We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't feel clean or safe...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Fredericksburg

Motel 6 Fredericksburg
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Fredericksburg to your Saves list
Motel 6 Fredericksburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   401 Warrenton Road, I-95 at Warrenton Road, Exit #133-A/133, Fredericksburg, VA 22405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
New Milford, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Didn't feel clean or safe...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had paid the same for a much nicer room the night before in a different state, and it's always a gamble travelling with a dog for a budget...but this Motel 6 was on the flip side of the risk coin. Though it was clean enough to pass my pre-check-in "inspection," it was shabby, very small, old/run down, and most of all: icky. We could tell immediately that there were weekly/monthly (and, according to the front desk clerk, annual) residents, which is always a sketchy crowd no matter where you go. Plenty of clusters of people outside rooms smoking (who knows what), weird stains on carpet, old hole-y blankets, and a general feeling of yuckiness both in and outside the room. HOWEVER, the shower was weirdly AWESOME (besides for not wanting to let the shower curtain touch my skin) and that was the only reason I'm giving 2 stars instead of 1. Would not return, especially knowing what IS possible to get for such a low price.

Room Tip: We requested a room along the back so we could keep an eye on our car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    15
    8
    13
See reviews for
11
17
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Let me start by saying I’m not a hotel snob. I’ve stayed at a number of Motel 6’s. I’ve generally found that Motel 6 delivers exactly what it promises: “a clean, comfortable room.’’
I’m not sure I can say that anymore.
This specific unit is one we’ve stayed at a number of times before. Honestly, it has always been on the lower end of Motel 6 standards. We’ve had times where there was a drip on the rug that lasted throughout the night, or the clientele seemed less than savory. But we’ve found it passable, if barely.
After this trip, I think we’re simply done with this unit. First off was the nasty smell in the room. We travel with a smoker. So I’ve been in plenty of smoking rooms. But the smell in this room was almost overwhelming, worse than pretty much any one I’ve been in before.
The bathroom mirror had a big crack in it. There were dead bugs on the floor. At the end of a long day of driving, my wife and I just sucked it up and stayed, knowing it was just for a night and we’d be clearing out in the morning.
But we definitely did not feel clean or comfortable. We agreed that on next year’s trip, we’d be looking for a new place to stay. I honestly think a close corporate inspection is in order to consider whether this place still meets Motel 6 standards.
There are plenty of better options at this same exit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Over very many years I have stayed at this motel several times a year. It is a corporate run motel and it certainly shows. No one seems to care - it is very full of what some call 'long term renters'. So all the easily accessible rooms are never available. People hanging about all day and what seems like half the night - you have to wonder when they sleep.
All the rooms I have used, desperately need refurbishing. The towels are threadbare, parking anyhere near your room is difficult and they have the termerity to charge foe the wi-fi. As a money saving thing the pool was closed "For the Season" - it was in the 90's and late June ?? crazy.
So why do we go there ? It is a very handy place for all the places us tourists want to visit, its reasonably cheap and there are excellent facilities such as shops, restaurants etc - within about two miles. As I always say, every dollar we save goes towards the next holiday

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

(SAT: 6/1/13) Took the less expensive senior rate, but then the microwave & the fridge was extra, as was the $2.99 internet service. Comfortable room, clean enough, but the ceiling square above the shower head was water stained & looked as though it could fall in. This did not effect comfort or sleep; however, our 1st floor room was in the middle of renters, who generated a lot of parking lot noise. Parking spaces near the rooms were at a premium. There were loud banging exterior doors, voices, & parking lot TRAFFIC: loudly departing & then returning vehicles noticeable from 10:30PM-through 2:45AM. Sleep was constantly interrupted. The next morning I commented to the very pleasant lady clerk, who said "long term renters" will need to be reminded that overnight guests should be able to get some sleep. (Idea: "long-term" parking spaces could be assigned away from 1st floor exterior doors for a quieter stay & more accessibility to the 1st floor rooms.) It was an endurable experience, but we needed to be refreshed & on the road by 5AM the next morning. YAWN-departure did not happen until 7AM.

Room Tip: If traveling with a pet, make sure your room is not surrounded by barking dogs & loud neighbors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Oh my! Stay away from this one. Mold and filth on the carpet. Cigarette burns on the blankets and bed covers. Dog poop on the sidewalks. Innerspring mattresses from the 1950's. This is a truly bad motel. Additionally, it's not near any decent places to eat or shop. The price was very low, however.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this Motel 6 and it is cheap and clean, and has a very friendly staff. There is coffee in the morning but no breakfast (pastries are available in the vending machines). They provide plenty of clean towels and a couple small bars of soap but that is it (no hair dryer either). If you want anything more than that, than pay extra for another motel. Wi-fi internet is available for an extra $3 per night. Motel 6 is for those of us that just need a place to sleep and shower and do not want to pay for all the extras we don't need.

I recommend this Motel 6 if that is what you are looking for.

Room Tip: This motel has two floors, the first floor being the most convenient. Other than that, any room is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have stayed at this Motel 6 twice when visiting MCB Quantico and the D.C. Metro Area.

It's a decent bed for a decent price. The WiFi, however, never works, and of course tech service is only available after a 30min wait.

For an area full of overpriced lodging, this location fits the bill.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor courtyard/pool pool side room. This is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Fredericksburg

Address: 401 Warrenton Road, I-95 at Warrenton Road, Exit #133-A/133, Fredericksburg, VA 22405
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Fredericksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Fredericksburg
Fredericksburg Motel Six
Fredericksburg Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Fredericksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;