. Perhaps a soaking tub to melt your cares away! A full, delicious breakfast will start your day in the Sun Room looking out over the gardens and koi pond. We are just a few minutes from Old Town, University of Mary Washington and Civil War battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.