We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, great staff, wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District to your Saves list
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Fredericksburg
Certificate of Excellence
long island, ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great staff, wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here in December for the 150th anniversary of the battle of Fredricksburg. The location was perfect! Watched the street battle in the morning, went back to the hotel for lunch, and later walked to the battle of Marye's Heights. The city still maintains it's old fashioned atmosphere and it really is a beautiful place to visit. The hotel is quiet, clean and we had a restful night's sleep. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, so you can get your coffee in the morning before heading out to go sightseeing. The only bad thing was the breakfast buffet, very bad, do not go. I have never seen fish served as part of a breakfast buffet! No butter available, no pastries, no fruit, but lots of roast beef & chicken, very strange indeed, especially since it was very early in the morning. Other than the buffet, I would recommend this hotel. One last thing, parking is not easy in the city, it is well worth the extra $ for valet parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    68
    11
    13
    1
See reviews for
58
70
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We chose this hotel based on other reviews on this site. We were very happy with this choice. The location was perfect, we were able to walk to all of the museums, restaurants and historic sites. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very attentive, and we enjoyed watching them interacting with other guests. The gentleman at the desk one evening was having a great time with some of the kids in the lobby, he was a big kid himself and the kids were enjoying themselves immensely. I love the seating pods with individuals tv monitors, very relaxing while having a coffee.
Our room was actually ready for us and we arrived in the area at 8:00 in the morning! Will definitely stay here again. Also the visitors center was across the street as well as the trolley.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor, no issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this property from December 13th-16th 2012. The location is perfect,lots of shops and dining nearby. The only downside was the food and the service at the bar,one bartender in particular Marvin was so rude I feel the need to mention him by name. Not one to do that but his behavior spoiled an otherwise pleasent stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I spent nearly 2 weeks in Fredericksburg in October/November 2012, all of it at the Courtyard.

I arrived on the evening of Halloween and had a little trouble getting the staff's attention to check in, get information, etc. because they were taking pictures of one another in their costumes. Beyond that initial impression, my stay was very good. My rooms (I changed rooms from one week to another) were very clean and comfortable.

As others have noted, parking is a bit inconvenient. Although they advertise that there is a valet service, I never spotted a dedicated valet - I suspect that the front desk staff takes care of that duty. You're really better off parking yourself on the street or in one of the nearby lots.

There are plenty of restaurants in the area - I did not use the bar or bistro in the lobby. Entertainment was provided on a few evenings by a lovely young female singer.

The exercise room is spartan - a few treadmills, another cardio machine, and some weights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights after a hectic time in DC. Hoped for a relaxing break, but there is so much to see in this lovely place that we were very busy! We used Amtrack and the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the station.
The hotel is in the heart of the historic district, with the Info Centre just across from the hotel entrance.
Our room was large, with very comfortable beds and a good bathroom.
The front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel has a casual friendly ambience.
Lots of business people appear to stay here and the dining area is based on quick in, eat, and out again. The bar was pleasant, with a local musician playing soft music on our first night.
My only gripe was that our room, on floor 4, had a constant loud background noise, perhaps from an aircon unit on the roof? If we had planned a longer stay I would have requested a room change.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We had a loud background hum on the 4th floor, which could be aggravating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to UMW. The bonus was the great downtown location! This is the only one in the historic district and while its a little pricier than the chains off I95 it's totally worth it. Clean comfortable rooms. The only dislike: breakfast in the bistro. Seems to be all heat&eat food. If we stay again we will plan to eat off-site

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is perfectly situated in the historic district opposite the vistors centre and within walking distance of quaint shops and interesting restaurants.The restaurant has booths lining two wall and each is equipt with it's own TV. Service in the restaurant was good but there is a limited choice and in view of the many nearby restaurants you might be better eating out. The bedrooms were well fitted out and the beds among the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We had no trouble with the valet parking which was efficient and quick. However, the best thing about the hotel was the staff. We got marooned there due to hurricane Sandy and what could have been an experience to forget was transformed by the friendly helpful service and advice from the front desk and all the staff we encountered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Address: 620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#6 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#9 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.