We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the loud bar music on Wednesday and Friday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Fredericksburg
Orange, Virginia
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Watch out for the loud bar music on Wednesday and Friday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is an outstanding property, nicer than even the average Courtyard. Lovely well furnished room. But, what they don't tell you is that if you have a room on the atrium side, from 6 - 9 PM you'll get blasted with music coming from the bar. We weren't even able to hear the television for the noise coming up. I think they need to decide if they're more wanting to sell drinks or rooms. Never have I stayed in a Marriot property (and I'm Platinum Elite) that was so loud. Everything else about the place was great.

Room Tip: Be certain to ask for a quite room when there's music at the bar. They won't tell you this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    54
    8
    7
    1
See reviews for
38
54
12
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
williamsburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Usually, I seek out independently run hotels or inns; however, this particular Courtyard (which is a franchise) is located smack in the historic district across from the Visitor's Center. I've stayed in Marriott hotels before but not in a Courtyard Marriott so cannot compare them. I will say they successfully designed this hotel not to feel like a chain. There is original, local art and photography throughout the rooms and common areas. And, there is a really cute little Bistro/Starbucks in the lobby which serves B/L/D with an attractive bar area. Though I chose to eat at local restaurants downtown, the little Bistro looked quite appealing, especially if one is pressed for time. The reservations staff had assigned me to room 437 which was very quiet, facing the back of the hotel with a decent view of town. The only noise was the occasional train whistle which was muted by a double storm window which appears to have been added since the hotel opened in 2009. The original windows were designed to slide open horizontally to allow fresh air. Perhaps some of the windows still do; and, if you're a fresh air aficionado as I am, it might be wise to ask the front desk about this possibility. The majority of my stay was cold and rainy so it was not as much of an issue. The room was designed not to feel like a typical box. There was a shelf over the desk area with three framed photos from local artist as well as architectural flourishes that softened the feel of the room. The bath was modern, spacious and spotless. Last but not least, all the staff were exceptionally nice and helpful. Lauren at the front desk patiently advised me about the parking options and many other questions proffered. Thanks Lauren for going out of the way to assist me. I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again in the near future.

Room Tip: As for a room facing the back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise on Caroline St. This is a mid-rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I travel to the area regularly on business and this is one of my favorite places to stay. A nice clean and well maintained hotel with a pleasant staff. Parking on the street or in nearby city garage which is also clean, well lit and safe. Situated in old downtown area one can easily walk to several restaurants and bars. During the day many antique and arts type stores nearby and a trolley with stops along the way. Except for the train coming through the station a few blocks away this town is very quiet at night. No trucks, no sirens.
If you prefer to be next to the highway and the shopping malls (I do not) there are many other options but the downside to those is having to drive in traffic and listen to all the noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We primarily chose this property because of its convenient location downtown. 5 min walk to the train station. Steps to restaurants.
Staff were friendly,welcoming, and accommodating. We had a king room which afforded plenty of space. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Room had a mini-fridge (though it wasn't plugged in - luckily we figured that out otherwise our leftovers would've gone bad). Room was quiet - didn't hear anyone else.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I wasn't too sure how this hotel would be since it's located in the Fredericksburg's Historic District but I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted by a friendly staff. A clean lobby and bar area. The room was good size with amble space for two adults with suitcases.

Avoid the food at the Pub down the street. The Bavarian restaurant by the train station serves HUGE portion and has good service.

Our group had a great time at the hotel bar. The bar staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here in a room with a queen bed. The central location was very convenient, making it easy for us to have dinner downtown and then lunch downtown the next day. Check-in was easy. Our room was large and well-decorated. The shower and bathtub were awesome, and the bed was very comfortable. However, the bedspread was too thin, and they didn't provide any extra blankets in the room, as far as we could see. By the time we realized this, we were too exhausted to call or go down to ask about it.
I remember another reviewer commented that the curtains were too thin, but I think he may not have realized how to close both of the curtains. Once we figured out how to close both curtains in the room, it was very dark, and my husband was able to sleep in much longer than he usually does, which was nice.
We just parked our car on the street in front of the hotel, and even though it was Saturday, when the 2-hour parking rule was supposed to be enforced, we didn't get a ticket for parking there for an hour or two past our limit.
Tip: We discovered we were in Fredericksburg during their restaurant week, which we took full advantage of- they offer dinner for $20 and lunch for $10, which is half of what they charge in DC during restaurant week!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This year we decided to do something a little different and attend the First Night Celebration in Fredricksburg, VA We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott and could not have been more delighted with the package that included celebratory hats, cups, and noise makers along with a bottle of sparkling cider, a button to enjoy all the activities, and brunch the next morning. The festivities were all within walking distance, allowing us to enjoy various pavilions of entertainment, a carriage ride, food, and fireworks to ring in the new year. New Year's Day got quite a kick off with an amazing spread for brunch. We had such a good time that we will be back to do it again to ring in 2014!

Room Tip: The king size suite included a sofa, refrig, and view of Colonial Fredricksburg
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Address: 620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#6 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.