We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1890 Caroline House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fredericksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1890 Caroline House B&B
Save
You added 1890 Caroline House B&B to your Saves list
528 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save on 2 or more!
Ranked #4 of 10 Fredericksburg B&B and Inns
Tidewater, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This B&B is ideal for a visit to Fredricksburg or the surrounding N. VA area. It's on a quiet street within easy walking distance to Fredricksburg shops & restaurants. The rooms are sunny & decorated with period antiques, lovely fireplaces, etc. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: My 2nd floor room was decorated in black & white with a large front bay window. Sunny & bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We recently stayed in the Luke Henry room on a Thursday and Friday night in late September. The home and rooms are lovely – the website photos don’t quite capture the beauty of the property.

As other reviewers have noted, the bed was extremely comfortable, the Jacuzzi tub was very relaxing and the room and bathroom décor was beautiful.

Breakfast was delicious – cooked main dishes, fresh fruit, pastries, juices, coffee – served in the elegant dining room. Much more than we were expecting.

Lindi is a warm, friendly and generous host, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the history and activities in the area. She truly made our visit feel like a special celebration.

Our stay at the Caroline House was a wonderful last-stop on a weeklong swing through Virginia. We would highly recommend this B&B (felt like so much more) to everyone. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our experience at the 1890 Caroline House - Sawyer Scott Room was truly unforgettable. First, the staff was amazingly friendly and took the time to answer all our questions and give us the background of this wonderful house. The Sawyer Scott Room was beautiful, comfortable and great for a couples getaway. The bathroom was also something out of a fantasy. The interior design was beautiful and the attention to detail was obvious in every facet of the room and the inn.

We have been to lots of B&Bs and Inns and very few have the level of amenities, personal attention and decorating/design touches that we found at the 1890 Caroline House. We will definitely be coming back!!!

Blake & Justine Wiseman

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay immensely. We were allowed to check in early, were given a tour of the house and shown to our room. The room was beautiful; the bathroom luxurious. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. The service provided was top-notch at all times.

Only complaint- single-ply toilet tissue. Would have expected something as soft and plush as the provided robes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

There aren't enough superlatives to describe this beautiful house, with nothing but the best in decorations, very comfy bed, great Jacuzzi tub which was so relaxing, and the best of everything provided by the Leopolds in making this renovation into a truly beautiful B and B. On top of that, enough cannot be said for the overall service and great food prepared and served by Lindi - she deserves immense cudos. It is also located in the heart of old town Fredericksburg, with many Civil War attractions very close. All in all, you can't get a much better get-away at any price anywhere.
Don and Laurie, Alexandria, VA

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

The town is great, the house is superb and the staff are awesome! We had a absolutely lovely overnight stay in a beautiful home where we were made to feel so welcome. The breakfast was first class. A special thanks to Lindi who made it all such fun! Pat & Dudley, Eccleshall, UK

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My wife and I just spent two nights at the 1890 Caroline House and stayed in the Sawyer Scott room. There are not enough superlatives to describe the house; it was beautiful in so many ways. Looks like what you would see in the movies. The bed was very comfortable and the food was delicious. Thank you to Lindi for the masterful job she did in every way to help make our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1890 Caroline House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1890 Caroline House B&B

Address: 528 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Fredericksburg
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's more than accommodations, it's a memory. Located on the main street of Historic Fredericksburg and built in 1890, The Caroline House has been refurbished to its original grandeur with all of the modern conveniences to make your visit memorable. We offer you 3 elegant rooms with Jacuzzi tubs, exquisite hand-made mosaic showers, king size beds, quality linens and amenities. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1890 Caroline House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.