We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Save Saved
You added Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 42 hotels in Fredericksburg
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I wasn't too sure how this hotel would be since it's located in the Fredericksburg's Historic District but I was pleasantly surprised to be greeted by a friendly staff. A clean lobby and bar area. The room was good size with amble space for two adults with suitcases.

Avoid the food at the Pub down the street. The Bavarian restaurant by the train station serves HUGE portion and has good service.

Our group had a great time at the hotel bar. The bar staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    48
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
34
50
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here in a room with a queen bed. The central location was very convenient, making it easy for us to have dinner downtown and then lunch downtown the next day. Check-in was easy. Our room was large and well-decorated. The shower and bathtub were awesome, and the bed was very comfortable. However, the bedspread was too thin, and they didn't provide any extra blankets in the room, as far as we could see. By the time we realized this, we were too exhausted to call or go down to ask about it.
I remember another reviewer commented that the curtains were too thin, but I think he may not have realized how to close both of the curtains. Once we figured out how to close both curtains in the room, it was very dark, and my husband was able to sleep in much longer than he usually does, which was nice.
We just parked our car on the street in front of the hotel, and even though it was Saturday, when the 2-hour parking rule was supposed to be enforced, we didn't get a ticket for parking there for an hour or two past our limit.
Tip: We discovered we were in Fredericksburg during their restaurant week, which we took full advantage of- they offer dinner for $20 and lunch for $10, which is half of what they charge in DC during restaurant week!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This year we decided to do something a little different and attend the First Night Celebration in Fredricksburg, VA We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott and could not have been more delighted with the package that included celebratory hats, cups, and noise makers along with a bottle of sparkling cider, a button to enjoy all the activities, and brunch the next morning. The festivities were all within walking distance, allowing us to enjoy various pavilions of entertainment, a carriage ride, food, and fireworks to ring in the new year. New Year's Day got quite a kick off with an amazing spread for brunch. We had such a good time that we will be back to do it again to ring in 2014!

Room Tip: The king size suite included a sofa, refrig, and view of Colonial Fredricksburg
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for just one night as part of a driving holiday around Virginia. The hotel is really well located, right across the road from the Visitor Centre (which was very helpful) and in the middle of the historic area, so you can walk to most attractions. The King room was very comfortable and typical of the Courtyard brand. There was a wedding party staying in the hotel that night, yet we never heard any noise. On checking in, we were told that we could park in the street for free and that it was very safe. We were able to park right outside the hotel on the main street.

We had an excellent meal at Bistro Bethem that night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here in December for the 150th anniversary of the battle of Fredricksburg. The location was perfect! Watched the street battle in the morning, went back to the hotel for lunch, and later walked to the battle of Marye's Heights. The city still maintains it's old fashioned atmosphere and it really is a beautiful place to visit. The hotel is quiet, clean and we had a restful night's sleep. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, so you can get your coffee in the morning before heading out to go sightseeing. The only bad thing was the breakfast buffet, very bad, do not go. I have never seen fish served as part of a breakfast buffet! No butter available, no pastries, no fruit, but lots of roast beef & chicken, very strange indeed, especially since it was very early in the morning. Other than the buffet, I would recommend this hotel. One last thing, parking is not easy in the city, it is well worth the extra $ for valet parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We chose this hotel based on other reviews on this site. We were very happy with this choice. The location was perfect, we were able to walk to all of the museums, restaurants and historic sites. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very attentive, and we enjoyed watching them interacting with other guests. The gentleman at the desk one evening was having a great time with some of the kids in the lobby, he was a big kid himself and the kids were enjoying themselves immensely. I love the seating pods with individuals tv monitors, very relaxing while having a coffee.
Our room was actually ready for us and we arrived in the area at 8:00 in the morning! Will definitely stay here again. Also the visitors center was across the street as well as the trolley.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor, no issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this property from December 13th-16th 2012. The location is perfect,lots of shops and dining nearby. The only downside was the food and the service at the bar,one bartender in particular Marvin was so rude I feel the need to mention him by name. Not one to do that but his behavior spoiled an otherwise pleasent stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Also Known As:
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel Fredericksburg
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel
Address: 620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
#5 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.