We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexico Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mexico Restaurant
9825 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Fredericksburg, VA 22407-9422
540-898-6046
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 370 Restaurants in Fredericksburg
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Great food, great atmosphere, great staff. Don't let the strip mall location fool you. The food is excellent; and having lived in San Antonio, TX, I can say this is as good if not better than most of the Mexican restaurants there. We visit regularly and always try to get something different - and we've never had a meal we didn't like. It's the one place the entire family agrees on. Try it, you will like it and, like us, become a regular.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great atmosphere, great staff. Don't let the strip mall location fool you. The food is excellent; and having lived in San Antonio, TX, I can say this is as good if not better than most of the Mexican restaurants there. We visit monthly, usually after Church, and always try to get something different - and we've never had a meal we didn't like. It's the one place the entire family agrees on. Try it, you will like it and, like us, become a regular.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best meal for yo;ur money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Their are lots of Mexican restaurants, but none can compare to this one. We go there at least once a week for lunch or dinner. Usually take our out-of-town guests there and they rave about it to us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Authentic and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Mexico is a treasure in Fredericksburg! Located in a non-description strip center, the food is fresh and delicious and the service always friendly"

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A bit better than average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's tough to find really fine Mexican food around the area. We tried this one and found it to be better than the average. I went for the typical combo of chile relleno, tamale and enchilada. The relleno does not qualify for my continuing search for the world's best chile relleno, since it is just a ground beef stuffed pepper with no egg batter; however it had some good flavor. The tamale appeared to be steamed in corn husk, but was towards the gummy side in texture. Overall, Mexico Restaurant had better flavor than the last Mexican place I tried in Culpepper, but I wish we had more salsa to add to the entree. We will probably try this again and go for something else like the Carne Asada.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico Restaurant also viewed

 
Fredericksburg, VA
Fredericksburg, VA
 

Been to Mexico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexico Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.