We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location-good experience,with one exception..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District to your Saves list
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Fredericksburg
michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location-good experience,with one exception..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this property from December 13th-16th 2012. The location is perfect,lots of shops and dining nearby. The only downside was the food and the service at the bar,one bartender in particular Marvin was so rude I feel the need to mention him by name. Not one to do that but his behavior spoiled an otherwise pleasent stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    61
    9
    9
    1
See reviews for
47
59
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Indiana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I spent nearly 2 weeks in Fredericksburg in October/November 2012, all of it at the Courtyard.

I arrived on the evening of Halloween and had a little trouble getting the staff's attention to check in, get information, etc. because they were taking pictures of one another in their costumes. Beyond that initial impression, my stay was very good. My rooms (I changed rooms from one week to another) were very clean and comfortable.

As others have noted, parking is a bit inconvenient. Although they advertise that there is a valet service, I never spotted a dedicated valet - I suspect that the front desk staff takes care of that duty. You're really better off parking yourself on the street or in one of the nearby lots.

There are plenty of restaurants in the area - I did not use the bar or bistro in the lobby. Entertainment was provided on a few evenings by a lovely young female singer.

The exercise room is spartan - a few treadmills, another cardio machine, and some weights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here with my husband for 2 nights after a hectic time in DC. Hoped for a relaxing break, but there is so much to see in this lovely place that we were very busy! We used Amtrack and the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the station.
The hotel is in the heart of the historic district, with the Info Centre just across from the hotel entrance.
Our room was large, with very comfortable beds and a good bathroom.
The front desk staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel has a casual friendly ambience.
Lots of business people appear to stay here and the dining area is based on quick in, eat, and out again. The bar was pleasant, with a local musician playing soft music on our first night.
My only gripe was that our room, on floor 4, had a constant loud background noise, perhaps from an aircon unit on the roof? If we had planned a longer stay I would have requested a room change.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. We had a loud background hum on the 4th floor, which could be aggravating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to UMW. The bonus was the great downtown location! This is the only one in the historic district and while its a little pricier than the chains off I95 it's totally worth it. Clean comfortable rooms. The only dislike: breakfast in the bistro. Seems to be all heat&eat food. If we stay again we will plan to eat off-site

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is perfectly situated in the historic district opposite the vistors centre and within walking distance of quaint shops and interesting restaurants.The restaurant has booths lining two wall and each is equipt with it's own TV. Service in the restaurant was good but there is a limited choice and in view of the many nearby restaurants you might be better eating out. The bedrooms were well fitted out and the beds among the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We had no trouble with the valet parking which was efficient and quick. However, the best thing about the hotel was the staff. We got marooned there due to hurricane Sandy and what could have been an experience to forget was transformed by the friendly helpful service and advice from the front desk and all the staff we encountered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I spent four days there. As there was roadworks outside the hotel access was tricky so i would recommend valet parking and the park is a block away. on arrival at reception there had neen some mix up with the booking system amd i was held up for some time which resulted in my being given an upgraded room on the 4th floor. The room was large, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The bar was well attended and seemed popular with locals. the staff worked hard to make sure everyone was looked after. The pool is "bijou" and the fitness centre smallish but looks bigger because of the mirrors. It has two running machines, a cross trainer and a cycle machine plus some weights. I used the laundry room on the 4th floor - have plenty of 25c pieces ready before you load up the washer or dryer! There's nothing much to find wrong with the Courtyard apart from nothing to shine your shoes with. Overall a very pleasant place to be and a very convenient base for all the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Very well situated in the heart of the historic district, perfect location for all the quaint restaurants and shops. This is the only hotel located in the historic district which is the reason we selected it as we like to try the local wines with dinner so don't want to drive.
A few of the reviews mention parking as an issue. Either pay for valet or as we did, park right outside on the street where you are allowed 2hr free parking...after 6pm restriction lifted.
The small fitness room was adequate for my wife and our 5yr old loved the small pool.
Our only regret is that we arrived the day of Hurricane Sandy so only a couple of shops and restaurants were open. It's a pretty, interesting town and we would have loved more time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District

Address: 620 Caroline Street, Fredericksburg, VA 22401
Location: United States > Virginia > Fredericksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fredericksburg
#4 Family Hotel in Fredericksburg
#10 Business Hotel in Fredericksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District Hotel Fredericksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Fredericksburg Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.