We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Springfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Lavender Heights is a great B&B! Jenny is an excellent innkeeper and cook. We stayed in Ellie's room, which is so comfortable. The jetted bath was great to relax in. Jenny's cooking is amazing! She made gingerbread scones which were amazing! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venetia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Lavender Heights is at the top of the list! My husband and I were on a road trip and stayed here. Every part of the B&B was decorated with love and care. Jenny gave us the history of the furnishings and decor. Her heart and soul are in this place. We had so much for breakfast that we didn't need to stop for lunch. Jenny's recommendations for things to do and dinner were wonderful!
We definitely will be back!!

Room Tip: Each room has it's own personality. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I went for an anniversity/birthday weekend, this was the first time we have ever stayed at a B&B, what an amazing experience. Jenny was so personable, a great cook and made everything feel like we were family. We stayed in Ellie's suite which was absouletly georgeous. Will definitely be returning when in the area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room there is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I went for only a one-night trip, and just like many other guests here, I wish I had been able to stay longer. As my boyfriend said, it felt like we were staying with one of our best friends, that's how well we were taken care of. Jenny unfortunately wasn't there, but her assistant took amazing care of us all the same. We were in the Ellie suite, a romantic little room with large windows overlooking the gorgeous landscape. The hot water ran steadily enough to fill up the Jacuzzi and to have a nice relaxing shower, even though it was nearly freezing outside. We had the option of ending the night drinking wine by the fireplace, or watching one of Jenny's DVDs in the cozy TV room. The morning breakfast was wonderful, and the little touches all over our room (like truffles by the bed, a toiletries in the bathroom) made me DEFINITELY want to come back here as soon as I can get another weekend off!

Room Tip: All the rooms are actually in the main house except for the Carriage House which is completely separ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Jenny took great care in decorating and outfitting the inn, and her efforts made for a great experience. My husband and I stayed in the Shannaberry room, and it was perfect! The bed was amazingly comfortable, and the soaking tub was a nice treat. We ordered the artisan cheese tray as an "extra," and she selected quality cheeses, fruits, and nuts for it. We were very pleased!

Jenny herself is a fine host, and she makes a great breakfast. Part of what was so fabulous about our stay was our conversations with her. We shared Indian takeout (delicious!) and talked about everything from religion to her service in the Marines. I thoroughly enjoyed myself, and we will definitely visit Lavender Heights and Jenny whenever we come back to Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I frequent bed and breakfasts in my travels and love when the hosts are personable, helpful and friendly. Jenny was a great hostess-an amazing cook (its worth it just to go to breakfast there) and provided dinner reservations and a very special birthday experience!!! The guest rooms are clean, comfortable and the grounds and landscaping are relaxing and tranquil. We are going back in a few weeks!!! I highly recommend staying the carriage house as it provides all the amenities of home and an amazing view of Fredericksburg!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was my first B&B experience... and it definitely set the bar if I ever do go to a different B&B. Jenny was an amazing hostess, the room was very comfortable, and the meals delicious. My Fiance and I needed a relaxing get away, this place was exactly what we needed! Thanks again Jenny and look forward to our next visit to Fredericksburg!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious, elegant experience on the heights above the city of Fredericksburg in the quiet village of Falmouth. Beautifully appointed rooms with comfortable beds and fluffy towels, soft bathrobes, artisan soaps, TV and Wi-fi. Perhaps a soaking tub to melt your cares away! A full, delicious breakfast will start your day in the Sun Room looking out over the gardens and koi pond. We are just a few minutes from Old Town, University of Mary Washington and Civil War battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.