We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend with Jenny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Great weekend with Jenny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

First time visit to historic Fredericksburg, VA. Heard about Lavender Heights B & B in a magazine. I really went here to support a fellow vet and her new business. Great decision on my part. We stayed in the Shannaberry and my parents stayed in Molly's Retreat. Both were great rooms, nicely appointed and the best sheets ever. The property is up on a hill with great panoramic views. The location is very convenient to historic Fredericksburg, just across the river. Jenny is a great host and served a wonderful breakfast. We would definitely go back in the near future. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
59
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great inn keeper and hostess. Food was fantastic. Very clean and new construction/renovation. The grounds are very well kept and there are many areas inside the house and outside the house to have privacy for a getaway...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Lavender Heights for his birthday. I did not purchase the birthday special, but we reserved the Shannandoah room for two nights on a weekend. Bottom Line: everything was perfect. Neither of us had stayed at a B&B before, and Lavender Heights placed a high standard for any ones we may stay with in the future.
The breakfast foods were delicious. Our favorite was the stuffed french toast, which was divine. The breakfast experience itself is a warm and friendly affair; a true "home away from home." We ended up staying at the house for most of the time and it was a true pleasure.
The room was spacious with a wonderfully comfortable bed and the softest sheets I have ever slept in. My boyfriend, who has sleeping troubles on a regular basis, said he slept through the night on that bed. The level of detail that the innkeeper put in composing the room truly adds to the wonderment. From the fluffy bathrobes and towels, to the branded lavender milk (an incredible scented body lotion that we took with us) and other bathroom concessions; it was really comfortable. Not to mention the fully equipped T.V. that is perfectly positions to lay in the bed and watch! I could only wish for PPV, but you can order it if you wish. There's also a cool burial ground of people that lived in the house during the Civil War and on towards the back of the property.
The innkeeper herself is amazing. She's very interesting, friendly, and sweet. Her pleasant attitude really makes the place feel comfortable.
If you're looking to get away and lounge around with your mate or friends, this is place to stay in Fredericksburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Beautiful house, well decorated. The rooms are beautiful, felt like home. Jenny is a great hostess, friendly, very gentle and helpful. The breakfast was amazing, delicious. Great place to stay and relax.

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable with private bathroom and cable TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at Lavender Heights in September on my way to North Carolina. The grounds are so attractive and inviting. The house is tastefully decorated and rooms are welcoming. Cozy beds and gourmet breakfasts. Jenny is a fantastic hostess and really loves her new found career as the owner and proprietor of this lovely B&B. The house is located in good proximity to downtown Fredericksburg and other historical sites in the locality. After a busy day of sighteseeing, you will feel relaxed and refreshed when you return to Lavender Heights. I am sure you will find it wam and welcoming!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Lavender Heights. The location is so convenient to Historic Fredericksburg. The innkeeper, Jenny, was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us maps for our visit. It was very relaxing coming back to the B&B after a day of sightseeing. Jenny has paid close attention to details that make her guests comfortable and the food is wonderful. I am looking forward to returning - maybe next time for a girls weekend! The grounds are perfect for relaxing with friends over a glass of wine or by yourself with a good book.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Every aspect of our stay was perfect! The decor of the house is tasteful, comfortable, and warm. We not only enjoyed the house but also the grounds where there are several romantic spots to sit and talk and have a glass of wine. The rooms are absolutely beautiful and spotless! Although Lavender Heights is brand new, Jenny, the Innkeeper, knows exactly what she's doing. She has an obvious passion for her guests and cooked a breakfast that was incredibly delicious and filling. We enjoyed every moment of our stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 419 Forbes St, Fredericksburg, VA 22405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a luxurious, elegant experience on the heights above the city of Fredericksburg in the quiet village of Falmouth. Beautifully appointed rooms with comfortable beds and fluffy towels, soft bathrobes, artisan soaps, TV and Wi-fi. Perhaps a soaking tub to melt your cares away! A full, delicious breakfast will start your day in the Sun Room looking out over the gardens and koi pond. We are just a few minutes from Old Town, University of Mary Washington and Civil War battlefields. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Heights Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.