We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Birthday Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I came to Lavender Heights to celebrate both of our birthdays that are only days apart. We stayed in the Elle Suite and this was a first staying at a B&B for both of us. We were completely blown away with our experience! The Inn is incredible and the room was nothing less than amazing. We woke-up each morning to an amazing breakfast carefully planned by Jenny. We felt like we were staying with family and were extremely sad to leave Jenny and her beautiful house. We made a life long friend and will be back very soon!! We purchased the Grapes & Grains package and definitely recommend it! It makes for a fun filled weekend and if you cannot fit it all in no worries, there is not expiration date on the tours and tastings and gives you another reason to come and visit again! Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to a weekend at Lavender Heights!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H, Owner at Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I'm SO happy that your first B&B experience was at Lavender Heights, and that I could make it special for you. What a lovely couple you make, and you had a great idea to do the Grapes and Grains Trail for your adventure in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
74
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We checked the reviews before booking, and they were completely accurate. Delicious and generous breakfast, beautiful and immaculate room, wonderfully restored period house, and a kind and gracious proprietor. Talking with Jenny was one of the most enjoyable aspects of our stay. There is a great outdoor space as well. We want to come back to take better advantage of that when it is warmer. This was our favorite B&B experience yet, and it's an easy getaway from Washington. This was our first visit to Fredericksburg--it is charming and there are wonderful dining options, not to mention wineries an easy drive away. We will definitely come back to Lavender Heights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We came to Fredericksburg for our anniversary, looking for a special place to stay --
and we found it!! Lavender Heights is a beautiful home with three very private guest rooms, incredible beds and luxurious linens. The most important aspect of this home is Jenny whose warmth, grace and hospitality envelops her guests, from her personal attention to each guest's interests to her superb, creative breakfasts. Lavender Heights is located on a historic bluff overlooking Fredericksburg, where the Union artillery started their bombardment of the city. A breathtaking drive along the Rappahannock River takes you directly into the historic sites of Fredericksburg and its incredible restaurants. An outstanding holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I came for a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary. Jenny was warm and welcoming, even calling the day before to see if we had any questions or special requests. The inn is beautifully decorated, and our room had a large bathroom with a soaking tub. The beds were incredibly comfortable, with microfiber sheets that were the most luxurious linens I've ever slept on. Breakfast was delicious. There is lots to do in the area, and Jenny was very helpful in figuring which of the many sites to visit and giving us restaurant suggestions. I will definitely recommend the inn to my friends and would stay there again for the next trip to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I wanted a "get-away" trip for her birthday. We've stayed in scores of really nice B&Bs. However, there comes that certain time, when you pick, for whatever reason, a certain place to stay, and everything comes together in choreographed perfection. That's what the Lavender Heights B&B was for us.

To start with, the B&B is really easy to get to from the highways. We traveled south from Annapolis via 301, 206 and 218 on a cold snowy day. Upon driving up onto the property we were so impressed with the peaceful surroundings and the remarkable view of Fredericksburg and surrounding area from the hill upon which the Lavender sits. Everything on the property is immaculately groomed and spacious. Also, you are really close to all of the historical sites and downtown attractions. Now, let's go inside the lovely home.

Jenny, the Lavender Heights inn keeper, is without question, one of the most gracious people we've ever met. She gave us the tour of her home which is immaculate and appointed in such a fashion as to be truly warm and inviting for guests to sit and relax. Our room was the Shannaberry and it was SO cozy. The bed was pure luxury. The shower/bath was really gorgeous.

Breakfast.........Jenny, you are the greatest! There was much thought, care and depth that went into the delicious breakfasts that we savored.

If you're looking for pure relaxation, the Lavender Heights B&B is it. We SHALL return. Thank you Jenny!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for a weekend since we had a company Christmas party to attend in town. The B&B was neat and well decorated, our room and bed very comfortable. The linens were soft and luxurious. We especially enjoyed the breakfast as Jenny put much effort into providing a first class meal. There's an inviting sitting room with a gas fireplace, perfect for resting & reading. I highly recommend this B&B and we will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Picked this place to stay as a halfway break from driving to visit family for the holidays. It was very easy to get on/off the highway. The beds are incredibly comfortable and linens are pure luxury. The breakfast was delicious!!! I left knowing that I found a new favorite place to stay. Jenny was a wonderful hostess. I will plan on staying there again and will stay an extra day to do some sightseeing....... lots to see!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fredericksburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Fredericksburg at Mary Washington
1.5 mi away
The Kenmore Inn
The Kenmore Inn
#15 of 43 in Fredericksburg
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
Homewood Suites Fredericksburg
#3 of 43 in Fredericksburg
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fredericksburg
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious, elegant experience on the heights above the city of Fredericksburg in the quiet village of Falmouth. Beautifully appointed rooms with comfortable beds and fluffy towels, soft bathrobes, artisan soaps, TV and Wi-fi. Perhaps a soaking tub to melt your cares away! A full, delicious breakfast will start your day in the Sun Room looking out over the gardens and koi pond. We are just a few minutes from Old Town, University of Mary Washington and Civil War battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.