We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and nice for the money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Fredericksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Fredericksburg to your Saves list
Motel 6 Fredericksburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   401 Warrenton Road, I-95 at Warrenton Road, Exit #133-A/133, Fredericksburg, VA 22405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
north carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Clean and nice for the money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

OK, so IT IS a Motel 6. But the room was clean, even though it smelled a little smokey for a non-smoking room. Only complaint was it was 60' outside and no warmer in, and they apparently had the boiler turned off (heat blew cold air), so had to sleep in extra cloths. But it was quiet, safe location, clean, friendly, and cheap, so good otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    18
    8
    14
See reviews for
14
18
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed here one night on our way from FL to VT because it was "dog friendly" and in the right location for our drive.

The front desk person was icy-cold and unwelcoming. We were asked to sign an elaborate legal waiver accepting responsibility for any damage our dog might do (LaQuinta did not require any waiver when we checked in there).

The door to our room looked like it had been kicked in and then repainted. Security consisted of an old-fashioned slide chain. The carpet was stained and we checked the bed for bugs before getting under the covers. The towels were thin and rough.

We saw some little kids playing on the other side of the building and it looked like some families are housed long-term in this motel.

Not a place that is conducive for restful sleep.

We would definitely avoid this place.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

I rated this motel 5 stars not because it is a luxury hotel with all amenities but because it delivered a clean bed and bathroom at a very low price as advertised. The room itself was fine, no leaks, no mildew. The bed was clean. The bathroom was clean and it looked as though the shower was fairly new. There was plenty of hot water for showers the next morning. We were provided a small bar of soap for the tub and one for the sink. Most cheap motels do have a slight stale odor, this one was no exception, but it was not overwhelming. The carpet was actually in pretty good shape, too. (That is often another typical problem in a cheap motel.) No bugs whatsoever. The only complaint if you could call it that was that the door was a just a bit hard to close. I would say this motel is a good place to stay for one night while on the road.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgian Bay
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

Motel 6 website lists this as a "New Location" and it probably is a new location but it is far from "New". The room was kinda smelly and the motel in general is kind of run down.
I-95
5308 Jefferson Davis Highway
Fredericksburg, VA 22408

Although you do get what you pay for and with a room rate of just under $45.00 tax included.

I just blasted the room with Febreeze but the rest of the family wasn't impressed and would never ever stay at this motel.

This motel has turned me off of Motel 6. I used to find Motel 6 a good choice but I think they just have too many run down motels now.

My suggestion would be...spend a bit more money and get a better motel than this location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA Traveler
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

This is a decent motel, the rooms are clean, staff is friendly, I really do not have any complaints. I did not arrive at a time when I would swim, so I can not comment about the pool. The area near the vending / on-site laundry (specifically the sidewalk) was a bit dirty, although I only went there once. I would have stayed at a better hotel if not for my travel nightmare out of Dulles Airport, but I must say that I end up staying at Motel 6 kind of often, and this specific location is overall above average. Might not be the best, but is far from the worst!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

I stayed at this motel for 4 days and I enjoyed my stay. I'm a young lady and I was alone, so I had some concerns at first, but when I got there and was comfortable in my Motel I felt better. My advice is that if you are a lady and alone, try not to go outside alone late at night. During my stay there were about 3 Mexcian men that were hanging out of there Motel rooms drinking beer and starring at me whenever I would come and go from my Motel. I just said hello and they said hello back, but ladys try to stay in late at night. Overall, I would stay at this Motel again. The staff was very friendly and prfessional.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — People in my business
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

I travel alot and have stayed at plenty of Motel 6's across the country. I know it's basically just a place to sleep and rest on a long trip and I have never had a bad experience until I stayed at this one. The first day there was no hot water in the morning. In the afternoon when the hot water came back on, the AC went out. It was a hot day and the AC didn't come back on until late that night. The next morning the hot water was out again and didn't come back on until later that night! There are no "Do Not Disturb" signs, so the cleaning staff just barges into the room. Also, the cleaning staff had a radio on their cart and were playing it as loud as it could go at 9am. When we went to complain to the front desk, there was a line of others complaining about all of the same problems. The clerk's answer to every problem was either "I don't know" or "Ok", and nothing was done. Terrible place!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fredericksburg

Address: 401 Warrenton Road, I-95 at Warrenton Road, Exit #133-A/133, Fredericksburg, VA 22405
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fredericksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel 6 Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Motel Six
Fredericksburg Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Fredericksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.