We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District to your Saves list
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Central Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for just one night as part of a driving holiday around Virginia. The hotel is really well located, right across the road from the Visitor Centre (which was very helpful) and in the middle of the historic area, so you can walk to most attractions. The King room was very comfortable and typical of the Courtyard brand. There was a wedding party staying in the hotel that night, yet we never heard any noise. On checking in, we were told that we could park in the street for free and that it was very safe. We were able to park right outside the hotel on the main street.

We had an excellent meal at Bistro Bethem that night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    66
    10
    12
    1
See reviews for
50
67
13
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
long island, ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here in December for the 150th anniversary of the battle of Fredricksburg. The location was perfect! Watched the street battle in the morning, went back to the hotel for lunch, and later walked to the battle of Marye's Heights. The city still maintains it's old fashioned atmosphere and it really is a beautiful place to visit. The hotel is quiet, clean and we had a restful night's sleep. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, so you can get your coffee in the morning before heading out to go sightseeing. The only bad thing was the breakfast buffet, very bad, do not go. I have never seen fish served as part of a breakfast buffet! No butter available, no pastries, no fruit, but lots of roast beef & chicken, very strange indeed, especially since it was very early in the morning. Other than the buffet, I would recommend this hotel. One last thing, parking is not easy in the city, it is well worth the extra $ for valet parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We chose this hotel based on other reviews on this site. We were very happy with this choice. The location was perfect, we were able to walk to all of the museums, restaurants and historic sites. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very attentive, and we enjoyed watching them interacting with other guests. The gentleman at the desk one evening was having a great time with some of the kids in the lobby, he was a big kid himself and the kids were enjoying themselves immensely. I love the seating pods with individuals tv monitors, very relaxing while having a coffee.
Our room was actually ready for us and we arrived in the area at 8:00 in the morning! Will definitely stay here again. Also the visitors center was across the street as well as the trolley.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor, no issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this property from December 13th-16th 2012. The location is perfect,lots of shops and dining nearby. The only downside was the food and the service at the bar,one bartender in particular Marvin was so rude I feel the need to mention him by name. Not one to do that but his behavior spoiled an otherwise pleasent stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I spent nearly 2 weeks in Fredericksburg in October/November 2012, all of it at the Courtyard.

I arrived on the evening of Halloween and had a little trouble getting the staff's attention to check in, get information, etc. because they were taking pictures of one another in their costumes. Beyond that initial impression, my stay was very good. My rooms (I changed rooms from one week to another) were very clean and comfortable.

As others have noted, parking is a bit inconvenient. Although they advertise that there is a valet service, I never spotted a dedicated valet - I suspect that the front desk staff takes care of that duty. You're really better off parking yourself on the street or in one of the nearby lots.

There are plenty of restaurants in the area - I did not use the bar or bistro in the lobby. Entertainment was provided on a few evenings by a lovely young female singer.

The exercise room is spartan - a few treadmills, another cardio machine, and some weights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights after a hectic time in DC. Hoped for a relaxing break, but there is so much to see in this lovely place that we were very busy! We used Amtrack and the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the station.
The hotel is in the heart of the historic district, with the Info Centre just across from the hotel entrance.
Our room was large, with very comfortable beds and a good bathroom.
The front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel has a casual friendly ambience.
Lots of business people appear to stay here and the dining area is based on quick in, eat, and out again. The bar was pleasant, with a local musician playing soft music on our first night.
My only gripe was that our room, on floor 4, had a constant loud background noise, perhaps from an aircon unit on the roof? If we had planned a longer stay I would have requested a room change.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We had a loud background hum on the 4th floor, which could be aggravating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to UMW. The bonus was the great downtown location! This is the only one in the historic district and while its a little pricier than the chains off I95 it's totally worth it. Clean comfortable rooms. The only dislike: breakfast in the bistro. Seems to be all heat&eat food. If we stay again we will plan to eat off-site

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Address: 620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#7 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#9 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.