We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4821 Crossings Court, Fredericksburg, VA 22407   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 43 hotels in Fredericksburg
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We've been making our way up I-95 from Florida to NY. This was our third night on the road. Glad we spent the extra money for this room. It was clean and comfortable and we could easily imagine staying here for a longer period of time. There are actually outdoor grills available for guests to use, as well as all the in-room amenities you'd expect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you're travelling on 95 North or South and need a break Before or After D.C., Then this is your place ! ( I strongly recommend the south side )

Very Clean rooms, Very Nice Management, Accommodating Staff, Easy access from Interstate 95, Safe parking with lots of lights and Conveniently Located near Lots of Restaurants / Shopping !

Room Tip: No complaints !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett H, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are so happy to hear about your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, we are situated mid-way between Washington, D.C. and Richmond, VA. There is traffic everywhere, but at our hotel, you can stay out of the traffic of Richmond, and stay out of the craziness of DC traffic. We greatly appreciate all of your comments, and we look forward to seeing you back with us the next time that you are in Fredericksburg, or are traveling on I-95 for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

After a horrible experience at Days Inn South Fredericksburg we checked in here around 1 am July 5th 2013. We explained to staff that the other hotel we stayed at was unacceptable and they accommodated us immediately with our military discount. As soon as you walk into the lobby you are greeted with a delightful smell of fresh candles as if you are walking into Yankee candle Shop-- not burning candles- just clean fresh inviting smell, the hotel clerk was very friendly and gave us a room that was a studio with a kitchenette. Fresh clean air is how to describe this property. Beautiful!! Our room had a big bathroom, desk with chair, large TV . OTR microwave, two burner glass cooktop, full-size refrigerator, closet with basket, plenty of cabinets and pots and pans to cook with if you are making your own meals. A chair next to the bed, quality sheets that were white and black out curtains. we had a view of the road and the traffic noise was not an issue. The kitchen base cabinet doors have the cushion close feature which is nice so that you don't slam your fingers in the drawers but also when opening the drawers they can be sticky in such that you would have to tug a little harder on them to pull them open- but with a few minor adjustments maintenance can fix that. The bed comforter was a nice warm color and the pillows were very comfortable. The floor in the bathroom was porcelain tile and the shower enclosure looked as if it was made of Corian which is a high quality product which has many uses. The countertop was made of granite and the window sill was the same matching granite piece. The hotel also provided paper towels, dish washing liquid for the sink as well as the dishwasher. They provided extra toilet paper and tissues which were located in the vanity in the bathroom. The room lighting was very good. This was an excellent extended stay or home away from home hotel. This hotel doesn't offer a continental breakfast but upon check in they did provide refreshments on the table across from the clerk and upon heck out in the morning there was a glass cake dome that had muffins in them which was a nice surprise-- there are so many options to eat in this area that food availability was not a problem. My husband walked right over to Steak N Shake and picked up breakfast and brought it right back to the room piping hot. Anybody says this hotel is less than a 4 or 5 star needs to go stay at days inn south Fredericksburg and get a reality check. For only 45.00 more a night we stayed here at candlewood suites in a clean, safe , secure environment. The Candlewood suites was so very nice, clean and just plain comfortable. This management team and staff really are doing a beautiful job with this property on maintenance , employee morale and guest relations-- they clearly take pride in their jobs, responsibilities and the property they run and work in. Excellent!!!! This property doesn't have a pool but when heading to water country usa it doesn't matter to me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not close to the exits as it was 6 am and people were heading off to work and you cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've not stayed at a hotel associated with Holiday Inn in a long time. Over the years there's been too much inconsistency. So I'm not sure why I chose to stay at this Candlewood Suites other than the great rate I found online but I'm so glad I did. The room was comfortable with all the amenities suited for an extended stay. Aside from the lack of an oven, the kitchen was fully equipped. I stayed here in a studio suite for 11 days and never felt cramped even though I worked from my room the majority of my stay.
Now, about the staff...the G.M. Carol and the entire staff made me feel welcome and at home from the moment I checked in. No, really, they did. That's something that many hotels, even the 4 and 5 star hotels fail to do.
You won't get a free breakfast or a pool but what you will get is a comfortable stay, superb service and an experience that will leave you wanting to stay again. Perhaps it's time for me to revisit staying at Holiday Inn hotels.

