We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Fredericksburg

Motel 6 Fredericksburg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Fredericksburg to your Saves list
Motel 6 Fredericksburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   401 Warrenton Road, I-95 at Warrenton Road, Exit #133-A/133, Fredericksburg, VA 22405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Place was clean. Bathroom very clean, shower was brand new. Beds smallish. Price GREAT! Not much to complain about. If you are allergic to smoke there might be a challenge. It is clearly a non smoking room but did smell a little bit of smoke in the bathroom. You can only do so much if the guests don't want to follow suit. Otherwise a very nice stay. Desk person was really nice. Cool kid very respectful. Fredericksburg nice place to visit for some history. Fast food very close by. Lots around. Williamsburg 1 1/2 hours away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    15
    8
    13
See reviews for
11
17
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I have been staying at this Motel 6 property for many years and has been slowly deteriorating. On this trip it seems that the rooms are receiving a 'make-over'. Room 150 was clean and bright, though it amuses me that who ever signs off the work - fails to sit on the toilet and just look around for a moment. Everything cleaned and painted - except the rear of the bathroom door (?).
Unfortunately, Motel 6 are having so called water 'economises' fitted to the showers and vanity sink taps. The shower was so ridiculously gentle, economy is the last thing it would give, as you need to leave the shower on for quite sometime as you do to get hot water through the vanity taps. Huge loss of water !
Like many Motel 6 properties, there are many long term residents that seem to delight in starting their vehicles, leaving them running for 10 to 15 minutes, whilst shouting to friends, all in the early hours of the morning - not what you want to hear when on holiday (vacation). But its getting better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After two long days of driving, we really needed a good night's sleep. Fortunately, we found sleep and not much else. This Motel 6 no frills approach to hospitality was a little underwhelming, but the discounted rate was greatly appreciated.

The night agent who checked us in was warm and welcoming; she gave us our key and sent us on our way. That's where the hospitality ended.

When we opened the door to our room, the disinfecting odor was palpable. The room was very warm and there was no air conditioner. We were on the first floor, so opening the door meant potentially admitting everyone on our side of the building. And of course, the windows would not open. The heat was turned off and eventually my husband had to open the door wide in order to let some cooler air in.

The bathroom was new and very clean. But the shower stall contained a worn plastic curtain which did not hang correctly, so puddles of standing water were left under the toilet. Unfortunately, this had already left a rust stain.

Television cable reception was poor. We were unable to access the wifi with the code for which we paid. When I explained the next morning to the desk clerk that the computer code did not work, her response was, "Huh. I'd have to talk to the company to find out what was wrong." No apology nor refund offer.

For sleep, this room was adequate at a very reasonable rate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A good deal for road warriors and couples for a quick overnight or two. Friendly and helpful staff, especially at check in. Generally clean (bathroom spotless), carpets clean although a bit thread worn at the door, comfortable, microwave and refrigerator looked new. Obviously gone through renovations, Night time security gate at front entrance to rooms. One of the better budget motels with no frills, emphasize BUDGET motel.

Room Tip: If in doubt, ask to see room first, especially at low end budget motels. This one was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had paid the same for a much nicer room the night before in a different state, and it's always a gamble travelling with a dog for a budget...but this Motel 6 was on the flip side of the risk coin. Though it was clean enough to pass my pre-check-in "inspection," it was shabby, very small, old/run down, and most of all: icky. We could tell immediately that there were weekly/monthly (and, according to the front desk clerk, annual) residents, which is always a sketchy crowd no matter where you go. Plenty of clusters of people outside rooms smoking (who knows what), weird stains on carpet, old hole-y blankets, and a general feeling of yuckiness both in and outside the room. HOWEVER, the shower was weirdly AWESOME (besides for not wanting to let the shower curtain touch my skin) and that was the only reason I'm giving 2 stars instead of 1. Would not return, especially knowing what IS possible to get for such a low price.

Room Tip: We requested a room along the back so we could keep an eye on our car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Let me start by saying I’m not a hotel snob. I’ve stayed at a number of Motel 6’s. I’ve generally found that Motel 6 delivers exactly what it promises: “a clean, comfortable room.’’
I’m not sure I can say that anymore.
This specific unit is one we’ve stayed at a number of times before. Honestly, it has always been on the lower end of Motel 6 standards. We’ve had times where there was a drip on the rug that lasted throughout the night, or the clientele seemed less than savory. But we’ve found it passable, if barely.
After this trip, I think we’re simply done with this unit. First off was the nasty smell in the room. We travel with a smoker. So I’ve been in plenty of smoking rooms. But the smell in this room was almost overwhelming, worse than pretty much any one I’ve been in before.
The bathroom mirror had a big crack in it. There were dead bugs on the floor. At the end of a long day of driving, my wife and I just sucked it up and stayed, knowing it was just for a night and we’d be clearing out in the morning.
But we definitely did not feel clean or comfortable. We agreed that on next year’s trip, we’d be looking for a new place to stay. I honestly think a close corporate inspection is in order to consider whether this place still meets Motel 6 standards.
There are plenty of better options at this same exit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Over very many years I have stayed at this motel several times a year. It is a corporate run motel and it certainly shows. No one seems to care - it is very full of what some call 'long term renters'. So all the easily accessible rooms are never available. People hanging about all day and what seems like half the night - you have to wonder when they sleep.
All the rooms I have used, desperately need refurbishing. The towels are threadbare, parking anyhere near your room is difficult and they have the termerity to charge foe the wi-fi. As a money saving thing the pool was closed "For the Season" - it was in the 90's and late June ?? crazy.
So why do we go there ? It is a very handy place for all the places us tourists want to visit, its reasonably cheap and there are excellent facilities such as shops, restaurants etc - within about two miles. As I always say, every dollar we save goes towards the next holiday

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fredericksburg

Address: 401 Warrenton Road, I-95 at Warrenton Road, Exit #133-A/133, Fredericksburg, VA 22405
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fredericksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Motel Six
Fredericksburg Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Fredericksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.