We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate, Cozy, Wonderfully Warm and Inviting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Immaculate, Cozy, Wonderfully Warm and Inviting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I wanted a "get-away" trip for her birthday. We've stayed in scores of really nice B&Bs. However, there comes that certain time, when you pick, for whatever reason, a certain place to stay, and everything comes together in choreographed perfection. That's what the Lavender Heights B&B was for us.

To start with, the B&B is really easy to get to from the highways. We traveled south from Annapolis via 301, 206 and 218 on a cold snowy day. Upon driving up onto the property we were so impressed with the peaceful surroundings and the remarkable view of Fredericksburg and surrounding area from the hill upon which the Lavender sits. Everything on the property is immaculately groomed and spacious. Also, you are really close to all of the historical sites and downtown attractions. Now, let's go inside the lovely home.

Jenny, the Lavender Heights inn keeper, is without question, one of the most gracious people we've ever met. She gave us the tour of her home which is immaculate and appointed in such a fashion as to be truly warm and inviting for guests to sit and relax. Our room was the Shannaberry and it was SO cozy. The bed was pure luxury. The shower/bath was really gorgeous.

Breakfast.........Jenny, you are the greatest! There was much thought, care and depth that went into the delicious breakfasts that we savored.

If you're looking for pure relaxation, the Lavender Heights B&B is it. We SHALL return. Thank you Jenny!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for a weekend since we had a company Christmas party to attend in town. The B&B was neat and well decorated, our room and bed very comfortable. The linens were soft and luxurious. We especially enjoyed the breakfast as Jenny put much effort into providing a first class meal. There's an inviting sitting room with a gas fireplace, perfect for resting & reading. I highly recommend this B&B and we will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Picked this place to stay as a halfway break from driving to visit family for the holidays. It was very easy to get on/off the highway. The beds are incredibly comfortable and linens are pure luxury. The breakfast was delicious!!! I left knowing that I found a new favorite place to stay. Jenny was a wonderful hostess. I will plan on staying there again and will stay an extra day to do some sightseeing....... lots to see!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband picked this place for our seven year wedding anniversary. Work's been hectic and I was looking forward to a long weekend. This was the perfect place to recharge my battery. The rooms are so comfortable and the bedding was luxurious!! Jenny, the Inn Keeper, is the perfect host. She cooked the most amazing breakfast! She recommended wonderful places to eat and places to see. I definitely recommend this bed and breakfast and I look forward to another stay there!!! Thank you Lavender Heights!

Room Tip: All the rooms look amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First time visit to historic Fredericksburg, VA. Heard about Lavender Heights B & B in a magazine. I really went here to support a fellow vet and her new business. Great decision on my part. We stayed in the Shannaberry and my parents stayed in Molly's Retreat. Both were great rooms, nicely appointed and the best sheets ever. The property is up on a hill with great panoramic views. The location is very convenient to historic Fredericksburg, just across the river. Jenny is a great host and served a wonderful breakfast. We would definitely go back in the near future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great inn keeper and hostess. Food was fantastic. Very clean and new construction/renovation. The grounds are very well kept and there are many areas inside the house and outside the house to have privacy for a getaway...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Lavender Heights for his birthday. I did not purchase the birthday special, but we reserved the Shannandoah room for two nights on a weekend. Bottom Line: everything was perfect. Neither of us had stayed at a B&B before, and Lavender Heights placed a high standard for any ones we may stay with in the future.
The breakfast foods were delicious. Our favorite was the stuffed french toast, which was divine. The breakfast experience itself is a warm and friendly affair; a true "home away from home." We ended up staying at the house for most of the time and it was a true pleasure.
The room was spacious with a wonderfully comfortable bed and the softest sheets I have ever slept in. My boyfriend, who has sleeping troubles on a regular basis, said he slept through the night on that bed. The level of detail that the innkeeper put in composing the room truly adds to the wonderment. From the fluffy bathrobes and towels, to the branded lavender milk (an incredible scented body lotion that we took with us) and other bathroom concessions; it was really comfortable. Not to mention the fully equipped T.V. that is perfectly positions to lay in the bed and watch! I could only wish for PPV, but you can order it if you wish. There's also a cool burial ground of people that lived in the house during the Civil War and on towards the back of the property.
The innkeeper herself is amazing. She's very interesting, friendly, and sweet. Her pleasant attitude really makes the place feel comfortable.
If you're looking to get away and lounge around with your mate or friends, this is place to stay in Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious, elegant experience on the heights above the city of Fredericksburg in the quiet village of Falmouth. Beautifully appointed rooms with comfortable beds and fluffy towels, soft bathrobes, artisan soaps, TV and Wi-fi. Perhaps a soaking tub to melt your cares away! A full, delicious breakfast will start your day in the Sun Room looking out over the gardens and koi pond. We are just a few minutes from Old Town, University of Mary Washington and Civil War battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.