Room Tip: If you're bothered by the muffled sound of traffic, ask for a room facing away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

First stay at Candlewood Suites. Our room was fine with very comfortable bed & pillows, black out curtains & a recliner. Nice size bathroom, Really a studio apartment with full size refrig, 2 burner stove, dishes & dishwasher, microwave & toaster. If we'd known there was a full kitchen it would have been easy to save a few bucks on this road trip. After a week of restaurant meals on our trip we would have been happy to have soup & sandwich or microwave meal in our room. One tip: it is very close to highway & if we stay there again we'll ask for a room on the back side of hotel so traffic is not so loud.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from highway as traffic on I95 never stops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett H, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are thrilled to hear about your great stay at Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg! We do take great pride in the cleanness of our hotel, and the kindness of our staff. And as you discovered, we have full kitchens in our suites! This saves you time and money, and helps you stay within your budget for a trip...whether for business or leisure. Just so that you know...if you return to Fredericksburg...you can do your laundry at the hotel for free. One perk of Candlewood Suites, especially if you are staying for any length of time at all, is our free laundry facility. We hope that you checked out our Candlewood Cupboard while you were here, and saw the vast selection of food and beverage items that we have available. Again, we are so happy to hear about your stay, and we hope that you will return to see us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel was very welcoming to our group, providing fun things for the boys to do during our visit. The only unfortunate issues we had were our shower just would not drain. Wish they offered any sort of breakfast other than microwaveable items at the market.

Otherwise, front desk was friendly and helpful, rooms were indeed clean and spacious. I would recommend you stay, the pros vastly outweigh any cons!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett H, Manager at Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your response!!! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also very sorry for the maintenance issues that you encountered. Our maintenance man has taken care of the drain issue in the room that you were in. As you know, we take extreme pride in the cleanness of our hotel, and the kindness of our Candlewood Suites Team. Even though we do not have a pool, we do have life-size games for the younger guests to play...a 10' X 10' checkerboard and a 4' tall Connect-4 game, among others. And while we do not provide a breakfast, we do have breakfast, lunch, and dinner options available in our Candlewood Cupboard. You know that as you stay in hotel after hotel, the breakfasts all become the same...the same eggs, the same breads...so why not mix it up a bit by checking out the vast selection of items that we have available in the Candlewood Cupboard. Again, we want to thank you for reviewing Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time that you are in the Fredericksburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I stopped at the Steak N Shake next door on our trip back to NY from Savannah. Out of 5 different hotels on our trip this was by far the best. Brand new, clean, great kitchen, friendly staff. Wish all my stay were this good. Bed was very comfortable and room very clean. The bathroom was also pretty big and clean. A fridge in the room was a plus. Rates were really reasonable with my AAA discount. If you have AARP they give a discount as well. Location was right off I-95. I believe they are pet friendly as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrett H, Assistant General Manager at Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are thrilled that you had such a great experience at Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg. We take great pride in our hotel, and on providing superior kindness and cleanness to all of our guests. Our refrigerators are full-size, which is perfect for anything that you want to store in it...unlike the mini-fridges that you find at many other hotels. And seeing that we are right across the driveway from Steak 'N Shake, you just have to walk next door in order to get a good meal...at whatever time you want, since they are open 24 hours. We are, in fact, pet friendly, with a very reasonable pet fee of $25. Our location is right off of I-95, with easy access on and off if you are traveling that way. Again, we are so happy to hear about your great experience with us, and we look forward to seeing you again the next time that you are traveling through the Fredericksburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg

Address: 4821 Crossings Court, Fredericksburg, VA 22407
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 hotels in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Fredericksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.